We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my no-fail regular restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Unico Trattoria Seafood Restaurant

L'Unico Trattoria Seafood Restaurant
75 Vasey Esplanade, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
07 4057 8855
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: L’Unico Trattoria started life as a small BYO in 1994. Set in an Idyllic location on the waterfront at Trinity Beach about 20km north of Cairns, the word soon spread, and L’Unico quickly became a regular dining spot for tourists and locals alike.In 1997, after three years at Trinity Beach we moved just 400 metres further along the beachfront to take advantage of even better ocean views and new, larger premises complete with wood-fired pizza oven and cocktail bar.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of my no-fail regular restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I first went to L'Unicos about 4 years ago when I first moved to Cairns but in the past couple of years it has become a bit of a regular haunt, especially when I have friends or family visiting as it never fails to deliver a great setting, friendly service, relaxed vibe and good sized portions of delicious food at a reasonable price (there aren't too many places that fill all these criteria).

The restaurant certainly benfits from its favourable setting right opposite the beach, right at the end of Trinity Beach Road but it's more than convenience and luck that results in it being almost full every time I have visited, that being at various times from lunch, through to mid-arvo drinks or dinner.

There's food for every taste and I've pretty much tried all the pizzas, particuarly recommend the 'agnello' and the 'verdure' is very tasty for a veggie pizza. It's possible to pop in and order these takeaway if time and/or budget don't suit a sit-down meal.

There's usually a good selection of daily specials...usually including a good fish dish which I often opt for instead of something off the a la carte menu - fresh and delicious and totally FNQ. The bugs they serve here are pretty popular and I've shared some a few times. The barramundi is a whole fish...so if you don't like it served with the head/eye/fins etc. then think before you order it - it's worth it for the taste though - a nice meaty fish.

I don't usually eat pasta in a restaurant but I have tried the penne pollo which is pesto based and not too heavy and the gnocchi formaggio is good if you have a cheese craving but if you're not super hungry then go for the entree portion as its very rich. My favourite dish at the moment is the ceasar salad with calamari - good portion, very flavoursome and the calamari lightly battered and not rubbery.

Not to be overshadowed by the food choices, the wine list is quite varied and you'll find something to go with any dish.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    156
    43
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Perfection Personified”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I reviewed this restaurant earlier this year, but i just have to mention it again. The portions are generous, price is reasonable, and the staff are very attentive. It's right on the beach which is great. We met the owner this time and he is a very friendly, unassuming, down-to-earth bloke. We would definitely recommend this place and will be back! Their soups are amazing and they can change some of their pastas to accommodate vegetarians. Always a satisfying meal. The two of us ate there 3 nights in a row and it was less than $200 including desserts and entrees. You can't go wrong eating at this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great coffee & friendly relaxed service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Loved the brushetta and pizza too! Top location by the beach and v.close to accomodation! Plenty of outdoor seating, just perfect.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Ok but over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The location is great, overlooking the coral sea and the beatifuly maintained beachfront at Trinity Beach. The actual venue is superb, fresh, right lighting, good atmosphere, and vibrant feel. My wife and I have enjoyed a drink at sundown here on a number of occasions and decided it was time to try the fare. We arrived at about six fifteen for dinner and it was busy, a lot of families enjoying dinner together. The issue was the staffing levels on the floor were inadequate, and the three wait staff were clearly only just keeping service up. We had to wait some time to be attended too and shown a table, then too long before our drink orders were taken, my beer arrived plonked on the table with no glass, with a desperate query , with was more a plea, abut our readiness to order. We weren't offered the specials and when I inquired about the marinara sauce and it's ingredients the waiter was very vague. We ordered the marinara and the angel hair pasta bugs. The bugs was acceptable, the marinara sauce was just plain passata with a bit of parsley and most disappointing of all far too much sugar. All in all a bit disappointing given the wrap on trip advisor, however the wait staff were trying their best in a situation of not their doing, they were simply under staffed for the amount of patrons and kept going with a smile. Great for an afternoon drink, but we are still in two minds about eating here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at L'Unico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Enjoyed a great lunch with a friend - grilled & crusted Atlantic Salmon - very nice! Also enjoyed dinner with family there for a birthday in July. Everyone had a great night.Very popular with locals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Unico Trattoria Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 

Been to L'Unico Trattoria Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Unico Trattoria Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.