We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prestine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicheno Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bicheno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bicheno Hideaway
Save
You added Bicheno Hideaway to your Saves list
179 Harvey's Farm Road, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Prestine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked in for 2 nights but it was so good we stayed another, great accommodation, nothing to fancy but it was perfect. Bought crayfish down at the wharf and BBQ'd one night, beautiful!!

Sat on the rocks and quaffed a good few bottles of Tassies finest, well done great spot. Will try and get back there one day.
Cabin number 2 us perfect

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    18
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
51
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having stayed here a number of years ago, I scoured google earth trying to remember where this gorgeous hideaway was located. I'm delighted to report that my search was not in vain and we have had the most wonderful 4 nights at the Bicheno Hideaway. Located 5min out of town, these well appointed cabins have everything you need including seclusion, a balcony BBQ, possums, peacocks and uninterrupted water views. We loved it so much that we extended for a further 2 nights. Many thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: My husband & I stayed in cabin 3, highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We decided to head down to Tasmania for our first wedding anniversary. The Bicheno Hideaway was perfect! Waterfront property with some amazing wildlife. Great fireplace. Full kitchen. A perfect base to see all the sights of the mid east coast. The bicheno penguin tours are worth a mention. Also check out Freycinet national park and wineglass bay.

Friendly hosts providing a faultless service. :) Very impressed and satisfied with this stay.

Room Tip: the boathouse is great and can sleep up to 8 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Couldn't fault Bicheno Hideaway, the cabin was huge & everything was there if you wanted to go down the self contained route. We arrived to a lit heated cabin (which was wonderful as it was the middle of winter). Cabin was right on a fairly secluded beach where we had our own little love seat. Our cabin was far enough away from the neighbours to be private. Easy 5 min drive into town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My partner and I found hideaway on the Internet and I had a feeling It would be special,well The whole feel of the place is Magical! Often on the Internet It's hard to tell,but hideaway truly went beyond any of my pre conceived ideas,we were just going to stay a night or two and ended up just falling in love with the place,the nature that surrounds makes It so protected and the animals including the spectacular peacocks just wander around and we all share the beauty,the place is exquisite. The unique style accommodation is relaxed character filled completely spotless with warm touches like fresh coffee in the fridge outstanding kitchen supplies and neat as a pin,gorgeous warm details surround. The owners Nick and Arrabella have done the Oceanside paradise proud they are so welcoming and interesting really really lovely people that make time to chat and even allowed me to pick some delicious goodies from there garden to cook with,the respect and care they show for the environment the native animals homesteads and guests is precious . Many many thanks,I have been meaning to write this since June 2013 ! Not a day passes that we don't reflect on Hideaway and all It's greatness. Look forward to returning many many times. Jess and Leon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I found this place on the Internet last year ... Fell in love with the boathouse and it has been all that we wanted it to be. Great hosts .. Amazing area and stunning views. Would recommend to anyone looking for time away with privacy and beautiful surrounds. Can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Bicheno Hideaway (in the boathouse) in April 2013. Travelling with my parents who were holidaying from overseas, the Boathouse was perfect.

If you're looking for a high end, five star generic hotel, this isn't it- the Boat House is homely, cosy and wonderfully unique with super friendly and helpful owners. We stayed here for three nights and will be back!

Thanks for a fantastic stay Arabella and Nick.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bicheno Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno Hideaway

Address: 179 Harvey's Farm Road, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno Hideaway consists of four chalets and the Boathouse set on seven acres of oceanfront bushland. All units offer complete privacy and ocean views. We offer complete privacy and tranquility with only the sounds of the ocean on the rocks, the wind in the trees and the sound of bird song. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bicheno Hideaway Hotel Bicheno
Bicheno Hideaway Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicheno Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.