We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and fabulous view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat to your Saves list
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18067 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great value and fabulous view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights.Without doubt our best stop over in Tasmania this trip. The unit was large well equiped, even down to a grater and potatoe peeler.
Will revisit in the future and recommend to our friends.



  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    37
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. This was definitely the most relaxing part of our trip. The room was spotless and the bathroom was huge. Kath our host was an absolutely lovely lady and a marvellous host. Shs so helpful and made us feel right at home. The breakfasts were great and we enjoyed them on the porch overlooking the ocean. After two days here we felt really at home and did not want to leave. We will definitely be travelling back to beautiful Bicheno and will book here again without hesiation. My advice to anyone travelling to this area is to stay here.

Room Tip: We chose room 5 the spa room, perfect for two people and it included either a cooked or continental...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Bicheno was made truly memorable and wonderful by lodging at the Bicheno Ocean View Retreat (BOVR). The views at BOVR are nothing short of sensational and the only noise we heard the entire stay was the lull of the ocean.
Our host, Kath, was simply delightful; friendly, obliging and helpful all without intruding on our space.
Our room, the spa room, was homely and decked out with little trinkets and treasures and made to feel like a home. That said, we had all the conveniences we needed and expect at a B&B, and could even receive phone signal coverage!
Kath cooked our breakfast to our liking and at the time of our choosing and pointed us in the direction of good food and entertainment in Bicheno.
Overall, our stay at BOVR was excellent and we've vowed to be back (every January with a little luck)!
I don't believe you could do better in Bicheno.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place well worth it staying. Only regret was having booked one night as we wanted to go inside Tasmania too. We'll definitely be back there.
Close to Wineglass bay, Coles bay and bay of fires. Those are one of the most beautiful places on Earth!

Thanks Kath!

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a ground floor self contained unit & the view from the room was absolutely gorgeous. A great place to watch the sunrise and sunset. Kath was very friendly and helpful. The room was big, clean and had everything we needed. The property is very private and quiet. Denison Beach just down the road is beautiful. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Be aware that it is a 2 to 3 minute drive into Bicheno. We came directly from Launceston aiport to B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a wonderful place if you want to be away from the crowds. It is quiet and with the most amazing view of the ocean. The accommodation is comfortable and quiet roomy. The hosts are pleasant and helpful in their suggestions of what to see and do. We would like to go back and spend a week there, just relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The view from the rooms (we stayed in Spa Unit 5) is absolutely spectacular, with a huge sweeping white sand beach, aqua waters, sheep down by the waterfront, and lots of flowers and wallabies in the well-kept garden. Kath is a wonderful, friendly, unimposing host who was eager to please, full of suggestions, and really lovely to chat to. She made a beautiful simple breakfast for us every morning and gave lots of great suggestions too. The spa unit was clean, tidy, and had just about every amenity you could need (cutlery, glasses, chilled water and milk waiting in the fridge, iron & board, microwave, kettle, mini fridge, etc) and everything was very tidily kept. It was such a pleasure to stay here and I hope we'll be back sometime soon--a really memorable, quiet, peaceful getaway. Thanks, Kath!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
0.6 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#3 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
23.1 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
1.6 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#2 of 6 in Bicheno
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#4 of 11 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Address: 18067 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat has ultimate views over McLeans Bay, Diamond Island and Dennison Beach. Sunrise and phenomenal Sunsets are definitely a highlight 365 days a year with Winter sunsets being earlier and more magnificent and Summer sunrises gifting an enlivening start to the day (a joyful, inspiring morning high! An exquisite white sandy cove below is perfect for swimming, relaxing and experiencing the exhilerating purity only the ocean and fresh air can imbibe. A 10 minute walk to beautiful pristine Dennison Beach enables you to explore endlessly and find coveted artifacts. Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat is home to a family of Kangaroos, Wallabies and Possums, which you are most certain to be able to see in the evening. The bush is part of Ocean View as are the stars and tranquility. Nearby Wildlife tours and world renown nature environment parks make Bicheno's Ocean View REtreat fabulous for two day stays, and with cozy and comfortable Queen beds! 1 - 8 guests can be accommodated in the 6 well equipped units (4 self catering and 2 B+B. Breakfasts are well received and can be supplied not only in the B+B but also in the self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.