We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been a 4, but for poor service and poor TV reception” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Blue Lagoon Resort
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   22-26 Trinity Beach Road, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Would have been a 4, but for poor service and poor TV reception”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my wife over the Xmas period. Would be a wonderful review but for 3 things. 1) tv reception was Appalling, talked to reception on the 24th dec, sent out maintence who were very good but said no one else had a problem so didn't want call anyone out. 2) the screaming children in the pool who did bombs ( despite the no diving signs) and ran across other peoples decks balconys. All under the watchful eye of their proud parents. Management are oblivious to this or find it too much to deal with. This drove my wife and I in from the pool and made the tv reception more of an issue. 3) the shower/bath. An absolute death trap. How it was a good idea I don't know. If you have any sort of mobility problems don't bother staying

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueLagoonTrinity, Manager at Blue Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear you had some issues during your stay.
Hopefully we can address these in the order you have raised them.
1. Upon being notified of the problem with the TV reception on Xmas Eve, management attended immediately. No problem was found with the new LCD TV or the signal. You agreed there was no issue. Management advised they would monitor the situation and requested that you inform us if you had any further problems – we received no further complaint from you or indeed any other guest, nor have we received any complaints since. It is worth noting, as explained to you at the time, that on occasion, the external signal received via satellite dish is subject to interruption out with customers control – this can be as a result of maintenance carried out by Foxtel in the area or weather for example. You were also notified that we would monitor the signal at the digital box location – no interruption was noted.
2. We have three beautiful swimming pools to choose from, which have the usual regulations and do not require full time supervision. Management are on site 24/7 and will attend immediately if any complaints re contravention of these rules or safety issues are notified. We received no such notification from yourself or any other guest.
3. We have a variety of apartment types with facilities to suit a range of requirements., only some of which have bath. Some guests specifically request these, for children or their own preference. Your comments of “death trap” are unfounded as the apartments are built to Australian standards, which would not have been passed if there were any safety issues. As per Body Corporate requirements, regular health and safety inspections are carried out and are fully documented. No issues regarding the baths have been raised. It may not be your preference but the resort caters for a wide market. If any guests have mobility issues or preferences, we have a number of apartments suitable with walk in showers, ground floor or lift access. If we are notified of any such requirements we ensure these guests are accommodated to suit their needs.

The management are available to ensure that guests have a wonderful holiday experience and are happy to assist in any way we can.
We hope this addresses the points you have raised and had you notified us prior to your departure, we would have been able to deal with your concerns.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    58
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
58
86
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A truly magnificent resort, professionally manage with great staff. The accommodation was spacious, fully self-contained, comfortable and clean. There is a great family orientated pool, restaurants’ on-site and hire car facility close by.
Only ten minutes from the Cains Airport and two minutes (slow walk) from a quiet but picturesque beach and great restaurants too.
Thank you for the week, we loved it.

Room Tip: Need to check if lifts are available to selected rooms, else stairs are great exercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the blue lagoon in August for our annual family holiday. The resort was spot on. Rooms were spacious, clean and had all our needs. The staff were excellent and had our tours and transfers well organized which saved a lot of bother. I would highly recommend the blue lagoon resort.

As for Trinity Beach itself, I'm not so sure. It is a nice town with some great restaurants and a good beach. So if all you want to do is sit by the pool and or on the beach plus dine out then you will probably be satisfied, however with a couple of young kids and a personal dislike of sitting still for too long (my wife would though) I found the place a bit boring and lacking action and things to do. We did a couple of tours which filled in a bit of time, but the days we were stuck in Trinity Beach dragged on a bit. Back to Port Douglas next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the resort for the eclipse and had a wonderful time. The studio room was very clean and comfortable, we had a balcony overlooking one of the pools of which there are 3 and never busy. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and booked tours for us while we were there. I highly recommend Blue Lagoon for a holiday and I know that if I ever travel back to Trinity Beach this is where I will opt to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived as part of a group planning to share a two-bedroom suite with two friends, but decided that because we had brought a week's food and supplies with us, we would be better with a room and kitchen of our own. It was 'eclipse' time and very hectic, but somehow we were found a beautiful room on the top floor with an additional cost per day which was more than reasonable. We were both a bit tired and not our usual bright selves after taking a long detour through the mountains rather than the direct route from home in Townsville. Dani was patience itself and deserved a medal when I said I wanted to shift rooms, and later we met Maureen who was also an absolute gem. We both like to cook and my husband commented on the quality of the small deLonghi cooktop and the cooking pots and utensils. The bed was comfy, the linen good quality and everything was well-maintained. Parking was easy, the pool was beautiful and only five minutes to the ocean. My only suggestion would be a few more clothes and towel hooks in the bathroom :) ! All in all it was a great stay. As we have much more exploring to do around Cairns, we will be back again. Thank you.

Room Tip: Top floor units in the high-rise (level4) overlooking the pool. May cost a little more? But great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Blue Lagoon Resort on the third floor overlooking the pool and had a great time in a relaxing environment. We found the staff friendly and helpful with plenty of ideas of things to do.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in June for a wedding. This place was awesome. Couldn't recommend it any higher. Service was brilliant esp by Dani when I first rang to enquiry. She made everything so simple. Very pleasant rooms with stunning views that overlooked a beautiful lake and the swimming pools were brilliant. A very relaxing stay with excellent cafes close by and did I mention the swimming pools!!

Thanks team blue lagoon. Will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Resort

Address: 22-26 Trinity Beach Road, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Trinity Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Blue Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Trinity Beach
Blue Lagoon Resort Trinity Beach, Cairns Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.