We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Mooloolaba Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coco Mooloolaba Apartments to your Saves list
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   79-83 First Avenue, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

This is a beautiful place to stay just off from the main road area. It was very modern and tastefully decorated. Nice reception staff. I found the location great as it was nice and close to town and shops. Our apartment didn't have a great view - we looked out over the school grounds and had a small peak out to apartments next door but this didn't bother us.
It was unfortunate that we went to Mooloolaba at a time when it was very cold. This was a bit disappointing and as a result, we didn't go near the complexes pool. I would definately stay here again but maybe in the warmer months. If you love shoes, Mooloolaba has some great shoe shops!

  • Liked — Beautifully appointed
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    45
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
66
81
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We chose this place as it looked modern and stylish - and it was fabulous. Our party was 2 adults and 3 kids (aged 5, 5, & 2). We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 5th floor with a lovely outlook to the water. The apartment was spacious and well set up.

The kids loved the pool. It's a deep pool (1.3 to 1.8 metres) but the width is only about 4 metres so just right for two 5 year olds who can swim enough to get across from one edge to the other. There's a handy ledge for them to sit on and jump into the water as well. Although the pool was slightly heated, for the adults the spa pool was preferable at that time of the year. Near the pool is an outdoor barbecue area which looked very smart.

The location of the apartments is one row back from the beach and very handy to the main strip of restaurants and cafes along the Esplanade. It is on the west end of the beach which is a bit rocky and not the prime sandy section of the beach (that is about 400 metres to the east). But a lovely part of the beach to explore the rocks with kids.

The staff and manager were absolutely wonderful. Assisted with everything from booking visits to Australia Zoo to good places to eat. Our car battery went flat and the manager drove home to get some leads to jump start our car for us. And he was always very friendly despite our kids running around shouting loudly whenever we were coming or going.

By the way, Australia Zoo is fantastic, very professionally presented and well worth a visit.

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

Not much that can be added to that last incredibly comprehensive review. We stayed in a one bedroom unit on 5th floor. Also got annoyed by the lift announcing its arrival round 7am on several mornings - contemplated taping over the sound vent by the lift! The apartments are beautiful and very well appointed - fantastic attention to detail in the furnishings and equipment. Slightly bizarre bathroom sinks - wide and very, very shallow - meaning you risk a tsunami every time you want to do more than splash a few drops of water over your hands. One of those things that looks good but isn't especially practical.

Great location - just a hop, skip and jump from the beach, restaurants/cafes, supermarket etc and yet far enough away that the lads in their cars at night are not toooo annoying. One small annoying thing was the jets on the spa pool can't be activated from in the pool and only seem to last a few minutes - which means hopping out to turn it on again every few minutes. Brrr. And the spa was only just warm enough.

Overall, a fantastic addition to Mooloolaba and one we would definitely check out again when returning.

  • Liked — New, and it's a great location
  • Disliked — Lift noise
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

Coco Mooloolaba is brand new apartment complex that opened in November 2007. I was initially apprehensive about the building's state as the website stated 'opening 1st November' but my email enquiries to the managers assured me that all would be complete.
And when we arrived, the worrying was for nothing. We had booked a 1 bedroom apartment with ocean views for 1 week, and were given an 8th floor (top floor) apartment, which was off to the right side and back, but with a nice view of the ocean from the balcony (and part of bedroom), in between the apartment in front and the apartment block across the road. So not a great view of the ocean, but it was visible.

The apartment was an L-shape, with the bedroom and living area both opening onto the large balcony, which was furnished with nice outdoor table setting for 4. Was lovely to eat breakfast off in the morning (listening to the birds) and got quite a bit of sun in the afternoon - good for drying off the togs and towels. There were also shutters to block off the sun if required.
The apartment itself was lovely - all new and white and modern and luxurious and very well appointed. Tiled floors, a full kitchen, air-con AND LCD tvs in both living areas and bedroom. Being a brand new complex, everything was very new (of course), very clean (spotless in fact) and all in working condition. Website photos are true to life - but layout may be different. Lots of windows (with roller blinds) so lots of natural light. Nice interior colours too.

- Kitchen - had all the standard applicances you'd need plus lots of utensils and full setting for 6 persons - lots of glassware and crockery - even both red and white wine glasses, mugs and cups etc. I think the apartments are also sold to people to live in, so it's a fully-functioned kitchen with fisher & paykel stainless steel fridge, dishwasher, oven, stovetop and microwave, pots and pans, graters, toaster, kettle etc. We generally ate breakfast in and dinner out, although definitely had all the facilities to cook dinner. Supplied with tea, coffee, sugar, salt and pepper.

