We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blowhole with a difference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bicheno by the Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bicheno by the Bay to your Saves list
Bicheno by the Bay
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   The Esplanade, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Thredbo Village, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A blowhole with a difference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

On our way up the east coast, we stumbled by chance on this great property. Travelling to a budget and not needing cooking facilities we chose the "motel rooms" . What a misnomer! These rooms, a set of 4 with balconies overlooking a small lake, were far too nice to simply call "motel rooms" and I have been racking my brains ever since to find a more suitable title. Only minutes from the blowhole we wandered down with our torches, a bottle of bubbly and some snacks to wait for the penguins. We were not disappointed...as darkness fell, there they came, marching up between the rocks through a small cutting behind the blowhole.
The staff and management of the establishment were very hospitable and my only regret is that we were not able to stay longer.

Room Tip: If you do not want cooking facilites "Motel Room" 1 is is excellent for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    66
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
53
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We travelled north from Hobart wanting to look at the Freycinet Peninsula but noting that accommodation there was of the resort money-printing kind, relative to our interests. Our preference for a town... and Bicheno is a town, quite evidently a place to which families go for holidays. Bicheno by the Bay must score high marks for location and for style: A-Frames of fancy home style magazines in 1972 (when it was opened), light in appearance and light on the heart, in amazingly good condition with for the most part original high quality finish, placed on a sloping site, with splendid and wild looking kids play area, and a walk to the sea. In our initial briefing at the front office we were told where to buy fresh fish to cook (on the wharf) and where to find the supermarket. We later told them of the wonderful ice creams at Porks. :-)

Also told where to find penguins - actually they are everywhere just after dark, we found them at the blowhole.

Good facilities for cooking also washing clothes. Great comfort in living and bedroom including because any toxins found themselves out of finishes a long time ago.

Very cheerful front office, some humorous signage :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here only one night on our way to Wineglass Bay. Bicheno is recommended as the best place to see the fairy penguins back home. Just at the seashore and bushes in front of Bicheno By the Bay, we found many! Bicheno By the Bay is also near to the blow hole and lookout. The bungalow "jasmine" was great and comfy. People on the desk was warm and helpful---told us the best time to find penguin and the place in the town to buy oyster. And, there is a lovely swimming pool beside the reception. Wish I could stay longer next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast Tasmania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The best word to describe Bicheno by the bay is cute... If you want to take your special someone away and want somewhere affordable which isn't dingey and old this is the place... The rooms are tidy, bathrooms are amazing and the beds are comfy.... Everything looks new and it is located right next to a pretty sweet blowhole :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The bungalow provided was great and comfy. I had very efficient response from the owner on my reservation before arrival. It is just few minutes driving to Blowhole. The surrounding is quiet and dark at night. There is a hot water pool beside the reception, ideal for winter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestAustralia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way to Wineglass Bay. Despite the chilly weather, our cottage was cosy and warm. The lovely lady on the desk turned on the heaters while we went for a walk. The creaky floors added to the rustic charm. A great place to stay for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Au
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We are in unit 2 of the new motel section. Sitting on the large deck out the front of our unit enjoying a chardy or three. The rooms are very modern, every thing supplied, even have Quilton toilet paper and a free laundry out the back.LOL. A wonderful bush setting, minutes walk to beach and centre of town. So relaxing, we could live here. We spend more than 60 nights / year on hols, and this would be the most impressive stay we have had in Aus.
Very quiet, relaxing place so close to everything. Give it a try, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: If your a couple, book the motel units, Chalets are 1970's and they would be great with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
1.7 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
22.9 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
1.0 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.6 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#2 of 6 in Bicheno
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno by the Bay

Address: The Esplanade, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bicheno by the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno by the Bay (BBTB) Bicheno. Self-contained family accommodation on Tasmania's sunny east coast - 19 bungalows and 5 motel rooms, right in town, right on the ocean front. BBTB is located on 8 acres in a coastal bush setting. All bungalows stand alone and are appointed with open plan lounge and kitchen areas, separate bedrooms, deck and covered carport. Each bungalow is generously equipped with cooking and eating utensils, conventional oven and microwave, bedding including doonas and electric blankets, television, DVD and hairdryer. No charge washing machines are available. Four of the motel rooms are located in a quiet part of the property overlooking a man-made lake. Each unit has a tranquil view of water and gum trees, and various decks from which to enjoy the ambiance. Extract from testimonial regards BBTB - "in an amazing location just across from a gorgeous rocky coastline with penguins nesting nearby so you could hear their songs in the night." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Bicheno by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno By The Bay Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bicheno by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.