We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exceptional Kangaroo Island

Exceptional Kangaroo Island
1139 Playford Highway | Cygnet River Via, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
0885539119
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 13 attractions in Kingscote
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Exceptional Kangaroo Island is a family-owned eco-friendly tour company for Kangaroo Island off of the coast of South Australia. Highly recommend.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW via mobile

We booked the two day, overnight tour to Kangaroo Island and had an absolutely brilliant time!
Right through from the booking process to the tour itself, we found the team to be professional and friendly. Our tour guide Jamie was excellent - we loved the stories he told while driving along!

Within 30 minutes of being picked up from the airport, we saw a koala - a highlight for me as I have always wanted to see one in the wild! And from then on we saw lots of wallabies (we counted over 60 on one road alone) and kangaroos. Seal bay was absolutely brilliant - we felt very privileged to see baby seals in the wild.

The quality of the food provided at lunch and during the tea breaks was brilliant. A lot of effort was clearly made to make everything feel really special. Dinner was also provided for our overnight stay at a small restaurant called Bella - delicious. We stayed at the Kangaroo Island Bayside Inn and couldn't fault it.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Exceptional Kangaroo Island to our friends and family. We were really sad to leave after such an amazing weekend!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great nature tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a terrific 2 day tour of Kangaroo Island where you see animals in the true natural state. Tim Williams does a terrific job of finding spots and his lunches are to die for.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscote - Kangaroo Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I know Craig from long time now and I'm a tour guide/tour operator on KI too.
I know personally most of his guides and I can see them every day touring with their passengers.
I must say that they are always very professional !
Good solid company and well done!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Ron and Jamie welcomed us to Kangaroo Island at the airport and took us straight to see koalas in the eucalyptus trees. A wonderful start to our time on Kangaroo Island which turned out to be perfect in every way. Over the following two days we saw kangaroos (lots of them), wallabies, seals, sea lions... and very nearly an echidna. Unfortunately the echidna trundled off amongst the trees before we could say 'hello'. That's the beauty of this experience. It's not a zoo. Visitors are guests in this wildlife paradise so it's up to the animals what they do.

We enjoyed a marvellous lunch on both days (the fish barbecue was memorable) and great company throughout. We were lucky enough to have friendly travelling companions and our guides for the two days were knowledgeable, thoughtful - and fun !

Thank you Exceptional Kangaroo Island. We had a great time.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Guides, Great Sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We spent two days with Gaynor and one each with Trevor and Ron . Although the drives between sights were fairly long, the trips were so worth it every time. Seeing the sea lions in their natural environment rolling down the dunes to the water and the mothers returning from the sea after three days calling their pups was an incredible experience. The Remarkable Rocks were just that REMARKABLE! Seeing the koalas was also very special. Our guides were outstanding in both their knowledge and their spirit of fun and enthusiasm. Our lunches were gourmet from beginning to end, and my husband's gluten and dairy free needs were met with wonderful treats that did not leave him out, but had others in the group reaching for his goodies. The finger bowl was a nice touch!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exceptional Kangaroo Island also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Exceptional Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exceptional Kangaroo Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Exceptional Kangaroo Island to your Saves list