We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Diamond Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diamond Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bicheno
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very tidy and quaint apartment. Stairs to the two bedrooms. They class this as 4 - 4 1/2 star resort. I would not think that our room was rated this. Prob 3 1/2 - 4. Very clean. Close to the
beach
. Restaurant and pool, small gym set up, table tennis. Even penguin tours. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    21
    21
    29
See reviews for
48
61
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

So much has been shared by so many others below. Consequently, I will try to be brief and add new information to help the owner and others considering this venue.

"4 & 4.5 star rooms"..."Resort" - the liberal interpretation by Diamond Island is at odds with any other property with the same star rating. I would humbly suggest that this venue is not on the same level as genuine 4 star venues, such as Freycinet Lodge or the Edge of The Bay.

As we entered the property past the Australian flags and glossy street sign proclaiming the rating and Resort status, we were relieved to be in our SUV just to make it down the pot-holed and lumpy asphalt drive to the reception. My wife and I looked at each other and drew in a sharp breath. The look said it all: "we're here now and have pre-paid, so suck it up and see how it goes".

The reception area is like a space that time forgot and is representative of the whole property...it would have been 4 stars 10 years ago. Sadly time, poor maintenance and cost cutting have taken their toll on what must have been a good, small-town, beach-side property when it was first opened.

The $425 a night (via Wot-if) room for my wife and I, and our 3 kids, was passable. Everything in Room 3 worked except the water-saver shower head, leaking bathroom tap, sliding screen door, and the sliding glass door lock with DIY repair (my 12 year old could have opened it by pulling hard enough), the DIY twin-room wardrobe that backed into the master bedroom. The addition of the odd garden dwarf would have completed the 'twilight-zone' styling and 2.5-3 star experience.

The continental breakfast (included in room price) was like everything else: the absolute bare minimum...corn flakes, Just Right or Nutri-grain. 3 types of bread for toasting. Pineapple or orange juice. No fruit at all (on a positive note, some was delivered to our room after I complained to the sleepy back-packer at the front desk....to which he replied: "I agree, but I just do what I am told"). It was a help yourself with not a staff member in sight.

The view was amazing, the beach and Diamond Island walk at low tide was terrific, but, unfortunately, for the price we paid, I will not be returning with my family.

Room Tip: go somewhere else....Best Western at Bicheno or a real 4 star resort in Coles Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

It's simple: the food isn't tasty, the service spotty, the setting only basic and the manager was rude to us when we said that the penguin tour should be half price only for children. Not a nice, but a substandard place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
This man was abusive continually with his wife to extent that staff called me to come round. They were fighting and creating a scene not comfortable to other guests.

His reference to "penguin tour" operated by a separate business is laughable as he repeatedly referred to his baby and that his baby should be free. His baby looked about 12 and when I asked where was the baby he pointed to the child at the table.

He does not have the right to call me rude when he was the one yelling and unable to control himself, just because I did not agree with a 12 year old being a baby and that his baby should be free.

A very unpleasant human being who is typical of the unfactual response that we see tripadvisor posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denpasar
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We didn't know about Bichino until we mentioned heading to Tasmania, suddenly everyone seemed to recommend this cute little seaside town. it has spectacular coastline and a yesteryear feel, with just enough driving time between destinations to make it a perfectly placed pitstop on our travels.
The penguins are of course a major drawcard, but being able to stay at Daimond Island Lodge and have our own personal private penguins come visit us on our apartment verandah was a highlight. So too was our dinner at the lodge. we were greeted by the chef, who turns out to have a wealth of experience and passion for the industry, and together with his lovely wife created an awesome local catch feast for the night. Something we shall not forget!
The staff checked in to make sure we were comfortable and happy, and then took us down to meet the penguins. The kids were ecstatic!.
Our upstairs apartment had sweeping coastline views, and gave us all the best sleep on our journey so far. Very comfortable and priced well for what we received. we were all very happy with our stay, thank you Diamond Island Lodge from Simon, Hannah, Louiee & Ling.

