We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and top quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Ozone

Aurora Ozone
The Foreshore, Kingscote, SA 5223, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Kingscote
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: It's the restaurant of the aurora ozone hotel but you can eat there even if you are not staying at the hotel.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and top quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here as a family of 4. Very pleasant surroundings, good value for money for a family and excellent quality food. Would definately return to this establishment.

Visited September 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    80
    53
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“beware of the "tour group" menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at the hotel as part of a small tour group and ate at the restuarant for 2 nights with a "set" menu of 3 courses. First night the meals were so huge and unhealthy that our leader asked for a revamp of the meals for the following night and they were much better. However it is a very noisy place with all the glass windows and very little soft furnishings to absorb the sound. You can't see the lovely water views at night as it's just black sea outside, however at breakfast the view is great. Breakfast was very ordinary and the poached eggs floating in a sea of warm water was a particularly bad look.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

from the outside this looked a little jaded but step inside and you enter another world. Our room was spacious and clean the staff welcoming and helpful. The food was better than expected I had a very tasty kangaroo steak , and the breakfast was well worth the money. overall a brilliant stay

Visited August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barossa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have eaten at the Ozone Hotel in Kingscote a few times and is not getting better.
Prices are quite high and service is not the best. Meals weren't very good for the prices, ingredients weren't very fresh. Picnic fish and chips comes wrapped in paper which is neat but couldn't eat the meal, just wasn't that nice. Service staff can be a bit indifferent. Paid $100 for 2 drinks 2 mains and 2 desserts but none of it was real good. Don't think we'll go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great view good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were lucky we didn't reserve but got an ocean view table, it was rather busy that evening. We ordered oysters as an entree because we had excellent oysters before in the island. Quite disappointing the oysters were not fresh, we told the waiter. He apologised and took it back to the kitchen. He came back apologised again and said he will take it off the bill. The rest of the food were good, we had pork ribs, pasta, risotto and fish.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aurora Ozone also viewed

 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Aurora Ozone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Ozone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.