We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing to do on the island!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kangaroo Island Marine Adventures

Kangaroo Island Marine Adventures
1 Anzac Drive / Kingscote Wharf, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
+61 8 8553 3227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kangaroo island marine adventures is truly a unique experience in marine nature tourism, we are the only marine operator fully eco certified on kangaroo island providing best practices for our clients and our marine animals , come aboard our purpose built vessels and discover the wonders that await you on your marine adventure tour (dolphin swim). We travel along the pristiene north coast which is very much protected from the swell and tides to visit sea eagles in the wild, seals in there colonys, and swim with wild dolphins, visit remote beaches, snorkell amoungst some of the 240 species of fish life, enjoy morning tea of home made biscuits, tea, coffee in some of the most secluded parts of the island , kangaroo island marine adventures is more than just a boat ride , we allow you the time to enjoy your experience giving you a true understanding of our marine animals in there natural environment , our purpose built vessels are large and spacious allowing plenty of room to walk around whilst onboard to maximise the wildlife experience and get the best pictures. Our vessels are also very dry and stable providing a very comfortable ride in any conditions, our skippers have a combined 40 years of local experience in kangaroo island waters. Your safety is our number 1 priority, and our years of experience will guarantee you the best marine nature experience kangaroo island has to offer. THIS IS THE MARINE TOUR TO PUT ON YOUR MUST DO LIST WHILST VISITING KANGAROO ISLAND , BUT DONT FORGET TO BOOK , YOU DONT WANT TO MISS THIS .....
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best thing to do on the island!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our time with Andrew few days ago. This was our fourth visit to the island and we wish we had known about this earlier. We took our friends from overseas who were on their first visit Down Under. They were taken by surprise by the way the dolphin explorer tour was handled. Very relaxed and cosy in a vessel that was rock steady. We had some concerns about sea sickness. With the sturdy boat, you'll never feel sick. We spent enough and more time watching the dolphins playing around our feet, up and close. Not to mention the bird life around. Absolutely amazing.
Due to time constraints we couldn't swim with the dolphins. Thats our first priority, next time we visit KI. We have been on the Port River dolphin cruise at Adelaide. Nothing compared to the experience with Andrew. Highly recommended. Plan for at least half a day whére you can swim with the dolphins. It is an experience that will be cherished for ever. We have at least watched our video recordings from the trip a twenty times in the past 2 weeks.Will definitely recommend to our friends!!
Well done Andrew!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrew n n, Owner at Kangaroo Island Marine Adventures, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
hey guys thanks very much for the review , you know we have allways relied on word of mouth for a lot of our advertising , and through trip adviser is a great way to say it as it is , being born and bread on kangaroo island i think gives me the advantage of being able to deliver a great value for money half day experience with the dolphins that you wont get anywhere else , we take the time to understand there behaviour and observe there daily habits from a distance allowing them to come to us to say hello and investigate (this takes time) and this is where we can guarantee our dolphin experience , we have been doing these tours now for 10 yrs , and our record for dolphin experiences is second to none . the dolphins love us and we love doing it . customer saftey and satisfaction is priority number 1 , and thats where the word of mouth comes in . we have been told several times , this is the best dolphin experience in australia , thats fantastic , thanks again guys hope to see you again on your next visit to kangaroo island , cheers Andrew Neighbour ( skipper , island explorer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best tourist cruise. Great ride and plenty of dolphins....heaps good.. ��”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Andrew that was excellent, thanks will tell all friends coming to KI to book a tour with you. Thanks heaps had a great time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Day with Andrew from Kangaroo Island Marine Adventures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I went out with Andrew today for the 3 hours island explorer tour, we had a great day for the second time, it was the same as last year, plenty of Dolphins to swim with, close up to the boat, even if you dont want to swim its a great adventure, highly recommended for all age groups. This is completely natural, there is no food offered to the Dolphins, they come to the boat to investigate of their own free will, it is a truly amazing experience.
Thanks again Andrew we will be back.
Regards
Wayne and Sue

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Island, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the most amazing experiences on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I thought that the dolphin swim would be good, but I wasn't prepared for how amazing the experience actually was. Andrew's knowledge of the dolphins and the island really add to the tour. We were able to snorkel with around 30 dolphins. They came up and checked us out and surrounded us. We never felt rushed and were able to really soak up the amazing feeling that you get when you are so close to wild animals. Highly recommend that you do this. I have been a scuba diver for years and have seen some amazing things, but nothing compares to this!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dolphin experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

If you make it to KI try and do the swim with dolphins. Its very accessible - you don't have to travel far to see a pod and the boat is much more comfortable than it first appears! We were in a small friendly group of just five and that was perfect - very individual, Andrew consulted us about the program and was able to tailor the tour to what we all preferred.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangaroo Island Marine Adventures also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Marine Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kangaroo Island Marine Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.