We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable ocean view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat to your Saves list
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
18067 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
hongkong
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Unbelievable ocean view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

About 2.5 km from the town centre. We first booked an apartment with garden view. On arrival, my wife immediately asked for ocean view and was willing to pay any price for it. We stayed in Room 5 which is small in size but the bathroom with Jacuzzi was huge. We just can't get away from the view, the peacefulness that gave us. Ken was very hospitable and paid all possible efforts to satisfy our needs. Very generous breakfast and useful information for restaurants, petrol station and helped to book a penguin tour. If we happen to come back to Bicheno, we would not give a second thought about accommodation.

Room Tip: Ocean view definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    33
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
56
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey U.K.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

A superb view with the added bonus of wallabies and possums feeding at night on the front lawns.
A large airy apartment but in need of small refurbishment. Very adequate for our 3 day stay and close to the penguin beach. Local Pizza restaurant produced the best fish pizza I had ever tasted.
Recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We loved the location of this unit and found it to be very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The hosts were very helpful and I would recommend the resort to friends travelling in this lovely part of the world.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Excellent accommodation- great location close to Freycinet park, Wineglass bay etc. Superb views of unspoilt beach. Well equipped self catering property. Would have loved to stay another night but it was booked out. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

A very nice experience. Friendly and helpful managers. Thanks for the advice to drive a few minutes to Gordon St to see penguins!!! Spacious and comfortable rooms. Lovely patio in front of unit with BBQ and table. We bought scallops and sausages from the excellent butcher in Bichino and then dined al fresco with the most wonderful view of the beach and ocean.

Room Tip: water facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014


Nice apartment with two bedrooms. We stayed for 1 night only. The place was clean and friendly. Fantastic view from the hall and from the bedroom.

The web sites says luxury but this is not the case. I would say its a confortable cosy apartment.
It's over promised under deliver. Someone who has stayed in luxury apartments will know there are certain facilities and standards to get to luxury status.
The bathroom shower was a disappointment. Water flow was sloooow. If you're tall you need to bend few times before to get under the shower.
Unfortunately you don't get mobile coverage.No wi fi facility.
I think this place could do wonders with a reno and and bit of fresh thinking.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This accomodation has, by far,the best views!! Everything you need is in the room. We stayed in Unit 3 and it was great to wake up with the ocean in front of you. Very comfy bed! Easy to find. Close enough to the middle of town without enduring the noise. Great hosts who were very knowledgable about what to see in the area. Highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Address: 18067 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a slightly elevated position, the views over McLeans Bay and Dennison Beach are arguably the best on the East Coast of Tasmania.Spectacular views not just at sunrise and sunset but through out the day.Just a 10 minute walk to Dennison beach ensures a beautiful and peaceful time, with the white sands going on for mile after mile.The accommodation has a range of unit sizes, all tastfully decorated, well equiped and with cozy and comfortable Queen beds.We can cater for one to eight people in the 6 units (4 self catering and 2 B+B).Breakfasts are generous and tasty and can be supplied not only in the B+B but also in the self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.