We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but clean with good service and a lovely view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lacepede Bay Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lacepede Bay Motel to your Saves list
Lacepede Bay Motel
1 Marine Parade, Kingston SE, South Australia 5275, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingston SE
Adelaide
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not fancy but clean with good service and a lovely view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked an executive room as the rest were sold out, so paid a slightly higher price. The room was spacious and had a common verandah/sitting area which was awesome, but the room itself didn't really strike us as executive. It was a normal country hotel room. Everything was clean and neat. The bathroom was clean and the shower had good pressure. We had a barbecue in the pool area - really nice. The hosts were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
47
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were happy to find a motel with a decent restaurant and bar on site after our days of driving and motels. The room was lovely and clean, having been upgraded to a deluxe room on arrival. I was slightly disappointed to not have the owners come over and have a chat to us while we were having a drink in the bar, as they seemed to speak to the other groups there. However, the bartender was lovely and had a great smile, although the two restaurant staff could improve. We enjoyed the food and local wines and produce though - we will stay here again if given the chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were very pleased with our upstairs corner room. Room was good sized and clean and tidy. Location of the motel is excellent, right on the sea front near the jetty with great views of the sunset. Ideally located to Old Wool Store restaurant and Royal Mail Hotel or enjoy oysters and a drink at the motel's own dining venue with a sea view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The motel is in a very convenient & picturesque location in Kingson. The restaurant was very roomy & food was top notch. The room was a nice size & everything worked fine. One downside was that the fittings in the bathroom were looking a bit corroded/tired & may need updating.
We enjoyed ourselves immensely & will be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really in front of the Ocean and the fantastic sunset. The pool was enjoyable after a full day of drive.
The restaurant was also good and affordable.
The area was pretty much infest with mosquitoes. The room provide protection on windows but as soon as you open the door...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Valley South Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent meal in the restuarant & great veiw of the fireworks down the coast. A great place to relax and enjoy the view across the bay.
Room was spacious and there are brick partitions between the units which give good audio isolation. little noise was experienced from other travellers.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

After flying via light aircraft into the Kingston SE and then realising that there are no taxis in Kingston, we rang the owners of the Lacepede Bay motel and they could not have been more helpful. Bill met us at the airport, helped load the luggage and gave us a running commentary on Kingston. Bill made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lacepede Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lacepede Bay Motel

Address: 1 Marine Parade, Kingston SE, South Australia 5275, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kingston SE
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kingston SE
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lacepede Bay Motel contains 30 rooms situated right on the Limestone Coast, directly across the road from the beach and the jetty. Five of the Deluxe and all of our Executive rooms on the 1st level offer spectacular views of the ocean. Our restaurant and bar are open at 6pm on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays, and we are open for breakfast 7 days a week. We also now offer free Wi-Fi to all rooms and areas of the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lacepede Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lacepede Bay Hotel Kingston Se
Best Western Kingston
Kingston Se Best Western
Lacepede Bay Motel Kingston SE, South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lacepede Bay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.