We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Save Saved
You added Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
18067 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We loved staying here, the view is amazing, and it is so peaceful, we wish we could've stayed longer. The room was comfy and warm, we spent as much time as possible drinking in the view. The hosts are very welcoming. This is such a beautiful part of the world. We found the gourmet pizza place the best place to eat in town, sorry I can't remember it's name but its the only one there, great food and wine. If we'd been able to stay longer we would've take advantage of the kitchen and the BBQ. Next time :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was only able to stay here one night, but the apartment was clean, staff was friendly, and views were incredible! I highly recommend staying here! The owner showed us our apartment, gave great advice of things to do in the area, good restaurants and stayed just a few steps away which was very convenient if we had questions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed one night in a ground floor apartment which was clean, comfortable and spacious. Kath is a lovely hostess who came around to make sure we had everything we needed. We settled in to relax and enjoy the stunning views. I left the bedroom curtains slightly open hoping to get an early glimpse of the wallabies that graze on the lawn. Just after 6am I woke to find a man standing directly outside the bedroom window cooking his breakfast on the BBQ outside the window. That could have been just funny except that the whole family then took over the outside space including our front bench where we were hoping to sit and drink our coffee. With all the noise and smell we decided to pack up and leave quickly. I know this probably sounds picky and I do believe in give and take but this lack of respect for other people's space did mar what could have been a perfect stay. I know the owners can't do much about it but I think moving the BBQ to a more common area could help. Other than that experience we enjoyed the location and the comfort of the apartment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took the two bedroom unit with our 2.5 year old and 10 month old. The cottage is very child friendly. Amenities are basic but the location and views are outstanding.

Ken and Kath are very friendly and leave you to your trip but are there if need be. Great spot to be able to get to Freycinet or Bay of Fires.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We two had the two BR apt on the first floor of the middle building. The sites entrance is clearly marked at the Tasman Highway, and one can see the buildings from there. A quarter mile up the road is "Reception" where a welcome letter taped to the door awaited us. We never did meet a person. We proceeded by car up to our apt. The weather was chilly and overcast, but the view was nevertheless excellent, and we did enjoy a glass of wine on the porch before retreating inside. With the sliding door cracked open a bit, one could hear the surf all night, and I found this the best feature. The layout was odd, but furnishings were clean, if a bit dated. Bed linens were nice. Besides the view, the location is convenient to town, and a good point of departure for points north.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here after getting the recommendation from a friend. It is very good self contained accommodation, clean, tidy and feels like a ski lodge from the inside. We were staying in the 2 bedroom apartment at the top and the views are amazing. We could hear the waves crashing against the beach throughout the afternoon and evening. We arrived after cycling from St Helens and having a few beers, wine, fresh pizza's and crayfish from the local shops while sitting on the balcony was a highlight of our Launceston to Hobart cycling trip. Kath, a fellow Scot was keen to say hello and make us feel welcome without being obtrusive. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Book the top apartment if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A curious property, with buildings set somewhat haphazardly around a large, sloping block. The views from most of the units are to die for/ We booked a spa unit - the bathroom was huge, the bedroom rather small, but both were clean and well appointed, and the vast ocean view from this room is exceptional. Unfortunately Kath was away when we stayed so the hospitality mentioned by others was absent. Breakfast was sadly rather lacking - $200 a night should surely ensure that one isn't presented with small boxes of cereal that are several months passed their use-by date. Hopefully this was an oversight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Address: 18067 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a slightly elevated position, the views over McLeans Bay and Dennison Beach are arguably the best on the East Coast of Tasmania.Spectacular views not just at sunrise and sunset but through out the day.Just a 10 minute walk to Dennison beach ensures a beautiful and peaceful time, with the white sands going on for mile after mile.The accommodation has a range of unit sizes, all tastfully decorated, well equiped and with cozy and comfortable Queen beds.We can cater for one to eight people in the 6 units (4 self catering and 2 B+B).Breakfasts are generous and tasty and can be supplied not only in the B+B but also in the self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.