We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD PRICE & OPENS UNTIL 10PM” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hot Stuff Takeaway

Hot Stuff Takeaway
Shop 2 13 Telegraph Road, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Kingscote
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, Australian, Contemporary, Fast Food, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“GOOD PRICE & OPENS UNTIL 10PM”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Opened until 10pm every night, it's one of the few places on Kangaroo Island that's opened past 6pm.
As soon as you drive into Kingscote, you won't be able to miss the christmas-looking lights draped around the entire storefront.

Their pricing is entirely agreeable as most things are actually under $10. Steak sandwich for $7, burger for $8.50, Gyro for $9. They have a pretty big menu too ranging from falafels to calamari (note that the calamari is not worth it, as six rings of rubber bands covered with herbs (not deep fried) and a lot a lot of chips/fries. The food tastes decent. The place is large and clean and the service is friendly. It's a pretty awesome place considering it's cheap and opens "late".

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had tea here , good food good price . Also has a games room while you wait for your food to be cooked 1 of 3 places that I recommend to eat in kingscote.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean, cheap and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tradition take away menu and reasonably priced. It was very modern and comfortable as we sat in for our dinner. The service was very good and we were attended to with a smile. The food was a bit greasy but we are talking fast food here so what else can one expect? It was great and quick after a long day of travelling the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulara, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Yiros and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Loved the yiros and could have easily gone back for seconds. Good prices and lovely staff. Would highly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“:(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

i was very disappointed with the fish and chips i had because they didnt even taste like fish. it was so expensive and there were 3 staff members and it took 25mins before we even got our food and there was no one else in the shop....

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Stuff Takeaway also viewed

 
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Hot Stuff Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hot Stuff Takeaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.