We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible coffee and oily food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Grill

Blue Moon Grill
Shop 6 22 - 24 Trinity Beach Rd, Trinity Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4057 8957
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Blue Moon Grill is the most awarded restaurant in Trinity Beach. It Offers a vast array of seafood, steak, Curries, Asian, Australian, Indonesian and much more. We have home made desserts and over 95 domestic and international beers
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible coffee and oily food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

After looking at a number of reviews we thought Sunday morning breakfast would be a good idea to take our visiting family. It turned out it wasn't. Firstly we got bustled on to a very small table for the four of us. After asking for strong coffee's we received milky tasteless mugs full of dullness. The food looked appetising and there was a good selection. After ordering, the meals didn't take too long to come out and looked at first glance to be well put together. However after the first bite it tasted of oil and continued to revisit for some time afterwards. Why they didn't ask if we wanted fried bread with our breakfast first we are not sure. It was disgusting. Will not be returning or recommending to anyone!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    117
    45
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Star of Trinity Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We found the Blue Moon by accident but is now a must visit every time we go to Trinity Beach, beautiful food and wonderful staff, have had amazing breakfasts and dinners ...... never been disappointed

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

had a beautiful meal sitting outside on a lovely night, the staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for us!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rightfully recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Blue Moon Grill was recommended by our host's Ian & Barb at Trinity Waters Boutique Apartments and we weren't disappointed when we had our first dining experience at Trinity Beach.
The staff were very professional, friendly and attentive and seated us promptly at our table chosen earlier in the day when booking. This was outside in the corner overlooking the Lagoon and lit by bamboo flares on a balmy night which set the mood for a very nice dining experience.
Although we only had a shared starter and a main course each the food was of a high standard
with large portions that really left no room for dessert.
After a well made coffee we settled the bill, which was very reasonable for the meal we received, and agreed we'd return when next in Trinity Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Australia
2 reviews
“a foodie at heart..........and wasnt dissappointed :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I suggested to my partner that I would like to try blue moon based on the excellent quality of food reviews. And we wern't dissappointed. The staff were relaxed and proffessional at the same time which was a refreshing change. The ambience was relaxed as well. One could be forgiven that that same relaxed attitude would then pass onto the quality of food, but that wasnt the case. Every aspect of our eating experience lived up to the reputation blue moon grill has acquired and more. The crab bruschetta was different from the norm yet absolutely delicious. The oysters in nim jam marinade were delicious, light and flavoursome at the same time. My partner had a reef and beef main, and raved how this was the best cooked steak he'd had in years. And although it was a very busy, we were not neglected in the slightest, in fact, due to being a walk in as opposed to a booking on a saturday night, the owner and staff went out of their way to make up for the 20 min wait till a table became available. And the pricing compared to other restaurants of the same food calibre was very reasonable. Overall, my partner and i were two very satisfied little food lovers, and can guarentee to visit very soon in the near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Grill also viewed

 
Trinity Beach, Cairns Region
 

Been to Blue Moon Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.