We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am not sure what they are famous for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Famous Pie Shop - CLOSED

Warwick Famous Pie Shop
corner Guy & Wood St, Warwick, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“I am not sure what they are famous for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

I was curious to taste a pie from this "famous" pie shop. The service was good and friendly but the pie was extremely ordinary. I think this is false advertising. The owners need to get out of Warwick and compare their pies to other good pies around the country. I also tried an M&M cookie and it was tasteless.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“World's worst pies”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

While passing through Warwick yesterday, we decided to stop in and have a pie for lunch. NEVER AGAIN will I ever stop at this place as I have never before eaten a pie so bad. I asked for a Curry pie and was given a Garden Pea pie with a tiny piece of chewy meat in the middle and a hint of curry. After the first bite I suddenly realised that all my food nightmares had just been served up to me on a plate - luke warm, no distinguishable flavour, dry, tough and guaranteed to produce volcanic eruptions on your next visit to the toilet......and believe me, hour later I was not disappointed.

The picture shown is a complete fabrication..this pie shop is an old KFC outlet converted into a pie shop with tables strewn with dirty plates and waste food from previous unsuspecting customers. Seating was reminiscent of a Pizza Hut, cold, uncomfortable and hard.

There were very few pies to choose from in their display oven and the only server behind the counter was a young girl completely out her depth in customer service who could not even add the cost of two pies at $5.50, she had to use the cash register to add up 2 x $ 5.50.

Like I said .....NEVER AGAIN

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Turn back go to another pie shop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was by far the worst pie I have ever eaten in my life. dry, horrible, tastless thing. I don't eat pies often but this was one big regret. luck warm. They had nearly sold out - can't possibly be to repeat business. The place was full of dirty plates and dirty tables, only 2 staff who just couldn't cope. Sad- couldn't wait to get out of here. Had to eat a cracker to get the dray taste out of my mouth. never again ever!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Pies, good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Never sat inside to eat only take away, but pies and bread good and the little restaurant looks nice. The staff are friendly inside and at the drive through.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pies galore .....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stopped for a quick lunch saw the sign so popped in ...plenty of great pies to choose from ..ours were hot & hearty on a cool windy day ..Staff were most polite & helpful .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warwick Famous Pie Shop also viewed

 
Warwick, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Famous Pie Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.