We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could be so much better than what it is - Expensive for what you get!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey of the Roses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Abbey of the Roses to your Saves list
Abbey of the Roses
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Locke Street, Warwick, Queensland 4370, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Warwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
queensland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“It could be so much better than what it is - Expensive for what you get!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The building itself is beautiful and the handcraftmanship in and outside the building a dream to admire, however for a place to stay not recommended. At a cost of $170 for a very very small room, shared bathroom and a bed the SAS would be uncomfortable in it is not worth the price. The hosts are friendly and welcoming. The place also has wedding receptions and for the purpose of photographs would be great. Realistically considering the choice in Warwick, rooms here should be about $115 max.

Room Tip: Can't comment on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Manager at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi SinkingSeabourne
wow, this review has thrown me. The worst one we have had int he 3 years we have been here. It was upsetting to read.
You are correct in saying that you can get accommodation in Warwick for $115 - think some of the motels start from around $105 and up to $150 and for that price you will get an ensuite and a bigger room than the Nuns Room that you booked . But, without trying to sound defensive, we aren't a motel and if you want the standard motel accommodation it would definately be cheaper to stay at one. Different 'styles' of accommodation and pricing are not always about the size of the room, it can also be about the whole experience.
Unfortunatly the building wasn't built as an accommodation house and 2 of the 9 rooms on the first floor do share a bathroom when we are full with weddings. The other 7 rooms have private or ensuite bathrooms. As all the rooms are different we do explain what each room has on our webpage prior to guests booking.
If you do look at staying at a B&B in the future, please don't expect a motel room, all B&B's are different and have their own special appeal.
People who stay at the Abbey are generally looking for something a little different, like the experience of staying in an 1891 historic ex convent, on 2 acres, off the main road which can't be found in many towns, added to this being a B&B we do try and give a personal touch with complimentary sherry or port in the guest lounge when you come home from dinner and a breakfast of cereal, toast, juice, tea or coffee, poached egg, bacon and tomato that should last you till lunch time.
Sorry that your bed wasn't to your liking. It is hard to get the right bed for everyone, we have firm mattresses and then have the soft toppers on them to try and give a bed that will please.
We seemed to have failed in every aspect with your stay that is very dissapointing for us as well.
Please, anyone who is looking to stay in Warwick - if you are looking for the standard motel rooms and facilities book at one of the great motels in the town. If you are looking for a getaway with a difference we would love to have you stay and experience this grand old building.
We aim to make our guests happy, not dissapointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    6
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batemans Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

On a recent road trip, we pre-booked a room at Abbey of the Roses, Warwick. This was a Catholic Convent in its previous life, and owners, Mark and Sonia have lovingly brought it to life beautifully to reflect its heritage. Many people in the hospitality industry could learn from Sonia and Mark in relation to guest hospitality, cleanliness and presentation. This is also their home, and the way they welcome guests into it can only be described as most welcoming. We chose the dinner, bed and breakfast package in Room 7, the Bavarian Room, which is first-class in roominess, cleanliness and presentation, not to mention stunning, with beautiful stained glass windows, chandeleirs, 4 poster bed and opening onto an airy verandah. We were fortunate to have our intimate dinner for 2 in what was previously the vestry, an enjoyable 3 course home-cooked meal and we really enjoyed the dessert, being chocolate fondue with strawberries, marshmallows and banana for dipping. The whole property is a credit to Sonia and Mark, and don't forget their cat, Basil. A hearty breakfast was served in the spacious dining room. We were also lucky enough to have a personal tour of the whole of the Abbey by Mark with interesting anectdotes about its previous life and his renovations. Don't forget to ask for Mark's booklet, "Abbey of the Roses - A Historic Record 1891-2012" which may be purchased for a small price. It is a most interesting read.

