We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional it was” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exceptional Kangaroo Island

Exceptional Kangaroo Island
1139 Playford Highway | Cygnet River Via, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
0885539119
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Kingscote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exceptional Kangaroo Island is a family-owned eco-friendly tour company for Kangaroo Island off of the coast of South Australia. Highly recommend.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional it was”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Both the island and this tour were outstanding! We saw an incredible range of wildlife and scenery. We stopped off for an wonderful lunch in the wild. The guides were friendly and knowledgeable. There is no way we could have experienced Kangaroo Island like this on our own.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    9
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fur seal colony & Remarkable Rocks...Amazing organised tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We had Rob, who was a great guide, full of local information and he answered all the questions happily and comprehensively, he had great anecdotes and the vehicle was both spacious & air conditioned. The fur seal colony tour together with The Remarkable rocks was a fantastic all morning tour.. The surf hitting the coast line is magnificent... The rock formations are truly magnificent!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pristine wilderness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our short day trip to kangaroo Island exceeded all our expectations. Our guide Rob was amazing, friendly very knowledgeable. We saw kangaroo's, wallabies, sea lions, goannas, and of course koala's all in the wild. We visited seveal bay and ocen location getting a real feel of the island. The highlight of our day was our lunch on a private bush farm prepared by Rob of local King Georg whiting fish. This tour company is not to be missed on Kangaroo Island

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County NY
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience on Kangaroo Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our visit to Kangaroo Island was absolutely the highlight of our trip to Australia this January. Our tour guide, Scott, was a knowledgeable and exceedingly friendly young man who went out of his way to accommodate us on our two day tour of Kangaroo Island. Scott took us all over the island where we saw all the Australian wildlife and scenery we were hoping to see. The lunch breaks under a canopy in the bush were gourmet events. Our stay at Stranraer Homestead was another highlight. Our hosts, Lynn and Graham Kent, were lovely and when we woke up on our second day there, there was a koala mama and her joey in the tree outside our window. Who could ask for more. Highly recommend. Marion and Bill V.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional Kangaroo Lives up to its name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We don't often take organized tours but we'd heard that a tour was the only way to see Kangaroo Island, and I am so glad that we found Exceptional Kangaroo. Even if you drive around on your own, you'll overlook many of the backroads, parks and hideaways that are known to locals. Our guide, Kate, was so much fun to be with; our kids adored her and she showed us koalas, kangaroos, wallabys, and extraordinary birds - all in their natural habitats. We lunched in the bush, saw male kangaroos boxing over a nearby female, and watched a mother koala feed her baby -- and all of that was just in the first afternoon of two wonderful days. We also learned so much about life in this region of Sourthern Australia. This was the one experience of our glorious vacation that I know we will all remember forever.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exceptional Kangaroo Island also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kingscote, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Exceptional Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exceptional Kangaroo Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.