We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat to your Saves list
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18067 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
naseby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here during a six week trip through NSW, Victoria and Tasmania and this tiny little studio was by far our worst accommodation experience. While the hostess was charming, the bed was comfortable and the bed linen was clean, not the same could be said for the very tired, mouldy bathroom, which had a shabby shower curtain and a terrible musty smell when the vanity cupboard door was opened.

Kitchen cutlery and crockery were all oddments. The soap dispenser in the shower was empty.

There was no view and hardly any space to put our belongings. The studio does not represent good value for money at all and we would stay closer to the town next time. This property needs some serious attention to bring it up to standard.

Room Tip: Not the studio downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
freeling
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

A very peaceful place to stay, set away from the road so no road noise could be heard. Nice personal touches in the room, very clean and comfortable.only drawback was the pipes squeeled when the next room turned on hot taps and no exhaust fan or window in the toilet.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I just recently returned from a weekend stay here with our 4 month old child. Kath and Ken are very obliging hosts, keen to make sure everything was OK, especially our baby. The view was amazing and the accommodation spacious and fresh. Do yourself a favour.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Just outside of town with magnificent views. We stayed in the Unit 1 which was very spacious and well appointed. Large lounge and dining room with large verandah overlooking the ocean. Good laundry and kitchen facilities. The beds are so comfy. Only sorry we didn't stay longer. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here as a quick overnighter with my aged grandmother and our toddler and baby , Ken was kind enough to show us around and explain things & actually put up the port-a-cot for us .
We stayed in the two bedroom unit which was lovely and large and the views were magnificent (A shame we only got to enjoy them for a few hours) The decore is of older style but in great condition and the apartment was well cleaned.
We were only sad that the fireplace was not in working order.
Definetly reccommend .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We loved staying here, the view is amazing, and it is so peaceful, we wish we could've stayed longer. The room was comfy and warm, we spent as much time as possible drinking in the view. The hosts are very welcoming. This is such a beautiful part of the world. We found the gourmet pizza place the best place to eat in town, sorry I can't remember it's name but its the only one there, great food and wine. If we'd been able to stay longer we would've take advantage of the kitchen and the BBQ. Next time :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was only able to stay here one night, but the apartment was clean, staff was friendly, and views were incredible! I highly recommend staying here! The owner showed us our apartment, gave great advice of things to do in the area, good restaurants and stayed just a few steps away which was very convenient if we had questions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Address: 18067 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a slightly elevated position, the views over McLeans Bay and Dennison Beach are arguably the best on the East Coast of Tasmania.Spectacular views not just at sunrise and sunset but through out the day.Just a 10 minute walk to Dennison beach ensures a beautiful and peaceful time, with the white sands going on for mile after mile.The accommodation has a range of unit sizes, all tastfully decorated, well equiped and with cozy and comfortable Queen beds.We can cater for one to eight people in the 6 units (4 self catering and 2 B+B).Breakfasts are generous and tasty and can be supplied not only in the B+B but also in the self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.