We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and chips, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods

Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods
26 Telegraph Rd Kingscote | In the Caltex Fuel Building, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
+61 8 8553 0177
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Street Parking
Description: WHETHER YOU REQUIRE RETAIL, WHOLESALE WE HAVE A LARGE RANGE OF LOCAL SEAFOOD FROM THE PRISINE WATERS AROUND K.I. A FILLETING SERVICE AVAILABLE.WINNER OF THE S.A SEAFOOD EXCELLENCE AWARD IN 2009
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I came here on my first night and ate the food there. I ordered the whiting and chips plus a Chico Roll that I hadn't had in years. The food was all excellent, classic Aussie seafood, and the staff wonderful, all friendly and willing to guide me where I needed to go after. Places like this are a rarity in the mainland, and this place exemplifies Australian food and service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    100
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Watching the meals come put which looked nice I was looking forward to my takeaway fish pack. How disappointing. One measly piece of fish, the smallest handful of chips plus small salad. Definitely NOT value for money. Very below average feed.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tina k, Owner at Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I am so sorry that you did not get what i expect to be in our packs, i have spoken to my staff on several occaisions about the quantity they put in the packs and again i need to address this issue. please accept my appoligies and if ever you are in kingscote again please ask for me and i will see to it that you get your next meal free of charge regards Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timboon, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Helpful staff, very quick and efficient service. Fish was so fresh and most was caught or farmed in South Australian waters

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enmore, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unconvinced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

OK but not stellar. Standard level fish and chips. More take away salad options would have been good. However, we did not find a lot of choice in Kingscote.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tina k, Owner at Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I am sorry you were unconvinced as we are very commited to our service and our product, we do only have set salads, on display but we do a garden salad to order. I appolagise if you were not informed of that. kindest regards Tina and thankyou for taking the time to give us your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
167 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great variety, you can buy a food pack from the menu or make up your own from the single serve items. The packs are generously sized, my daughter and I shared a calamari pack and had more than enough to eat. We opted for take a way and crossed the road to the little park and ate at a shaded picnic table (or we could have gone down to the beach). The shop is part of the service station, there is plenty of parking and you can also buy a variety of fresh, uncooked fish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods also viewed

Willoughby, Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kangaroo Island Fresh Seafoods, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.