We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clare overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clare Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clare Country Club to your Saves list
Clare Country Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   White Hut Road, Clare, South Australia 5453, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clare
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clare overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent one night at the country club while visiting a Clare restaurant for a Christmas function. Booked a unit with two rooms. Being one of the newest rooms, it was very comfortable and spacious although a fair way from reception. The rooms was clean and included a small area with a BBQ.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake's edge close to reception. There are three or four units right on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    120
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
41
121
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

this is a difficult place to review, primarily because there's such a variance in the rooms on offer. it's in a nice location, a short drive out of the centre of town. it's very very quiet at night, unless you happen to stay in any of the rooms in the main building underneath the lounge or at the bottom of the stairs from reception.

if i based my review purely on my room, i'd rate this place "poor". my room was not worthy of any place calling itself a country club - more of a tired motel. but i do know there are better rooms on offer, and other reviews have proved that to be true.

the restaurant serves up very good food and the lounge with open fireplace is a great place to enjoy a drink. so these positives definitely lift the "poor" room out from it's depths.

so the lesson here is simple - be clear on which room you're getting. if it's in the main building where reception is, pass.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJB1969, General Manager at Clare Country Club, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review,

We are pleased you found our service, ambience, and quality of food served in Conners restaurant to be very good, and the location suitable. We take your feedback regarding some of our guest rooms on board, and we are making progress towards room upgrades in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gavin Bailey

General Manager
Clare Country Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A beautiful location with lovely views over water. The hotel is tired and needs some updating and much better lighting. More seriously though the standard of housekeeping leaves much to be desired. Specifically, dirty windows, cobwebs and dust on curtains, dirty finger marks and dust on bathroom door and old lipstick on pillow case. Would not recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
190 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We booked one of the spa double rooms.

It was exactly that a larger room with a spa bath (circa 1980) in the bathroom. The shower was designed for people under 5 feet tall - the entrance was low, so too the shower head - but that was rather minor.

If you are expecting an upmarket "Country Club" type experience then you need to adjust your expectations. This room, was more an above average sized motel room. I understand there are newer units on the property and it may well be that you should investigate one of these.

Having said all this, the room was comfortable, the bed provided us with a restful sleep. We appreciated the tea and coffee making facilities. The airconditioning/heating wasn't too loud. The staff were friendly and helpful.

If there was a 3 and a half star rating I would have given the property that rating - better than average, but not quite very good.

Overall, for what we paid (and we got a very good rate on Webjet) we thought we received fair value for the money paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights over the October long weekend and the rooms are really lovely.

Our group had a selection of studio and two-bedroom apartments overlooking the lake and we were all very impressed by the litle touches like coffee and coffee-maker int he room, deep whirlpool bath, laundry facilities, and comfortable beds.

The rest of hte Country club is really run down and seems like it's not even part of where we stayed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've stayed twice at this property.
Both times in a two-roomed family unit.
Very comfortable and clean rooms. Beds were very comfortable. Staff are very helpful and friendly. If the weather was warmer, we would have enjoyed a swim in the pool and BBQ outside. We still used the BBQ, but ate inside with the heater on!!

Clare is a great spot to your local wineries and other places of interest.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Country Club last Sunday night and it was very disappointing. The welcome we received when checking in was okay, not overly friendly. After checking in we went to our room and discovered on old crusty pizza by our door which we removed and the restaurant's chef smoking outside our room! We had dinner in the restaurant, food very ordinary and expensive. The female waitress needs a few lessons in how to deliver customer service when greeting people, she gave us the impression she was run off her feet and didn't need any more guests in the restaurant! I was expecting more from this property and suggest if you want a place where you appreciate good customer service and food quality you choose a different place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GJB1969, General Manager at Clare Country Club, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for providing your review. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We pride ourselves on providing a professional friendly & attentive level of service, and are most concerned this did not meet expectations on this occasion. Your concerns you have raised and have been brought to the attention of our entire team to ensure you recieve the best possible service and experience when next you visit.
Please feel free to contact me directly so I may address your concerns personally.

KInd regards,

Gavin Bailey.

Clare Country Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clare
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Clare Central
2.0 mi away
Clare Valley Motel
Clare Valley Motel
#1 of 3 in Clare
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chaff Mill Village
Chaff Mill Village
#3 of 7 in Clare
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Thorn Park by the vines
1.9 mi away
Riesling Trail and Clare Valley Cottages
2.6 mi away
St Helens Country Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare Country Club

Address: White Hut Road, Clare, South Australia 5453, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Clare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Clare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clare Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Clare Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clare Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.