We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Unico Trattoria Seafood Restaurant

L'Unico Trattoria Seafood Restaurant
75 Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
07 4057 8855
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: L’Unico Trattoria started life as a small BYO in 1994. Set in an Idyllic location on the waterfront at Trinity Beach about 20km north of Cairns, the word soon spread, and L’Unico quickly became a regular dining spot for tourists and locals alike.In 1997, after three years at Trinity Beach we moved just 400 metres further along the beachfront to take advantage of even better ocean views and new, larger premises complete with wood-fired pizza oven and cocktail bar.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had dinner here while staying at Trinity Beach, it was so yummy the first night we ended up coming for the three nights of our stay. This was not fine dining, nor was anything particularly outstanding, but we tried a range of dishes and they were all good quality, satisfying and without fault. The service was really efficient and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    157
    44
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good service-poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

this restaurant was recommended as good Italian food in FNQ. Nine of us went recently. The staff were very friendly and helpful so we had our table and drinks in very quickly.
Unfortunately that was the highlight of the evening. Duck shanks that tasted like KFC. thick and gluggy sauce with the pasta. overcooked fish that was not able to be eaten and bug meat in the pasta that was very obviously not fresh and probably frozen or had been cooked a day or so earlier. our waitress was very understanding and took the cost of two main courses of the bill.
Disapointing

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

L'unico is tough to categorise - you really want it be a special place, but it just falls short. And it is nothing in particular - location is great, food is good, atmosphere is fine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but just average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staff here are nice but the food is just ordinary, asked for a large glass of wine and got a standard small glass with barely two gulps for $10

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale, Australia
2 reviews
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

we had a great night out with family, the food was very fresh but the entrée size meal would have been enough, we all had mains but couldn't fit in dessert, lovely atmosphere

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Unico Trattoria Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 

Been to L'Unico Trattoria Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Unico Trattoria Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.