We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 star motel, a little overpriced, no TV and a hard bed !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wintersun Gardens Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wintersun Gardens Motel to your Saves list
Wintersun Gardens Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   35 Gordon Street, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Certificate of Excellence
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A 3 star motel, a little overpriced, no TV and a hard bed !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Wintersun nights of 12 and 13 March 2011. Upon arrival at 1pm our room was ready and reception was good. Our room was advertised as a deluxe with views, although we only had a glimpse of the sea. We paid AU$120 per room per night breakfast extra, booked some months ago, online direct with motel.

The motel would be 30 odd years old and our room, No.11 was under same roof as reception area, it had a connecting door to reception which makes me think it was once the Manager's flat. The room was quite spacious, but basic. A very hard bed, just a thin mattress on boards, TV was not working, I took this up with the owner, who informed me aerial had corroded, therefore no signal and was trying to fix it, not really good enough.

Room firnishings adequate, bathroom OK and place was clean. Breakfast had room service, hot dishes from $6 to $9, just basic, but quite nice. Motel is a about 400 metres from town. Good restaurants nearby. Motel has pool, but water a little cool. I thought the motel was a basic 3 star motel, a little overrated and overpriced at $120 given the prices of other motels around the area at $90 to $100. I thought as no TV available a small discount would apply, wrong ! Not a bad motel, but not great.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    108
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
52
125
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed in a deluxe family room, the room is not big, but enough for us to get around.
The bed is quite comfortable, bathroom is pretty clean, but the TV is really small.

We only stayed here for 1 night as it is the closest town to Freycinet National Park (i think). This motel is good value for money - the room was $155, and there were 4 of us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We had 4 nites at the Wintersun Garden Motel and left knowing we had had the most fantastic Christmas even though away from family!
Both Chris and Eula (owners) had everything ready for us when we arrived at 2 and were fantastic in recommending places to eat, things to do - the walk around the coastline out to the blowhole was great and the kids loved jumping over the big boulders, and the Fairy Penguin Tour was the best! Gave us maps of the town, all the info and walking maps we needed for our daytrip to Freycinet NP.
We stayed in one of the new cabins with a layout that had been carefully thought about. Extremely clean, plenty of room for 3 young kids, comfy couches, good sized kitchen, bathroom - good shower and comfy beds!
Outside was a large grassed area that had cubby house, kids tennis ball on a string game, balls and toys! The kids even tried a swim in the pool - a bit cold for us Gold Coasters - but the kids didn't mind!
Christmas Day was spent around the BBQ where Chris and Eula had spent the morning cooking roasts and vegies that were perfect while we had played on the beach. Plenty to eat, drink and all the tourists had a very Merry Christmas - it was like being with family! That nite, Eula bought out the sausages for a barbie dinner - even had icecream and mince pies - Perfect Day!
Bicheno and the Wintersun were a definate highlight during our 19 days of tripping around Tassie - I am still trying to talk my husband out of wanting to move there!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

Stayed for one night in Bicheno to visit the freycinet national park. Based on the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to stay at Wintersun gardens. We booked, for four adults, a two bedroom self contained unit with a "separate ensuite" for $190.
We arrived at the motel about an hour early and were told our unit wasn't ready, so we said we'd go to the national park first and come back later that evening but if could use there toilet facilities in the mean time. We were told to use the public toilets near information. Ok, not a problem. So we came back about 9.00pm to check in after a day of hiking to discover that the ensuite that was mentioned was actually just the bathroom! When we approached the staff, who were most likely the owners about what we thought was a mix up, we were greeted with a cold stare and then asked what is a separate ensuite to which we referred them back to the email that was sent to us. The male staff member then tried to tell us the bathroom was the separate ensuite! When we pointed out the obvious about it not being the main bathroom he turned and sighed loudly and turned back to his computer ignoring the rest of out conversation which we had to resume with the equally rude female staff member. We waited for an apology but was given only a feeble excuse to the ambiguousness of the email. No point in arguing so we left for our room.
If we were offered an apology I could be writing a different review at the moment, but the manner in which we were treated was absolutely disgusting! The room itself was small but clean and the TV, as was mentioned in a fairly accurate review earlier (apart from the friendly staff), was limited.
I will never again stay or recommend this motel to anyone. If you don't want to ruin your trip stay away from the rude staff at Wintersun gardens!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

What wonderful hosts this motel has, possible the best hospitality I have recieved in 5 continents of travel,

We arrived after 9pm in the dark, and was welcomed by beautiful box hedges standard roses and fuscias in full bloom, apon reception the hosts welcomed us so nicely, made sure to get our phone number just incase we left something behind, and gave us milk for our coffee.

for a small adittional cost you can have a cooked breakfast to your room, and the host once again excelled themselves by cooking scrambled eggs (obviously the wingeing american in the last post didnt think to ask..) not on the menu but the host had no problem in doing them . could sit outside overlooking the gardens to eat breakfast too

The room was neat tidy, the bathroom small but very modern and very clean. Generous with tea and coffee facilties! Mini bar prices not a rip off at all $3.50 for a premium light beer and $1.50 for a soft drink, $6 for wine Very impressed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

The hotel is right off the main road into Bichenu. Nice room, bed and shower with refrigerator but no microwave, no face cloths and no air conditioning which left the room very hot during the day when over 30 C. Heaters were barely adequate to keeping room warm enough when under 15 C. Did have bed warmers. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice gardens, small swimming pool, outside barbeque grill. Good breakfast but no scrambled eggs choice. Walk to end of street a few hundred meters to see fairy penguins come ashore. No internet, very limited TV.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed overnight in Bicheno on our trip along Tasmanian East Coast. It is a small town with a handful of choices for accommodation and dining. We decided to stay in Wintersun Gardens Motel for one night after reading some of the reviews here. We were not disappointed. True that the room is a bit small, but for what we paid, we couldn't ask for more. The place is clean, quiet and the air is fresh. It's within walking distance to the supermarket, bistro and restaurants. The owners are truly fabulous and lovely. Our package included breakfast for two, which was a great value. They were building 3 more motel rooms when we reached there, which should be ready in a couple of months time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
0.7 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
22.7 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
0.4 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#2 of 6 in Bicheno
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
16.6 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wintersun Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintersun Gardens Motel

Address: 35 Gordon Street, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wintersun Gardens Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wintersun Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintersun Gardens Hotel Bicheno
Wintersun Gardens Motel Bicheno, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintersun Gardens Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.