We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchlia Waterfront Cottage

Anchlia Waterfront Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bicheno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchlia Waterfront Cottage
Save
You added Anchlia Waterfront Cottage to your Saves list
2 Murray Street, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for one night in the single bedroom Penguin Nook. It was clean, spacious and comfortable, except for the bed which was very hard. The location is excellent, just a short stroll through the back yard and over the rocks to the ocean. Penguins were viewed in the yard at night. Quite exciting for us as we had never seen live penguins before. The night was spoiled by the thin wall between us and the adjoining Cod Rock Terrace. The occupants were only talking and laughing at low volume until well after midnight, but it was all quite audible in our room. Our matress was so hard as to offer no lumbar support and punished my shoulders when I lay on my side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Thanks to Anchilia for a wonderful stay in a lovely location. Being a family of five single adults travelling, the amenities across both Penguin Nook and Cod Terrace were ideal for us. The location is stunning being right on the waterfront, and the hospitality was very warm. Great advice for what to see in the local area. Thanks again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

Found on trip advisor as we drove into Bicheno, stayed 1 night in their Cod Rock Terrace with water and garden views from all windows/doors. Quiet, clean, fairly well equipped, good location and walking distance to the little town. Gorgeous from outside, cute from inside and very satisfactory compared to our usual 4 star accommodation. Finally we had a chance to cook our own meal having dined in restaurants all week! Can sleep 5, but with only 1 bathroom that might not be suitable for all adults but ok for kids. Very comfortable.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Found Anchlia 2 years ago by chance and loved it so much we returned. Both visits we stayed in Penguins Nest, the one bedroom accommodation. Car parking at front door and it has a large dining, living and kitchen area, separate bedroom with a double and one single bed and a separate comfortable bathroom with shower over a small tub. The furniture is tasteful and comfortable. It is a home away from home and very serene and relaxing. An outdoor patio outside the lounge area faces the sea and it has a barbeque.There is a shared laundry room behind the building. It is just perfect, very private and the view is sublime, the sea is visible from all front rooms and patio. The owners are helpful and otherwise unobtrusive. The grounds are beautiful with an abundance of roses and lovely old flowers in the beds at front and sides but the lawns at the seafront of the property give way to gorse and pathways leading down to the rocks and sea or into Bicheno and at night the penguins waddle about en masse. Regularly some stay put at the property. Cannot blame them. Recommend a walk at low tide across the natural causeway to Diamond Island and a visit to the Bicheno zoo, Natureworld, which is also home to Devils Island where there are valiant attempts being made to breed Tasmanian Devils free of the Facial tumour Cancer virus decimating the Devil population.
It must be the most beautifully sited zoo anyway but the Devils out in the many pens were the largest and healthiest Devils we have seen. A testimony to the care they receive but the Devil Feeding session was even more rewarding. Their new handler, Suzi, literally had one devil, Danger, eating out of her hand. Danger was a very large devil, a handful for the diminutive Ranger, who fed her whilst nursing her in her arms and Danger behaved as placidly as a puppy. It was amazing and a thrill to watch. The zoo covers a large area with excellent displays of many other animals, all exceptionally healthy looking. Best wombats we have seen at any zoo also, as well as an owl, Wedgetail Eagles and many other birds.
Bicheno and the surrounding areas are beautiful and interesting, there is also a Blowhole down on the rocks to see. This property is wonderful and there is enough to see and do in the area to warrant a longer stay at Anchlia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My family and I stay at the Cod Rock Terrace house on Feb 2011. We had just a great time at this place, the view is awesome!!!! At night penguin come to your backyard and you can see them but never touch them, they very cute. During the day your can just sit on the front area and enjoy the amazing view. This place is great!!They have all the cookware and very clean an nice!!I can wait to go back to this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Four years ago on a trip around Tasmania we arrived in Bicheno late one afternoon to find all the motels booked out. We were offered the Cod Rock Cottage and were amazed when we arrived to check in. What a lovely place - a truly lovely cottage, with a beautiful garden and the ocean breaking over a rocky foreshore barely 50 meters away. So we decided then and there to stay an extra night. This month we went back for another tour around Tassie - this time on our motorbikes. The first location planned on our tour was to stay here again - for two nights again. It was everything we remembered and enjoyed from our first visit - a truly relaxing and comfortable home-away-from-home experience.
Bicheno is a great location too - excellent bakery, nice restaurants and cafes, supermarket and shops. Also a good motorbike museum for those so inclined, with 60 motorbikes of all vintages. Also a good laundromat with excellent service if needed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Yes there are penguins, the location is fabulous! Neat 2 storey cabin/cottage at the waters edge. Penguins return each day from fishing in the ocean and walk across the property to their beds in the cottages' gardens. Very exciting to see those little fairy penguins in the wild. Don't be surprised at 4 am when they all wake up and start yelling at each other - they are very loud and very communicative.

The cottage is an older 2 story building that is rather rustic. Nice warm heater in the open concept livingroom/kitchen. There is also free wi-fi if you go to the office or outside the cottage. Another bonus is the laundry facilities.

The 2 bedrooms and the only bathroom are upstairs. The master bedroom (without a door) has a side room with a small bed for a child. The master bedroom is where the only bathroom is. This would be fine for a family but not good for 2 couples. We decided after one night that we would leave because of the washroom situation. Privacy was important to us - especially when you have to walk into another couples bedroom in the middle of the night to use the john. Although the cottage clearly advertised a single bathroom, we didn't really envision the lay-out (we accept it was our own error). After one night we went to see if we could get a refund for the second night and the female owner wasn't sure and asked her husband - that is when things went sideways. He promptly told me I was ignorant and had a very short selective memory as he had clearly indicated that there was only one bathroom (truly when you are renting 5 months worth of hotels, these things tend to slip). He was verbally abusive towards us and when we started to walk out of the office and we told them it was fine and that we will certainly stay and will be happy to place a review on TA. The wife then gave us our money back - her husband was very mad at us and at her. He told us to get out now (it was 8 am) so he could re-rent the room. I do feel badly that we caused anxiety for them both. Within an hour of us leaving, the owner sent me 3 emails from 6 month previous, proving that he had pointed out to me that there was only one bathroom.

Although I don't think the owners are very customer service savvy, I would recommend the location of this cottage to families who want to experience the penguins of Tasmania.

Room Tip: Not good for couples travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchlia Waterfront Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchlia Waterfront Cottage

Address: 2 Murray Street, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two fully self-contained apartments, Cod Rock Terrace - 2 story, 3 bedrooms sleeps up to 5 and Penguin Nook - 1 bedroom (queen and a single). Right on the waterfront on Cod Rock Point in the East Coast township of Bicheno. Penguins frequent the grounds around the apartments most of the year, and we front onto a 3 klm foreshore walk that goes around town to our blowhole. Both apartments have views over Waub's Bay and Cod Rock Terrace and views overlooking Diamond Island. Set in landscaped gardens with native gums that attract many bird species. All only 500 m or so from local shops and restaurants and only one half hour drive from the world-renowned Freycinet National Park/Wineglass Bay. A great place for at least a two night stopover. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchlia Waterfront Cottage Bicheno, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchlia Waterfront Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.