We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bicheno Blowhole

Bicheno Blowhole
Bicheno, Tasmania, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 attractions in Bicheno
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Attraction Details
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a great natural phenomenon. Located very close to the centre of town, a short drive away from the main shops. Watch out you don't get too close and get splashed!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    46
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ECHUCA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Such fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of the beautiful things about Tassie is that it is not a nanny state and you actually get to experience things up close and personal sometimes without guard rails and slip rails and much of the OHS requirements that can actually lessen the experience. The day we went to this blowhole was a clear day and the surf was rolling in nicely and the hole was blowing and blowing and we loved every minute of it. We have been to the blowhole at Kiama and that is spectacular but this experience was totally different. We were sensible, we have respect for the ocean and we enjoyed this immensely and will probably never experience this type of natural attraction in this format again. Go while you can!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Must see this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Fantastic. Breathtaking, nice fresh air and a lovely short walk. It is a perfect spot for photos. Must see.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I had been here twice in previous month. It is really worth to see and I will definitely go again! Bunch of photos been taken. We looked for penguin at night, but remember not to use flash. Walked in dark to look for penguin was quite exciting, but safety is priority.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth stopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Easy to get to and pretty cool. We loved it. Not as good as kiama in nsw but we still thought it was worth the stop. You can walk right out to the rocks - be wary with little ones. In summer it would be so much fun, the kids would love getting wet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bicheno Blowhole also viewed

 

Been to Bicheno Blowhole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicheno Blowhole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bicheno Blowhole to your Saves list