We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat to your Saves list
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18067 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Alberta
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

A very nice experience. Friendly and helpful managers. Thanks for the advice to drive a few minutes to Gordon St to see penguins!!! Spacious and comfortable rooms. Lovely patio in front of unit with BBQ and table. We bought scallops and sausages from the excellent butcher in Bichino and then dined al fresco with the most wonderful view of the beach and ocean.

Room Tip: water facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014


Nice apartment with two bedrooms. We stayed for 1 night only. The place was clean and friendly. Fantastic view from the hall and from the bedroom.

The web sites says luxury but this is not the case. I would say its a confortable cosy apartment.
It's over promised under deliver. Someone who has stayed in luxury apartments will know there are certain facilities and standards to get to luxury status.
The bathroom shower was a disappointment. Water flow was sloooow. If you're tall you need to bend few times before to get under the shower.
Unfortunately you don't get mobile coverage.No wi fi facility.
I think this place could do wonders with a reno and and bit of fresh thinking.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This accomodation has, by far,the best views!! Everything you need is in the room. We stayed in Unit 3 and it was great to wake up with the ocean in front of you. Very comfy bed! Easy to find. Close enough to the middle of town without enduring the noise. Great hosts who were very knowledgable about what to see in the area. Highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Haan, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed 1 night in unit 1, on second floor. Unit takes the whole floor, units 3 and 4 are below and smaler. The share the same view. Off street parking.

From the deck you have a perfect view at the ocean: breathtaking !!!

Location is 5 min from town,on the highway, so you have some noise from trafic at night and in the morning.

Unit is spacious, well equiped, but may need some updating: looks old fashioned. 80's atmosphere. No WiFi
Great comfortable bed

We did not see the managers/owners, so that is impersonal

Great stay, but place needs updating

Bicheno has a nice penguin tour !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We booked Unit 1 which was the top floor unit of the house and it took up the entire second floor. Units 3 and 4 were below us and were smaller since there were two units on that floor. The property looked plain enough on the outside but the view once we entered the door was simply breathtaking - this was one of the most amazing views I've ever seen from any hotel room. You have sweeping views of the vast Tasman sea in front of you, backgrounded by the rolling hills of the Douglas Aspley National Park. The view alone is worth the price of the stay. I highly recommend renting Unit 1 for the view, even if you do not have that many people (Unit 1 sleeps 6).

Unit 1 was also extremely spacious and the beds were very comfortable. However, the property looks just a little aged and tired. For me, it lost a few extra points for its lack of wi-fi connectivity (some other people may actually add points for that) and the fact that we had to pay $3 to rent a DVD for the day - all the other places let us have it for free!

The Ocean View Retreat is situated just outside town and is just a 3-min drive to the town center and a 5-minute drive to the mini-petting zoo, Natureworld. For me, this is really a 4.3 or 4.4 rated accommodation.

Room Tip: Really get the top floor Unit 1 for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, wonderful views, about 3 kms out go Bicheno (this is advertised) a lovely little unit had everything we needed? Views are sensational! We had whales breaching out the font yesterday. Only down side is no mobile reception which should be advertised in case you need it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naseby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here during a six week trip through NSW, Victoria and Tasmania and this tiny little studio was by far our worst accommodation experience. While the hostess was charming, the bed was comfortable and the bed linen was clean, not the same could be said for the very tired, mouldy bathroom, which had a shabby shower curtain and a terrible musty smell when the vanity cupboard door was opened.

Kitchen cutlery and crockery were all oddments. The soap dispenser in the shower was empty.

There was no view and hardly any space to put our belongings. The studio does not represent good value for money at all and we would stay closer to the town next time. This property needs some serious attention to bring it up to standard.

Room Tip: Not the studio downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Address: 18067 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a slightly elevated position, the views over McLeans Bay and Dennison Beach are arguably the best on the East Coast of Tasmania.Spectacular views not just at sunrise and sunset but through out the day.Just a 10 minute walk to Dennison beach ensures a beautiful and peaceful time, with the white sands going on for mile after mile.The accommodation has a range of unit sizes, all tastfully decorated, well equiped and with cozy and comfortable Queen beds.We can cater for one to eight people in the 6 units (4 self catering and 2 B+B).Breakfasts are generous and tasty and can be supplied not only in the B+B but also in the self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.