We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad food with service to match” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lime Tree Trinity Beach

Lime Tree Trinity Beach
28 Trinity Beach Road, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 40556467
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $39
Cuisines: Australian, Pacific Rim, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“bad food with service to match”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I attended this restaurant with a large group. We had 6 adults and 7 children but had not made a booking. The staff were good enough to move some tables to accommodate us, but that is where the pleasantries end. It took forever to order drinks, and even longer to get some glasses of water for each of us. The kids meals took an eternity to arrive, which was surprising considering they were not overly busy and the simplicity of the kids meals. The main meals were expensive, yet considering the standard expected for fresh local seafood we were happy to pay. Yet when it arrived we were extremely disappointed. Three of us ordered fish which was extremely dry and overcooked. To hide this, the fish was covered in a tomato based sauce that was overpowering and did nothing to complement the dish. We bought this to the attention of the staff who replied they would inform the kitchen. But we heard nothing...not an apology or explanation. I will not be visiting again and would not recommend this establishment. I only hope they were having a bad night and that our experience is not a regular occurrence of this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    54
    17
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

All four meals for our group were beautifully prepared. Lovely ambience for this restaurant. And again, staff were very attentive and friendly. Would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Nice Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went for a birthday evening and they allowed us to BYO bottle of champagne (however they charged us $10 to open it), its was very chilled with a clam atmosphere. The service was good and the staff where friendly :) . The food was good but not perfect. I do still recommend Lime tree!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

New to Cairns my husband and I visited this restaurant on Saturday night. The food tasted was ok although it was over priced $37.50 for a main meal when the location was poor, sitting less than 10 feet from the road no atmosphere. Service was poor at best. The specials - three not available and our table was booked for 6pm.

This restaurant is obviously just wanting the holiday makers and not the locals - that's ok been once and certainly will not be going back

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns QLD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tropical Night and Culinary Delights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lime Tree Restaurant was discovered when looking for a spur of the moment outing. With a tropical rain shower making the ambiance delightful, a lovely meal was experienced. Rib eye cooked to perfection and duck for my dining partner. Lime Tree has a tasteful range of meals with evening specials. The service was polite and attentive. The cost was in the upper range. Only mains were had this evening with a wine from a carefully selected list. Open for lunch and dinner, a must to try and book ahead on a busy night. Lime Tree catered for the walk in patrons and the bar area presented a relax space to meet and catch up with friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lime Tree Trinity Beach also viewed

Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 

Been to Lime Tree Trinity Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lime Tree Trinity Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.