We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So refreshing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clare Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clare Country Club to your Saves list
Clare Country Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   White Hut Road, Clare, South Australia 5453, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adealdie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“So refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

On arrival, the staff set the tone, pleasant, attentive and helpful.
The room was excellent, bed and pillows top quality.
It was so relaxing to sit and look out over the lake.
A totally enjoyable break with a fantastic selection for breakfast.
A place we would happily revisit regularly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    103
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
31
98
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Have just spent a couple of nights here. I agree with many of the comments about evening dining at the Country Club. Waiting staff were attentive and although our main waitress had not worked there for long she did her best to advise on meal and wine options. Most appreciated. Meals were as described, well presented and well received!
Our room was a little tired, particularly in the bathroom. There had perhaps been a water problem and damage was evident and considerable in the doorway. The bathroom cabinet was a little too grotty to use. Towels and bathrobe were of good quality.
However, the bed and bedding made for a good night's sleep. Free with-fi was appreciated if a little convoluted to access. A new password is needed each day.
The pool looked a bit smaller than it looked on the website. As it was raining for most of our time we didn't use it.
The complex is well located. Just out of Clare but easily walked. We used the Riesling Trail to avoid roads.
We didn't have breakfast there. Plenty of options in town.
A pleasant time overall.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course would have been better than next to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Pleasant surroundings, staff very helpful, the room was excellent and had a full sized spa bath. Close to Clare town centre, just a short walk, local park and lake. Has a great pool and gym inclusive. If you are looking for a quiet weekend away, this is just the place.

Room Tip: pick one with lake view, preferably not under main building roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Sunday night for our first trip to Clare. It was like an oasis! Pillows and towels were lovely and soft.
Our only complaint was the sun shining strait in everyone's eyes in the restaurant.
It lasted less than an hour, but it was like musical chairs, everyone moving to keep the sun out of their eyes.
There are some very good blinds which stop glare without spoiling the view which would alleviate this.

Our steaks were cooked as ordered and the staff were all very helpful!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great room - very spacious and well appointed with a small balcony. Great spot to sit and absorb the view with a local chardonnay. Service was very good and the meal was very good. Lots of wines to choose from all reasonably priced. Had opportunity to play on the adjoining golf course which was challenging but the greens in very poor condition. Otherwise had a great time and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Country Club previously & thats why we took up the offer of a week day price rwhich we had been called upon at home months before. Since our last time we have noticed the Main buiding needs an update especially the room (2) a Spa Room the Bathroom needs to be Updated, as a Elderly person climing into the spa to have a shower is fotr with danger, basin is cracked & the doors underneath locked?? so giving no room for bath room items.Staff in general are friendly BUT in Conners Restaurant the night we had dinner there was a tour group of 40+ but only 3 staff to service us, even the reception guy came to help.....4 stars to those 3 people serving that night. The food we had was excellent even though it some took time. Hotel reception should tell people that they will have to climb into the spa & if unable given a room the can excess the shower.
The grounds to the stairs to restaurant for the 3 days there the broken branch was still sitting there when we left on the lawn that needed cutting & the weeds in the rose garden needed removing.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer buildings till they fix old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stayed at this Country Club on numerous occasions both for pleasure and business. Ideal for conducting business seminars or just lazing around and enjoying golf at the adjacent Clare Golf Course.
Great service - you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clare Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare Country Club

Address: White Hut Road, Clare, South Australia 5453, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clare Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Clare Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clare Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.