We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great tassie devil displays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Coast Natureworld

East Coast Natureworld
18356 Tasman Highway | 7kms north of Bicheno, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
+61 3 6375 1311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Bicheno
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: East Coast Natureworld is Tasmania's premier natural wildlife and Ecology park. Experience the freedom to roam and relax in 160 acres of parkland and lagoon, or get involved and hand feed some of the free ranging Kangaroos. Guaranteed viewing of Tasmanian Devils, Tasmanian Tigers (Snakes & cats of course), Quolls, Wombats, Cape barren Geese, Eagles, Owls, Bettongs, Pademelons, Cockatoos, Native & Exotic Parrots and much more. Check out the East Coast Heritage & Mining Display with an 1850's mine, while learning about coastal History. The Wildspot Gallery Cafe restaurant serves food all day and has a menu to suit all pallets. Animal Feeding and meet the keeper at 10am 12.30 And 3.30 Daily. Extensive Souvenir Shop featuring Tasmanian & Australian made Gifts.
Mudgee, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great tassie devil displays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

As a 50+ couple of teachers we weren't sure we had made the right decision until we saw the Tasmanian Devils... wow - so close and so interesting. The 'Natureworld' had a nice friendly feel about it, but it was a little primative with their displays. Needs a little better upkeep.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    53
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place to stop if you've never seen tasmanian devils”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As a couple in our mid-thirties, we weren't really sure how much we would enjoy East Coast Nature World. However, we wanted to see kangaroos and tasmanian devils up close so decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised by this place. Lots of kangaroos, wallabies, and birds to feed. Even a couple of beautiful peacocks. All the animals were pretty tame and would eat right out of your hand.

Loved seeing the tasmanian devils up close too!

There were only about 10 other people there at the same time as us...not sure how it would be if the place was packed with tourists.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could be so much better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We tend to head to an animal park whenever on vacation. Why? I don't know, but this one could be better. There's lots if space, but its mostly about the Devils and Wallabys and not much else. Also disappointing to see so many of the pens in disrepair with their water features not working.

The animals were also looking for handouts indicating they are accustomed to being fed by visitors even though the signs point out the food is only for the free range birds and roos. This annoyed me but I'm sure the kids will love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great wildlife place to see Tassie Devils, Quolls & other critters!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This has been our best experience in Tassie so far. A great few hours spent here seeing animals such as Devils, quolls, wombats, possums, as well as many beautiful birds, reptiles & wallabies. The guys & gals who work here in Natureworld are friendly & knowledgeable, & we had a great time seeing the feeding of Devils, & also the nocturnals. We advise any visitors to get there by 10.30 am to see the first of the feeds, or check to see the other times. It's a great experience.
We just adored Whitney the Wombat too, & were lucky to see a tiny baby wombat, rescued from a road accident, being bottle fed by the staff. Mum quoll & two of her 5 babies were good enough to pop out of their house to share a fish & allow us to take some great snapshots. i actually had never heard of a quoll..now I have a new word for Scrabble! The small cafe there is good too! Egg& bacon muffin?..better than Devil food.
Thanks to you all for making our visit to Natureworld at Bicheno so enjoyable...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“East Coast Natureworld. Bicheno. East Coast, Tasmania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Set amongst 150 acres of natural parkland and lagoons. This is the perfect place to experience Tasmania's unique animals, birds, reptiles. Operating for over thirty years, Natureworld offers a more intimate, interactive, and ultimately enjoyable experience with Tasmanian wildlife. Originally a birdlife park, Natureworld has evolved into a nature world, where Tasmanian wildlife, birdlife and flora can be seen and appreciated by all. With 150 acres of forest, lagoon and beach frontage the extensive park grounds allow you to wander around at your own leisure. Wheel chair & pram friendly paths allow all to experience the uniqueness of Tasmania up close. There is food and drink served for most of the day in the Gallery Cafe. For the wildlife photography enthusiast there is an extensive display of Tasmanian wildlife photography. The shop has a wide range of souvenirs with a wildlife and Tasmania theme.
Your experience begins as you are greeted by two very chatty Sulphur Crested Cockatoos and an amazing view of the lagoon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Coast Natureworld also viewed

 
Coles Bay, Freycinet National Park
 

Been to East Coast Natureworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Coast Natureworld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.