We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco based farm for salmon and ginseng products” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe

41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe
323 Montana Rd, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
03 6362 4130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 Attractions in Deloraine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 41 Degrees South Salmon and Ginseng Farm is located in the North of Tasmania. A short drive from Launceston along the Great Western Tiers Touring route takes there. The salmon farm is set up with sustainable practices in mind. The salmon are grown in fresh water tanks under Eco certified conditions. A man made and natural wetland is used as a bio filter for the fish waste, creating a beautiful habit for the native flora and fauna. Free tastings of the salmon and ginseng products are available in store where there is a small gift shop and cafe for light lunches and refreshments.Self guided tours around the farm are on offer 7 days a week.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Eco based farm for salmon and ginseng products”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The intro to the extensive product range by the staff was fantastic. Free samples were provided. Lots of variety in the value added product range.

The owner is very Eco friendly and the self based tour in only a small charge.
Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Salmon and Ginseng to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Although I rave about the produce, I think a lot can be done with regards to the presentation of the facilities. This is my second visit wondering what changes have been made, and I had no intentions of doing the tour, I was after produce. The drive in looks no different it did a few years ago, and does not inspire one to keep going. So to be fair I am commenting on the produce, because it is superb. We bought 2 whole Hot Smoked salmon (large) and 2 bottles of salted ginseng seasoning. We have already eaten one of the fish between 3, spread a little seasoning over the salmon and all I can say, make sure you get the produce.

I must add the staff member working that day (26/01/13) behind the counter was knowledgeable and a great asset.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte P, Owner at 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words about our produce and staff, we are happy to hear that you enjoy our salmon! Also thank you for your honest opinion on the presentation of our farm, it is good to hear so that we can work on improving it.
When you say the drive in looks no different and doesn't inspire you to keep going , if you are referring to the Montana Road, there is not much we can do about this as it is council property, but if you are referring to our small driveway and car park we can look into more maintenance and beautification of the area to make it more attractive to people driving in.
Unfortunately as a small family business we are constantly working on processing and sales, but we usually get time each winter when the shop slows down to look at these things.
The great thing is that we are growing all the time so we are trying to keep up with the demand for our product, but i guess keeping the little things nice might get lost in that time.
Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“tasty hot smoked salmon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hot smoked salmon tastes great but I don't recommend doing the tour as it's not worth it. For $25, a family can feed salmon in 2 very small ponds and walk around the grounds which ain't very exciting. There is supposedly a waterfall at the end of one of the walks but I wouldn't call it a waterfall, it's more like a small cascade. However, I can see how the tour may make a good outing for families with young children.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte P, Owner at 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your review on our farm and your kind words about our salmon products. We are happy to hear the you enjoyed them.
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the walk or think it was worth the $25, we try to be very competitive in our pricing for what we offer. When we first opened we decided that having a walk available for people to see how we run our farm and the beautiful nature an wetlands that surround it would be a good idea, but it is completely optional to do or not. And all of the money that we make from entry fees goes back into the farm and maintenance of the walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Culinary Excellence in a Rustic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our family visited the salmon farm and were delighted with our experience -such friendly people and simple but exquisitely delicious salmon dishes on the menu. We had a lovely walk alongside the ponds to the little water fall. We even saw an echidna on our walk.The kids loved feeding the fish, seeing them thrash in the water in a frenzy. These salmon are entirely raised in the fresh water. The farm has been loving built from scratch by the couple who own it. It was interesting to read about the establishment of this boutique business.

Lunch was superb. I am a salmon fanatic and this was some of the nicest I have ever tasted.
Don't expect glass viewing tanks or a flashy restaurant. They offer free tastings and run a small café serving light lunches. You can't beat this place for friendliness and quality product.
Definately worth a stop.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Wanted the tour but it was expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The brochures lead you to understand that you can have a look around the salmon ponds etc. Well, you can, but you have to pay, even if chosing a self-guided tour. It works out quite expensive if you are there as a family.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charglob, Owner at 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you found the brochures misleading. We are looking into adding walk prices onto them so people know before they come.

We try to charge a competitive price for our walks and we are a lot cheaper than some of the other tourism ventures around the state. At $25 for a self guided family tour around our farm and wetlands, which includes feeding the fish, walk to a waterfall and board walks through a natural wetland, we think this is reasonable, but i understand it is different for everyone.

When we first started the farm we did not allow people to walk around the farm but we decided that we wanted to share with everyone how we grow our salmon in a sustainable way and how we use natural power sources throughout the farm, and share the beautiful environment that we have here. To open the farm for the public to visit we needed to put around $300,000 into the walks and structures. We also have to maintain everything and pay a yearly public liability so that we can have tourist here. So unfortunately to share this amazing piece of land with the world we need to charge a fee for people to come and visit. We hope you understand and maybe if you are ever back in Tasmania you may change your mind and have a look around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.