We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a travelling couple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ceduna Motor Inn

Ceduna Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ceduna Motor Inn to your Saves list
Ceduna Motor Inn
49 McKenzie Street, Ceduna, South Australia 5690, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ceduna
Narooma, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great for a travelling couple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife & I stayed there overnight on our way to & from Perth as a result of Tripadvisor comments. Didn't look great from the outside but we found looks were deceiving. The standard room ($105) was very clean & comfy & served all our needs. They have a lovely BBQ area that we utilised to cook some food to have cold as we went on our way. What made the place special was the effort put in by hosts Ros & Gary. They have a very friendly well-stocked bar, run by Ros, and an excellent restaurant with fine food cooked well by Gary. Try the grilled KG Whiting - as good as you will find anywhere. On our return trip Gary upgraded us to a deluxe room for the same price & it was excellent. We found our stays here to be among the best of our holiday and can thoroughly recommend it to any passing traveller. Congratulations to a really committed young couple for the effort they put in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryRos7376, Manager at Ceduna Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. We had quite a hectic night last night (busiest in 5 months) and we are feeling the brunt of it this morning, however waking up to this review has lifted our moods that's for sure! We are so pleased you made the comment about the facade not quite giving the best impression, we do hope something can be done about that in the not so distant future. We must acknowledge our two dedicated cleaning staff that keep all of our rooms very well serviced at all times!! Life would be extremely hard without them.
We appreciate you taking the time to rate us and we enjoyed your company very much! Hope to see you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
20
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 1 night on a 5 day road trip Melbourne to Perth. Managers Roslyn and Gary made us most welcome. Our room was well appointed, comfortable and clean. In the restaurant Gary (also the chef) prepared and served us an excellent dinner of local calamari and whiting fish that some hatted restaurants in Melbourne could not better. I have stayed in other motels in Ceduna; this is by far the best. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryRos7376, Manager at Ceduna Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Wow! We are confident that our food is good but your comment about us being on par with renowned city Restaurants is most humbling. Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate the time you have taken to review us (so highly!) YEY!
ps: I have never tasted Calamari so tender as ours either!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evandale, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Ceduna Motor Inn for a night on our way to Perth and it was awesome. Gary and Rose were so friendly and treated us like they had known us for years. We went to the resturant and had dinner and it was beautiful and to make it even better, Karen, the waitress had great knowlede of the surrounding area and was very friendly and prompt with service. The whole room including the bathroom and toilet were immaculate. I would definately recommend it anyone passing through or visiting. They will make your time in Ceduna a holiday to really remember!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It was recommended I stay here by family and I am glad I did. Ros and Gary were fabulous hosts, very welcoming and helpful. The restuarant only stocks fresh produce and the whiting and chips was fantastic. I'm heading back there again soon and would recommend to anyone looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay with friendly staff then the Ceduna Motor Inn is your best bet in Ceduna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryRos7376, Manager at Ceduna Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We we're crossing the nullabor end stayed after the drive from Adelaide. Ros gave a welcoming smile even though it was 40 degrees, and we were glad our room had an air conditioner. Got a good night sleep, there wasn't much road noise. Rooms were clean and my family were happy. To our delight we had the freshest serves of fish and chips (flake) that we've had in ages.....which was an unexpected highlight!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryRos7376, Manager at Ceduna Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We aim to please and thank you for your kind review.
People like you make our job worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moonta SA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My Wife, Pam, & I stayed with Gary & Ros for four nights on a weekend recently with five of my relations. We had three rooms between us & they were very clean and the service five star !!!
The service in the restaurant at night or morning was absolutely faultless.
Hospitality from Gary & Ros & Daughter was exceptional,---- we will stay here next time in Ceduna.
All the best for your endevours,
Ron Shipard, Moonta

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryRos7376, Manager at Ceduna Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We do always try to do our best to make all our customers feel welcome and at home!! Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked a room at Ceduna Motor Inn to arrive late after travelling over 15 hours accross the Nullarbor. On arrival, the key to our room did not work. It was cold and we were tired after a long drive. We called through to the reception who were EXTREMELY rude and acted as though we were a burden to them. We did not receive an apology for our troubles or even any kindness for having to wait for almost 45 minutes for the manager (who was also rude) to arrive. On principal I would never stay here again. They could have easily remedied the problem by offering us an apology but instead they were down right rude.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryRos7376, Manager at Ceduna Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We are most disappointed that you believe your service here was quote "terrible".

We are looking back over our records to find your name in our reservations to recall who you are and how we may of displeased you.....we cannot find a booking in your name.... We go out of our way to see that our guests are welcomed and comfortable when they arrive at our motel so please contact us to explain where you believe we went wrong.

This is a shame :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ceduna Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceduna Motor Inn

Address: 49 McKenzie Street, Ceduna, South Australia 5690, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Ceduna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ceduna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ceduna Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ceduna Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.