We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clare Valley Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clare Valley Motel to your Saves list
Clare Valley Motel
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   74a Main North Road, Clare, South Australia 5453, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Clare B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights at the Clare Valley Motel. The rooms have been refurbished to a excellent standard - they were spacious and very clean. On arrival and throughout our stay Lee and Jan made us feel very much at home. The swimming pool area with B.B.Q. is excellent and once again well catered for e.g. plenty of table, chairs and umbrellas and even a large wicker basket full of towels for the guests. A very worthy 2012 and 2013 Silver Medallist of the S.A. Tourism Awards. We would certainly recommend,if going to Clare, stay at the Clare Valley Motel..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    90
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
159
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stranded in Clare on Christmas day after running out of fuel and food. Our hosts Jan and Lee saved our lives by providing us with two delicious steaks which we could cook ourselves on the BBQ close two the pool. Thanks again for being so helpful. We appreciated it very much. The rooms are very well equipped and modernly furnished. The motel itself is located on a hill not to close to the main road which made our stay quiet and comfortable. We would definitely check in again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have always dreamt of finding a hotel that was perfect; i.e. was beautifully presented, nice appearance and a pleasure to behold. And with exceedingly comfortable accommodation. Also with friendly and efficient staff who made one feel 'at home'.
THE CLARE VALLEY HOTEL IS IT! A dream come true, this hotel stands as the model for all other motels to emulate.
Ivor and Pauline Elliott. Hallett Cove. SA.

Room Tip: Just ask and you will get what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

pleasantly surprised by motel. the queen room was nicely decorated, bed very comfortable even biscuits to have with your tea or coffee. bathroom had extra towels in cupboard and also a hair dryer. price was very reasonable...$115 for the night. had breakfast in the dining room, very nice. much better than sitting in the room. hosts were very welcoming and obliging. setting of motel is lovely, far back from the road so there is no road noise at all. BBQ and pool for guests to use, also small outdoor settings in front of each room. would stay there again!

Room Tip: queen room good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsham
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here for three days whilst exploring the immediate region.
We received a warm welcome and the rooms were excellently appointed with comfortable beds and modern decor(including fresh flowers).
The Motel is set back on the hill and is very quiet with little road noise.
The grounds include pleasant seating areas as well as a swimming pool and BBQ area.
I would recommend this Motel to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: The only criticism is that wifi is provided by an external provider and therefore chargeable. If th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Basic room with flat screen TV, table and chairs, comfortable bed, spacious room and bathroom although no bath, close to town, wineries and restaurants. Parking out the front of the room. Set back from main road so no traffic noise.



Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

what a treat ,fresh flowers in our room, not fancy but very clean . Hosts most helpful, loved the restaurant. Sad we could only stay 1 night but had flights to catch. The personal touches make the difference!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clare Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare Valley Motel

Address: 74a Main North Road, Clare, South Australia 5453, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Clare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clare Valley Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So much more than just a motel. King rooms with full size 2 person spa, Queen, Twin & Family rooms. Cosy restaurant with open log fire during winter. Breezes Poolside dining for those balmy summer evenings. Sparkling Saltwater Pool and Guest Barbecue. Private scenic walking trail, set on 27 peaceful acres. Guest Lounge and Guest Computer. Close to the Riesling Trail, 15 minutes from historic Mintaro & the fascinating Martindale Hall. Just a 1 ½ hour drive to Adelaide or the Flinders Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clare Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare Valley Hotel Clare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clare Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.