- Bedroom - Carpeted, Queen bed, separate air-con, smaller LCD TV, full wardrobe and opened out to balcony. Good sized bedroom. Nice crisp white linen too. Good strong lighting from lights and bedside lamps (depends on preference though - i like lots of lighting for reading, but my partner prefers dimmers for watching TV).

- Bathroom - Shower only, but large and with good water pressure and temperature control. Bathroom amenities provided. One set of bathroom towels provided - additional towels for pool / beach were available at $1 per day or $5 per week.

- Living area - Dining table for 4, couch with ottoman, large LCD TV and lounge opens onto balcony.

- Entertainment - In-house movies were installed during our stay - we're not sure if they were included in the room rate or not, but the selection was pretty good - looked to be over 100 movies available. TV channels were standard free to air and 3 fox sports channels (great for catching the football). DVD player and CD player also provided. A bonus on the TV side (for the technically minded!) is that it had a USB port so photos / videos / media players can also be used.

- Laundry - full tub, washing machine and dryer provided. Also vacuum cleaner, brooms, brushes etc included. Apartment is serviced weekly, so was useful to have for a quick tidy up.

- Noise - probably our only (small) gripe was the noise. Apartments are right next to a primary school on one side, and it was still term time so even though we were on the 8th floor, the break and lunchtime noise still carried up quite loudly. Also the kids had a sleepover in tents on the Friday night when we were there. Although this is only a bother if you spend a lot of time indoors during the day. There was also a bit of noise from the boy racers 2 streets away at night. The other noisy part was the hallway noise - the elevators had an announcing tone, and because of the tiles, the noise reverberated. Adding to that, other guests (esp with little ones) made quite a bit of noise going from apartments to the lifts, which we could also hear. The bedroom was diagonally opposite the door so we weren't bothered by it trying to sleep though.

- Pool - Pool area comprised a smallish swimming pool and a heated spa pool, a few loungers and a large sun umbrella. Swimming pool was cold (not sure if it was supposed to be heated or not - some websites thought it was) but would be refreshing in the heat of summer. Pool was 1.3m - 1.8m so not suitable for kiddies, so they were generally in the spa pool (which would comfortably fit 2-3 people). There was also a barbecue and outdoor eating area - barbecue looked like a hotplate thing but we didn't use it so not sure.

- Carpark - underground and secured. Some carparks (eg ours) were quite tight.

- Location - one road away from beachfront, and but a 3-4 minute walk to the beach or to the supermarket (Coles) or shops / restaurants (Esplanade). Mooloolaba itself is good spot to base yourself, as it's only 30-40 minutes to most Sunshine coast attractions eg Noosa, Australia Zoo, Eumundi markets, Montville, Glasshouse mountains etc. Nearest shopping malls were Maroochydore Sunshine Plaza (about 7kms north) and Kawana Waters (about 7 kms south). Sunshine Plaza had the nearest cinema complex.

Note that this is a nice small apartment complex (compared to the other apartment blocks in Mooloolaba) with only 40-odd 1 and 2 bedroom apartments, which was nice and refreshing (especially after walking around and seeing all the other stereotypical 100-200 room buildings). Apartment block is one street away from the beach front, and there are a couple of smaller (maybe 5-storey?) buildings across the street in front, so you would need to be on level 6 or higher and probably in a 2 bedroom, to get a full view of the ocean. Higher floors are preferable.
Booking was made directly through the property's website - the managers were very responsive to my questions and were able to confirm availbility (even though other online booking websites showed none).

The Managers (Julie and David) were very friendly and helpful during our stay - they offered to book tours etc for us but we had a car, so instead they were able to advise us where to go. We also arrived earlier than check-in time, and were able to be checked-in immediately which was great.

Overall - really great apartment, very good value for money, and we'd definitely stay there again if we come back to the Sunshine Coast - and would recommend it to our friends. We had a lovely, relaxing and comfortable stay.

  • Liked — New, immaculate, luxurious, beautifully appointed
  • Disliked — Occasionally noisy
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Mooloolaba Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Mooloolaba Apartments

Address: 79-83 First Avenue, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coco Mooloolaba Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments offer opulent one and two bedroom apartments with exclusive facilities such as pool, spa and landscaped BBQ area. COCO is a luxurious holiday apartment complex in Mooloolaba. Located in the heart of Mooloolaba only 400 metres from Mooloolaba's famous beach and 100 metres to Mooloolaba's Esplanade renowned for it's cafes, restaurants and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Coco Mooloolaba Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments Hotel Mooloolaba
Coco Mooloolaba Apartments Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Mooloolaba Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.