We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful series of cascades.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liffey Falls

Liffey Falls
Hobart, Tasmania, 7001 | Liffey Falls Forest Reserve, Deloraine, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Deloraine
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Claremont, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A beautiful series of cascades.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The drive to Liffey Falls is a bit of a challenge for those of us prone to motion sickness and the walk leading to the falls, while not too arduous, is not advisable for those with bad knees. But you will forget all that as soon as you enter the falls area. Sheer magic.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    33
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Deloraine, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great photos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A good easy walk at different levels, we managed this with young grandchildren. It was a great place to take photos. We shall go again when we have visitors to show them what Tassie has to offer.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Would have been better after a rain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

the walk to the falls was very pleasant and the falls rather lovely. Things were quite dry at the time we went so there was minimal water over the falls. I'm sure that after a good rain they would be quite spectacular.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Easy to find and not that far from launceston. Absolutely beautiful and well worth the effort. ...definitely recommend.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“At one with nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Liffey Falls is really off the beaten track, it is well signed, but it does take a long time to get there. we went through Deloraine and its about 20 kms from the town, then you hit a dirt track and because it had been raining in the area I was concerned we might get stuck, but the road was quite good, not muddy at all. The last road into the falls is about 10kms of winding, narrow dirt road, a little scary if you are unprepared. You then have a good 20 minute walk into the waterfall, but we ran it down and it was fine. Don't forget to stop and enjoy the huge tree ferns and remember you are walking through a beautiful rainforest. The falls aren't huge, but a nice surprise at the end of a good walk. The walk back is mostly uphill so save your energy.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liffey Falls also viewed

 

Been to Liffey Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liffey Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.