We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mountain Stop over” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey of the Roses

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey of the Roses to your Saves list
Abbey of the Roses
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Locke Street, Warwick, Queensland 4370, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Warwick B&B and Inns
brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Stop over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We drove from Brisbane after work to spend an evening away from it all, and found a wonderful place to stay, full of charm, history tranquility . Thank you both for a lovely stay a lovely meal, a great break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Owner at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi PC

thank you for your positive review and staying with us.

Take care
Mark Sonia and Bazil the Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
55
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I needed to get away from the daily city grind and found our stay at Abbey of the Roses to be a wonderful experience. As lovers of historical buildings we delighted in the Abbey's imposing facade, its stained glass windows, the peaceful Chapel, the maze of rooms and hallways full of memories yet made comfortable for modern guests, We took pleasure in all the hard work, love and pride the Abbey's current custodians have lavished on her. We enjoyed Mark and Sonia's welcoming and thoughtful hospitality coupled with a hot breakfast in an dining elegant room. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. We look forward to returning to explore more of the area and revel in the old world splendor of the Abbey of the Roses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just been to a wedding here on the weekend and it was just stunning. A little slice of heaven in the middle of Warwick. The place is just beautiful, all the staff are so lovely and nothing is to much of a hassle. The owner is such a nice person and it goes to show why the whole establishment is run so well. Our room was number 9 and so stunning. Dinner for the wedding was sensational and such good portions. Wish i could attend a venue like this all the time. If you know anyone that wants a romantic, gorgeous place to have a wedding i highly recommend Abbey of the Roses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Bavarian Room for Friday night with the romance package and intimate dinner for two. We left Brisbane and arrived while it was still light. The building is very majestic and is a sight to behold. As we approached, Sonia (and Bazil) greeted us like an old friend. After some pleasantries, she took us on a quick tour of the place. The furnishings are all of the period and interesting in their own right. We then met Mark and had another chat about the history of the place and their recent efforts towards its restoration. Later we went to our room and found our champagne was on ice, and chocolates and rose petals in place. The room was a hit. We had dinner in the vestry and enjoyed it thoroughly. We retired to the room and had a quiet and pleasant night's sleep.
Breakfast in the morning was served at 8:30 and is a hearty fill. We didn't need lunch that day or the next. As we booked at the last minute, we had to stay in the Catherine Macauley room the following night. It was well appointed also. There was a function on that night but apart from some more guests for breakfast in the morning, we would not otherwise have known.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and would recommend it to anyone looking for a unique B&B experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a delightful weekend at Abbey of the Roses. We stayed in the Bavarian Room and we can totally recommend this experience to anyone, young or old. The entire Abbey is a delight. The rooms are wonderful to wander about and enjoy. The grounds are totally relaxing. The Abbey would hold its own internationally. We have travelled the world and the Abbey of the Roses experience is equal to anything we have enjoyed overseas. The Abbey is lovingly cared for by its committed and friendly owners, a couple whose approach, smiles, abundance of information and willingness to help add so much to this excellent historical showpiece. The ambience at the Abbey is perfect. We will be back to enjoy this delightful place. I think at least once a year. This is a very special experience. Go along and spoil yourself.

Room Tip: Bavarian Room is so special. But next time if we bring friends, we might explore the stunning attic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you ever want to hold the perfect wedding, do not go past the Abbey Of The Roses at Warrick. The venue has the most charming chapel, beautifully appointed rooms and a function room that is fit for a queen.
On the 10th August 2013, my daughters wedding was held at the Abbey Of The Roses in Warrick. From the time we made our first enquiry back in February to the time we booked out after the big day. The professionalism, the service, the friendliness from both the owners Sonia and Mark and their staff blow us away. Our 73 guests have done nothing but rave about the venue, the food and the service. We had 26 guests stay in house and all shared how wonderful it was.

Room Tip: Every room has a different feature. Sonia and Mark will certainly help you make the right choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We travelled to Warwick for the Jazz and Jumpers in July and opted to stay at Abbey of the Roses for a long weekend, including the Saturday night Christmas in July. We were greeted on arrival by our friendly hosts, given a quick tour and invited to enjoy a sherry or port in the sitting room. We thoroughly enjoyed the festive meals as well as the breakfast each morning. We commend Sonia and Mark on their hosting skills, their willingness to cater to the needs of their guests and the beautiful accommodation that they offer. We highly recommend this experience.

Room Tip: Check whether your room has a private bathroom. Also not all rooms have a TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warwick
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Warwick
Comfort Inn Warwick
#3 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
24.1 mi away
Spring Creek Mountain Cafe and Cottages
1.2 mi away
53 on Victoria
53 on Victoria
#1 of 12 in Warwick
5.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cherrabah Homestead Resort
Cherrabah Homestead Resort
#1 of 1 in Elbow Valley
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coachman's Inn Warwick
Coachman's Inn Warwick
#7 of 12 in Warwick
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
1.7 mi away
Country Rose Motel
Country Rose Motel
#5 of 12 in Warwick
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey of the Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey of the Roses

Address: 8 Locke Street, Warwick, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey of the Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey of the Roses bed and breakfast is a 120 year old sandstone heritage listed ex convent that is now a premier function center & guesthouse in historic Warwick. Now totally renovated all rooms are tastefully decorated and have either shared, private or ensuite bathrooms.Sit an relax on one of the verandah's or in the gardens with a cuppa after a days sightseeing. Escape to the Country as a couple or book the whole house for a Family House Gathering. Dinner's can be arranged if booked at the same time as accommodation. A stay at the Abbey will be a memory for life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Abbey of the Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey of the Roses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.