We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping back in time...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowerbank Mill B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bowerbank Mill B&B to your Saves list
Bowerbank Mill B&B
4455 Meander Valley Road, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Deloraine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mid North Coast
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Driving towards Bowerbank Mill you realise you will be staying somewhere special. The building is beautiful with a fantastic chimney on the end.I loved the garden with its laden apple trees as you walk in. On entry you step into a gorgeous gallery filled with unique pieces, jewellery, artwork and lovely knitted products.After climbing the stairs we entered our beautifully restored Miller Suite with the four poster bed and lovely wrought iron 2nd bedroom too. Every detail reflects a bygone era of gracious living.There are fresh roses, port & chocolates, perfume for the ladies and men's cologne in the bathroom, antique furnishings throughout,books and magazines to read.
The gourmet breakfast was delicious, home-made preserves,hot croissants, juice, compote, delicious youghurt with strawberries & home grown fruit all beautifully presented and the menu changed daily.
Anne made our stay so special, she is a delightful hostess and shared a lot of the buildings' history with us.Even offering us a guided tour of the stunning bedrooms available on the floor above. We'd also like to thank Anne for the restaurant suggestions in Deloraine... we enjoyed them all.
Our stay at Bowerbank Mill was a wonderful experience that we will treasure.We will highly recommend anyone visiting the area to stay in this special place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    33
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
76
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a wonderful overnight stay at Bowerbank Mill, charming & comfortable furnishings with everything you could ever want topped off with a lovely breakfast in the morning. Best of all was Anne, owner & hostess, who has a wealth of knowledge about the north central region of Tasmania who can certainly set you on your way to discovering the delights this part of the world has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We loved the entire ambience of the Bowerbank Mill with its magnificent building and beautiful but whimsical furnishings. Our hosts Anne & JD spoiled us with homemade jams cakes chocolates and port awaiting our return from a days sightseeing. The whole stay was blissful . This place is a must do ! Our group of 4 couples loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yarlington, Colebrook
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Bowerbank Mill is a superb example of period restoration. We stayed in the Miller's Suite with the four poster bed. Every detail including decor, the antique furnishings, fresh flowers and the excellent service and care from Annie was mindful of a bygone era and gracious living. There was even perfume for the ladies and men's cologne in the bathroom and port and chocolates inn the sitting room. Breakfast including home-made preserves, compote, home grown fruit, etc was beautifully presented and the menu changed daily. There were stacks of interesting books and magazines available as well as a well stocked video library. This place would make a fabulous gift to give to special people in your life and would be sure to impress. Well done Anne and JD for all the hard work, love and care you have put into this amazing place for others to experience and enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

From our first phone call with Anne, I knew we were in for a lovely holiday and it was. Our daughter and 5 year old granddaughter came with us too. Anne spent time showing our granddaughter which toys and teddies she could play with and which ones were too special to play with. Our granddaughter abided by the rules and made sure we knew them too!! Our cottage was quaint and comfortable, with small vases of lovely perfumed roses on tables around the room. The decor was olde worlde with lovely pictures throughout to enjoy, even a selection of unusual books to keep us entertained. On arriving home after a day out, there were little treats and also a bowl of fresh fruit awaiting us. Breakfasts varied - lovely home grown stewed fruits, croissants, toast, home made jams and a great selection of cereals - more than enough. A thoroughly delightful stay. Thank you so much Anne for making us feel so special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We loved staying at Bowerbank Mill. Anne, our host was very welcoming and her attention to detail was outstanding, from the fresh roses, port, chocolates and biscuits in our cottage to the homemade preserves and compote at breakfast. I will stay there again if I go to Deloraine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Roman and Julia, 11th Jan 2013.
We stayed at Meander cottage two nights over a weekend. The place is very nice, clean and comfortable. The cottage is part of a big old mill building with an interesting history as we were told by Anne. The cottage location is very convenient if you wish to travel around and get to the various local attractions. We got great tips on some attractions from Anne who also provided us with delicious breakfasts.
We enjoyed the stay very much and I would definitely recommend the place to my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowerbank Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowerbank Mill B&B

Address: 4455 Meander Valley Road, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Deloraine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Deloraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where magnificent Mountains & Wilderness meet the picturesque Meander Valley is the iconic 1853 Bowerbank Mill. Today offering world class B&B accommodation with colonial ambiance. Charming décor in period antiques, plus modern comforts & genuine hospitality. Stunning S/C Cottages & Suites(two and 3 bedrooms). Gourmet continental breakfast. A perfect base for exploring Northern Tasmania. Close to the Coast, Cradle Mountain, Wild Life Parks, Bush Walking, Tamar Wineries and more. 30 minutes to Launceston & Devonport Airports/ferry). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bowerbank Mill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowerbank Mill B&B Deloraine, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowerbank Mill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.