Room Tip: There are various types of rooms to choose from, including a self-contained apartment for family gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Manager at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Pandd1946
thank you for staying at the Abbey and your review.
It is great that you enjoyed this different experience of staying in a historic old building and you enjoyed your dinner - chocolate fondue is a bit of a blast from the past, but enjoyed as something different as well these days.
If you did the tour and bought the book you would have talked to Mark for a while and know that the passion and drive comes from him to keep this beautiful old building looking good to hopefully be visited and appreciated for generations to come.
Thanks again
Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan Central
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Welcoming and a completely relaxing treat in the Bohemian room. The special package was a surprise for my new bride and myself, the in-house dining what we expected as we are fussy little piggies! Mark and Sonia delivered a luxurious two day retreat and the puss is a welcome visitor at any time! Nice to sleep without dogs for once! We thoroughly enjoyed the antiques you have on site, and are delighted to own one as a small token of our visit. Beautiful heritage building and wonderful history. First time out at Warwick, and lovely to also eat out locally at a nearby five star restaurant. Will have to re-visit! Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Manager at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi ViennaLeary
thank you for taking the time to write your review. Fantastic that you enjoyed your selves and had a great time in Warwick. It is a lovely little town - small enough to feel like your in a country town, but big enough to get everything you need.
Regards Mark, Sonia and Puss in Boots Bazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at Abbey of the Roses last week with my boyfriend where we stayed in the Bavarian Room. When we arrived Sonia made us feel at home, and explained everything about the house and room. The room was AMAZING, we couldn't get over it. If anyone is familiar with the historical houses Ripponlea and Como in Melbourne, it was like getting the opportunity to stay over night there. We had champagne and chocolates on arrival and their friendly cat Basil really topped it off as we were missing our own fur children!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Abbey Cat at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Kimberly S
thank you for your review. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay and this magnificent building. Hope to meet your furry friend one day :)
Regards Bazil the Cat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacobs Well, QLD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Mark and Sonia thank you so much for a warm and welcomed stay. It really feels like you are stepping back into 100 years of history. All rooms are presented beautifully and clean whilst still having privacy from other guests. A yummy and filling breakfast. It was great to read and see all the history of the Abbey. I am definitely recommending friends and family to come stay or even for a day trip. We are a young couple but this place is recommended for all ages. Mark and Sonia just top it off. Such wonderful host who really make you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Manager at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi RennonO
thank you for your review. Great that you enjoyed your stay and the building, it is wonderful to hear that young and old alike can appreicate a stay at the old historic buildings and embrace the difference to staying in a motel for a change.
Regards Mark & Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

What a wonderful experience to stay at the historic Abbey of the Roses.
After a long drive I was warmly greeted and made to feel so welcome by Sonja.
The restoration of the Abbey has been done superbly and my room and bathroom were excellent.
A guided tour of the abbey was most interesting and much appreciated as was the delicious breakfast.
The Abbey is definitely one of the best accommodation venues I have stayed at and I will most definitely stay again with a group of friends as the venue is most suited to large groups as well.
Ann Zaremba

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewantin, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We discovered the Abbey by accident, when we were stranded in Warwick by recent flooding. Sonia and Mark took us in and quickly made us feel at home. What a find!!! Absolutely gorgeous buildings and surrounding, furnished to a high standard and a huge country friendly welcome. We loved the tour of the buildings and hearing about the history....port and sherry in the lounge room ...and the huge hearty country breakfast. Sonia and Marks exceptional service, enhance the wonderful setting, making this a perfect retreat. We loved it.

Room Tip: take the guided tour and hear the history of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyWR, Manager at Abbey of the Roses, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi SherynN
sorry that you were stranded in Warwick with the floods, but glad you enjoyed your stay at the Abbey and we managed to make it an positive experience.
Hope to see you back one day under different circumstances so you can relax and enjoy your stay even more.
Regards Mark & Sonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey of the Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey of the Roses

Address: 8 Locke Street, Warwick, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Warwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Warwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey of the Roses 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey of the Roses bed and breakfast is a 120 year old sandstone heritage listed ex convent that is now a premier function center & guesthouse in historic Warwick. Now totally renovated all rooms are tastefully decorated and have either shared, private or ensuite bathrooms.Sit an relax on one of the verandah's or in the gardens with a cuppa after a days sightseeing. Escape to the Country as a couple or book the whole house for a Family House Gathering. Dinner's can be arranged if booked at the same time as accommodation. A stay at the Abbey will be a memory for life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Abbey of the Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey of the Roses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.