We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great morning.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exceptional Kangaroo Island

Exceptional Kangaroo Island
1139 Playford Highway | Cygnet River Via, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
0885539119
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exceptional Kangaroo Island is a family-owned eco-friendly tour company for Kangaroo Island off of the coast of South Australia. Highly recommend.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
408 helpful votes 408 helpful votes
“Really great morning.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our morning with Gaynor really was a highlight of our trip to Australia. We are not ‘tour’ people but understood the only way we could see the main attractions was with a guide. We were moved between all the main sights of the island with minimal hassle and early enough in the day to avoid any large groups giving us a fantastic and personal experience. Not only was Gaynor encyclopaedic in her knowledge of the flora, fauna and geology of the area but having spent so long on the island as a farmer and teacher she had a host of stories that just brought Kangaroo Island to life for us giving insight into a warm and supportive community that is rare in this day and age. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    8
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional it was”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Both the island and this tour were outstanding! We saw an incredible range of wildlife and scenery. We stopped off for an wonderful lunch in the wild. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. There is no way we could have experienced Kangaroo Island like this on our own.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Fur seal colony & Remarkable Rocks...Amazing organised tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We had Rob, who was a great guide, full of local information and he answered all the questions happily and comprehensively, he had great anecdotes and the vehicle was both spacious & air conditioned. The fur seal colony tour together with The Remarkable rocks was a fantastic all morning tour.. The surf hitting the coast line is magnificent... The rock formations are truly magnificent!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pristine wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our short day trip to kangaroo Island exceeded all our expectations. Our guide Rob was amazing, friendly very knowledgeable. We saw kangaroo's, wallabies, sea lions, goannas, and of course koala's all in the wild. We visited seveal bay and ocen location getting a real feel of the island. The highlight of our day was our lunch on a private bush farm prepared by Rob of local King Georg whiting fish. This tour company is not to be missed on Kangaroo Island

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience on Kangaroo Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our visit to Kangaroo Island was absolutely the highlight of our trip to Australia this January. Our tour guide, Scott, was a knowledgeable and exceedingly friendly young man who went out of his way to accommodate us on our two day tour of Kangaroo Island. Scott took us all over the island where we saw all the Australian wildlife and scenery we were hoping to see. The lunch breaks under a canopy in the bush were gourmet events. Our stay at Stranraer Homestead was another highlight. Our hosts, Lynn and Graham Kent, were lovely and when we woke up on our second day there, there was a koala mama and her joey in the tree outside our window. Who could ask for more. Highly recommend. Marion and Bill V.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exceptional Kangaroo Island also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Exceptional Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exceptional Kangaroo Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.