We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bicheno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn
Save Saved
You added Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn to your Saves list
Peggy's Point, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Bicheno
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never again....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spectacular views, friendly staff - but that's it. Tired, worn and an owner who thinks he is special. Stayed with family for three nights (6 adults, 1 child). Booked in for dinner on the 2nd night and while waiting saw the owner approach a 4 yr old & 18 month old in the designated play area and abuse them for swinging on the gate trying to get in. Then witnessed a family being told to eat dinner off their laps by staff as the owner and his family were seated at the table that had been reserved for them. Worst customer PR I have ever seen. We gave up our table to them and left in disgust. Until it is taken over by someone who is not a pretentious, self obsessed bully - give it a big miss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Once again stayed at the Silver sands on a quick stopover en route to Hobart. Nothing has changed since our last visit in December. The hotel is still in need of a tidy up. The rooms are still basic but clean. The cafe still serves a good breakfast and the room rates are still very cheap considering the location on the ocean -approx $80. If I was looking for 1000 thread count sheets and a 40 inch plasma I wouldn't choose to stay here. I wouldn't be paying $80 either. Was a bit miffed the locals woke me up in the wee hours though - penguins can be noisy little critters. cheep cheep :]

Room Tip: We had room 23. The mattress was memory foam, slept well despite the penguins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel trades as 'The Dogs Breakfast Trading Company' which just about sums up the Silver Sands. The saving grace for this dump of a hotel is the view and excellent local walks. We stayed in room 20 which was very basic and worn out. We have never stayed in a hotel with beds of such poor quality plus the sheets were so thin they were like tissue paper. We think that the beds were inherited from the convicts when they closed Port Arthur! The door lock was poor. The bathroom was functional but not a lot else. Overall cleanliness was just about acceptable. Based on the room we did not try the hotel catering facility. The old crone who worked on reception was rude and clearly did not like either Poms or guests in general. Would never ever stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay until it is refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed one night in march 2012 as the other hotel in the area was booked out. the views are fantastic and we had a room facing the ocean. the room is tired and the bed is hard. the sheets were clean but old and thin. The bathroom was good and clean. the resort is old and very tired and would have been great in its heyday. The cafe has a good breakfast available and alcohol is able to be purchased there. The town of Bicheno is small but has wonderful views and there are a few shops,restaurants, and a supermarket. A must do is go to wine glass bay, even the walk to to lookout is worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

The staff at the info centre in Bicheno gave it to us straight - the place is old but clean, and it's on prime real estate. It was literally the last place left to stay in town and surrounds on a Monday night in January.

We had an ocean view room on the right hand side, and the view from our room was superb. If your room is internal and you have no view, you'll be disappointed unless you're looking for bog standard basic place to crash. Expect 70s to 80s decor and fit out - but not of the funky variety.

Overall we enjoyed our accidental stay and fell asleep and woke up to the sound of the sea.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Recently stayed at this motel and was devastated to see how it has been run down over the years. The magnificent location was the saving grace. The original entrance to the motel is deplorable and needs tidying up. The cafe has a nice location but the staff could be more professional and welcoming. The rooms were clean - the outside table and chairs could do with some maintenance. The original pool area is run-down - surely it would not take much to provide a few plants and a paint job to make the area more amenable. It seems the owner is just letting the motel run-down - very disappointed to see what was once a lovely motel in such a state.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This motel has the most wonderful location.It's quite sad to see how run down the motel is though as its potential as unique beach side accommodation is neglected.The entrance to the motel is unforgivable with ugly delapidated building,broken windows and entrance stuffed with boxes in the bargain basement shop which is a strange addition.The White Dog Cafe is in a brilliant location and lovely for coffee and breakfast.However throw away the twenty year old sofa beds,the glass table and chairs, and put some comfortable seating in its place.Fix up the tatty window frames on the outside and tart up the outdoor table and chairs.It requires little but would enhance what could be a really exceptional beach side motel.It need not be pretentious but kept within a beach side theme.The service is pretty amateurish although I am sure they are well meaning, but poorly trained in customer service.This would put off many people not used to this sort of "rustic" environment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn

Address: Peggy's Point, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Resort Motor Hotel Bicheno
Silver Sands Hotel
Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn Bicheno, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Resort Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.