We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I'd known” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Ozone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Ozone Hotel to your Saves list
Aurora Ozone Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kingscote
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish I'd known”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Didn't know before we got there that there is no maid service and we had one of the apartment's which was on a second floor (nice view and spacious) but there was no elevator and almost no drawer space for clothes. Uncool not to know these things in advance. Otherwise, seems like just about the best place (very little to choose from) to stay on the Island (expect basic accomodations) - steps from the mini-Mayberry-type Main Street. And you have to come to Kangaroo Island for the animals and the views at the Cape, Rocks and Sea Lion beach - and suggest you hire a great guide in advance - makes all the difference in the world to see all the cool stuff there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We are pleased to read that you seemed to have enjoyed your stay on our island. We are sorry to read that you had expected room service into your self-contained apartment. For other readers we do explain on our web site and our other marketing activities that these apartments are fully self contained. Further, daily service can be provided by the payment of a service fee.
Our best wishes for you continued travelling adventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    143
    93
    29
    14
See reviews for
40
210
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We had 2 night stay in a new part of the hotel, huge size room, comfortable king bed, new bathroom, flat tv and private balcony! Overall excellent stay, enjoyed breakfast and dinner in in house sea view restaurant! Would definitely recommend.
Digital channels would be better but overall no complains.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that you took the time to let everyone know. It is a big thrill to read that guests have had a positive experience when staying at our hotel while visiting our island. Sorry about the no cable TV. We have often considered cable TV, but when we ask our guests they overwhelmingly tell us that they don't look for it. It seems that exposure to the island's nature is more what they are impressed with. However, if we get requests for cable TV we will re-look at it. Thanks again for your comments. Best wishes for your future travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Only stayed for one night but very happy with our choice. Friendly staff, clean comfortable room and good food in the resturant. We had a poolside room, so it was quiet away from the road. Slept very well! Great tea/coffee making facilities and mini bar. The toiletry products in the bathroom were plentiful and lots of towels too. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: We had Room 11 - it had one double bed and 2 singles so plenty of room. It was on the 1st floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at the Aurora Ozone Hotel. We very much appreciate your positive comments. Our staff are always thrilled to read that a guest or guests have enjoyed our facilities. Best wishes to you and we hope you continue to enjoy your travels. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barossa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed in executive sea view room on 2nd floor.
Nice room, very clean.
Bed was very hard as were the pillows sadly.
Great view over the water and part of the lovely little town.
Must say that the service wasn't great, girl who checked us in was very nice, must have been new though as didn't know too much. Lady who we checked out with was not that friendly, no enquiries about if we enjoyed our stay or anything.
Food was ok if a little bit unusual in some of the variations - beef mince on the chicken parmy ????
Bistro and bar staff were nice.
Parking was a bit strange too looks like an afterthought as you just park in the rear laneway, no particular spaces or anything. Safe town though by all reports and KI is the best...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, General Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your room. However, we are not pleased that other aspects of your stay were not up to your expectations. We will use use your comments in our next staff meeting to motivate our staff to better service levels. Our best wishes for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Kingscote Pier Apartments which are part of the Aurora Ozone Hotel and situated across the street from the Hotel. Ours was a 1st floor, one bedroom apartment with good sized bath and shower room. The spacious open-plan day room featured a well equipped kitchen, dining table, television, comfortable sofa and chairs and opened out onto a balcony with patio furniture and great views to the sea and harbour. The hotel has a laundry room which we were able to use.

We found the apartment extremely spacious, private and comfortable and, having been staying in hotels for sometime, a welcome break from 'hotel routine'. Kingscote itself is an ideal place to stay whilst exploring Kangaroo Island.

Room Tip: The 1st floor apartments have balconies with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Our thanks for your taking the time to provide such detailed and positive feed-back. Our staff will get a big kick out of reading your comments as our purpose is to provide our guests with a happy and positive experience. Our best wishes for your future travels. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in one of the Executive rooms with sea views late November for 5 nights. The room was modern and spacious with lovely sea views. I enjoyed my stay, although I thought breakfast prices were a bit on the high side.

Room Tip: Sea views are lovely if you have a room on that side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. In regard to our breakfast pricing, we try to keep all of our rates in line with the mainland hotel's average even though it costs us a lot more to get our food stuffs here. We will have a re-check of our rates to make sure we remain competitive. Best wishes for your future travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed one night in a ocean view executive room which was very spacious, had a very comfortable bed and a spa bath. We paid $189 including breakfast, which was quite reasonable. And everything at the breakfast buffet was hot! The poached eggs were runny, the bacon rashers were huge and the sausages were delicious. There was also fresh juices and fresh fruit salad, cereals and yoghurt. When we came back to Kingscote we stayed three nights in an Ozone Hotel apartment at a cost of $260 per night. It was comfortably furnished but I thought it was a little expensive. Not wanting the buffet breakfast we ate at Roger's deli which was just around the corner, although we could have easily self-catered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraOzoneHotel, Manager at Aurora Ozone Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience much. Our best wishes for your continued happy travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Ozone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Ozone Hotel

Address: The Foreshore Kingscote | PO Box 96, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Kingscote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kingscote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Ozone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Kangaroo Island Hotel, Aurora Ozone, is located on the beautiful foreshore at Kingscote. The original section of the hotel has a Victorian façade and has amenities that blend with the refined atmosphere of old world charm. Coupled with the vibrant & attractive new accommodation section, Aurora Ozone Hotel in Kangaroo Island has been developed to international standards and has become a flagship in hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aurora Ozone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aurora Ozone
Aurora Ozone Hotel Kangaroo Island/Kingscote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Ozone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.