We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tours ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exceptional Kangaroo Island

Exceptional Kangaroo Island
1139 Playford Highway | Cygnet River Via, Kingscote, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
0885539119
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Kingscote
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exceptional Kangaroo Island is a family-owned eco-friendly tour company for Kangaroo Island off of the coast of South Australia. Highly recommend.
minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best tours ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

You may think you can cover this small island by yourself in a rental car, but you will never see all the thinks our exceptional tour guide pointed out to us. You can even miss a koala in a tree if you don't know what you are looking for. They are well work the price. The roads are not marked clearly and if you are not really alert, I can see getting lost or never finding what you are looking for. The guides know the best places to see wildlife, which trails to go on and where there are clean bathrooms! They also cook up an amazing lunch. We did two different tours, on different days. The best was Island life (Jamie was great!), although Flinders Chase was fun as well. You will not have a choice a guides, but I think all their staff must be good. There were only 6 of us on Flinder Chase and only my husband and I on the Island Life tour. We were given so much information I don't see how anyone could glean this on their own. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to get the most out of their time on Kangaroo Island

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Tour that lives up to its name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have recently finished a 2 day tour and had a wonderful time. On arrival at the airport we were met by our 2 guides, brothers Rob and Scott. Our group was 11 in total which was fine. We do not like large tours but we were lucky and had a good group. Our guides had both grown up on the Island and. Obviously had a real love of it which they communicated very well. Being one of the few places you can see Koalas in the wild we were keen to see them and the tour did not disappoint. Yes some roads are bumpy but it is a price worth paying to keep the island unspoilt. We visited all the spots mentioned in other reviews and had great encounters with wildlife. On the 2nd day Scott had a day off and Ron Cameron as the other guide. He was also very knowledgeable. About the island and its history and we had a excellent tour. We stayed at Stranraer Homestead and would definitely recommend it. I should also mention the excellent food and wines served on the tour - probably some of the best tour food we have had.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“1 day Flinders Chase Experience tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The tour picked us up from where we were staying in American River and went via the airport to pick up another couple. Flinders Chase, now a National Park, is coastal mallee country The tour went first to Remarkable Rocks, which is a group of granite boulders, set on smooth granite and carved into sculptures by thousands of years of wind, rain and sea spray. We then went to Lucy's Cottage where we had morning tea (or coffee) plus Lamingtons and cake.

From there we went to the Flinders Chase Visitor Centre for a loo stop and to see their interpretive displays, which explain about the flora and fauna of the Island. Our next stop was Cape du Couedic to see the lighthouse and Admirals Arch. The sea was very rough
and it was raining intermittently but no matter. The lighthouse is truly incredible, as it was built before there were any roads in the area; so the supply boats anchored in Weirs Cove, 1.5 km away and a flying fox was set up to land the building materials; from there, they were carried along a path to the lighthouse site. Admirals Arch is a large natural arch in the rock, worn away by the relentless action of the sea. There, we saw a large number of New Zealand fur seals including a lot of seal cubs. We. went back to the Visitors Centre for a late lunch as it was very windy and no outside picnic was possible. Finally we went to Vivonne Bay, once voted the best beach in Australia, before returning to our hotels.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable two days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Small group tour in a purpose built air conditioned vehicle which dealt with the uneven road surfaces in a certain amount of comfort. With a smaller number you were able to get to know your fellow travellers well, although a number of us went to different places for our overnight stop. We stayed in a lovely B&B in Brownlow a few kilometres out of Kingscote, and were well looked after, with a lovely dinner and breakfast, and the opportunity to walk along the deserted beach before our second day's adventure began.

Over the two days we covered the length and breadth of the island, and with the expert knowledge of our local guides got a good understanding of the history of the island, its flora and fauna, and were able to see animals particularly fairly close to.

Tea breaks each morning with home produced local cakes and biscuits, followed by wonderful lunches, with plenty to eat and drink - one day a picnic, the other a barbecue both in lovely surroundings.

This wasn't quite what we were expecting, and perhaps should not have been billed as the Australian Galapagos, as the experience was very different. Nevertheless a most enjoyable two days, and for us the highlight was probably the echidna, who we saw at very close quarters, just going about his business, totally unaware that we were watching him. We did not see one anywhere else whilst in Australia.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Day Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I spent three days on KI in June and took three tours. The "two" day tours covered the island's key attractions, like Seal Bay, Remarkable Rocks, the Fur Seal Area, Stokes Bay, and Flinders Chase. Both of our guides, Rob and Mary were excellent. We had morning Tea and a gourmet lunch each day prepared buy our guides.

We also took a nocturnal tour to see the Fairy Penguins. Our guide Scott took us to a colony of Fairy Penguins at night to view them leave the ocean to return to their nests to feed their young.
All tours were on time and their vehicles were in great shape. I highly recommend Exceptional Kangaroo Island Tours.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exceptional Kangaroo Island also viewed

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 
Kangaroo Island, South Australia
 

Been to Exceptional Kangaroo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exceptional Kangaroo Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.