Room Tip: Chat to the staff, they are knowledgeable, obliging, and took the time out to ensure our stay was pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your time taken, we know we have areas to work on but appreciate your time taken to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My family and I stayed at Diamond ISland resort for one night. The 'resort' was very tired and had been renovated a number of times but everything was just a bit odd. A spa bath in the lounge, a door lock that was broken, a DVD player that did not work. The room upstairs had been split into 2 so the patch of carpet was replaced with an odd rug to fill in the space. Sorry Trip Advisor, I should have checked your reviews before I booked. Don't be tricked by the word Resort.
On a posative note the food in the resturant was great, but please shine your glasses and jugs and don't say, "I wont take your order now becuase there will be a long wait".
Seeing the penguins arrive at night was great! Sleeping almost on top of 200 burrows when they left to go fishing at 3am in the morning and squalked for an hour was not so great.
I would expect to pay $200 a night for the room that we stayed in and then I might expect to experience what we experienced and no be so annoyed.

Room Tip: A room higher up the hill may not experience so much penguin noise. But who knows they were pretty l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your time taken to respond, to repeat what I have said many times, "million dollar views" cost millions of dollars. Most people leave saying they wish they could stay longer and understand where the cost comes from. We are part of Australia not a small overseas country and things are not cheap here.

Unfortunately yes the penguins have been especially noisy the last few weeks when heading out to sea in the morning. I have 2 nests next to my window and they have been competing with each other when saying their farewells of a morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We paid $390 for our accommodation. It was a resort price but this is not a resort.
The staff seem to be doing their best but the property is a bit run down.
The setting is stunning with proximity to the beach and diamond island.
Included breakfast is cereal and toast.
Included penguin tour involved sitting in a deck chair on a platform at the bottom of the property while one of the staff pointed a torch in the correct direction. There were a lot of penguins and it was good fun for the kids. No need to pay extra money for someone to point at a penguin for you. There is obviously argy bargy with competing penguin tours. At dusk, a rival operator comes and closes the beach access and escorts any non payers from the sand. There are a lot of signs telling rival patrons where they should not be.
We enjoyed the stay but it was overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your response, we do have lots to add to the property but your price is about location and most people understand "million dollar views" cost just that.

Noone is allowed on the beach at night not just our guests. The closing of the gate at night time is partly about separating non guests with the Bicheno Penguin company from town from our guests but it is mostly about keeping humans away from the area that the penguins walk onto our property which is near the gate area .

They really don't want human interaction despite what some people think their penguin experience should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

After reading such differing reviews, I felt compelled to write too. We stayed in a family room, the "A" frame style which did lack quite a lot of attention. The only two light bulbs in the lounge were blown and the lamp had no bulb. I was required to clean the shower/spa before running a bath. The wardrobe was bare chip board held together with masking tape, and the exhaust fan in the kitchen was also attatched to the wall with tape. The light switch over the stairs was three steps down, making it a scary reach in the dark. However, we struck a friendship with another couple staying, and entered their studio style room and it was beautiful. It was clean, modern and quite stylish. Therefore I am guessing this is the reason for these reviews to be quite extreme, it simply depends if you are travelling as a family or a couple. Resort accommodation indicates that there is enough dining and entertainment on offer that you do not need to leave the property, however I think this is lacking here. There were some great moments in our stay at this resort, unfortunately the negative did outweigh these.

Room Tip: Travel as a couple, not a family and the rooms are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
You had some great moments here yet leave a review score of 1 ?

We do not have tape holding things together so this makes anything else you have said questionable.

There is though a difference between the villas and apartments, most people staying in the villas like the difference so I am sorry you didn't.

There are things to do here, pool, pool table, table tennis, x boxes, bikes,tennis, games for kids, library, spa/massage and of course the island and the penguins so while we have things we want to do there is already plenty to do and I have not mentioned the local attractions so again 1 out of 5 I think is harsh.

Also if we are to believe you that you felt so compelled to post a review yet it took you three months ??????????????????????????????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diamond Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Island Resort

Address: 69 Tasman Highway, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Island Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Diamond Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Island Hotel Bicheno
Diamond Island Bicheno
Diamond Island Resort Bicheno, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.