We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raffles Mooloolaba

Save Saved
You added Raffles Mooloolaba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raffles Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   65-69 First Avenue, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Mooloolaba
Caribbean
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Winter Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Decided to spend a few days away with the family on the Sunshine Coast on our recent trip back to Australia. The complex is a block back from the beach. Stayed in one of the apartments on the 5th floor facing the ocean - good view with spa bath which the kids loved. Good size for family of 4. Very convenient to shops and beach. Clean and furniture well maintained. Only gripe is the one toilet roll per stay and minimal dishwasher detergent supplied - at $250 a night this skimping does not make sense. Could also assist by having instructions for the dishwasher and aircon handy.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hi CaribbeanDakman

Many thanks for your comments following your "winter getaway" at Raffles. I'm pleased to learn that you found your spa apartment to be clean and practical and that you benefited from our excellent locality.

It is our policy to provide two toilet rolls per bathroom, the second roll stored in the vanity unit. Following your comments I personally checked a number of vacant units to see that the cleaners were adhering to this policy and found this to be so in all of the apartments I inspected.

I trust that you enjoyed your family holiday in Mooloolaba.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    39
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
73
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

After problems with first apartment we were allocated, friendly manager did move us elsewhere. We've stayed in many apartments before, and these rate highly for their comfort and inclusions, and generous-sized balconies, however we too had major problems trying to get the air con to heat on one of Queensland's coldest nights, and also not enough blankets provided - thankfully I had a spare in my car! Was very happy to see new appliances (toaster etc) as often these simple things are old and dirty and not frequently replaced. Great location to a variety of eateries and shopping. Overall a well managed property, but not that quiet if you're after a peaceful weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with main bedroom overlooking the main street, very noisy even with all doors closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi Ziggi4214
Many thanks for posting your review and my apologies for the delay in responding.

After reading your review and working out what apartment you stayed in I personally checked out the air conditioning unit and support your comments. The unit has subsequently been serviced.

All of our two bedroom apartments have 2 x queen and 2 x single blankets stored in the wardrobes. With yours being a one bedroom apartment (the master bedroom closed off) I'm assuming that you found only the 2 single bed blankets to share amongst the three of you. My apologies for the oversight in not allowing for blankets for the sofa bed. I will keep this in mind for future occurences.

Thanks again for all of your comments and we trust that you will return sometime in the future.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you want to be central to everything, shops, cafe, beach, then this place is ideal. We had a one night stay here in a 2brm appt. They are well appointed but our air con didn't heat very well which was annoying as the night was very cold. Also in the middle of winter to only put a sheet and bedspread on a bed is certainly not enough. We found blankets in the wardrobe but as Qld can get cold night time temps in single figures i don't understand why blankets aren't already put on the beds. This is why i only gave our stay 3 stars due to our room being quite cold with an air con that barely heated on 28 degrees and no blankets on the beds. There is undercover secure parking, but you can walk to everything which is great. There is a Coles supermarket across the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hi RACCAustralia

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your experience at Raffles Mooloolaba.

Having had no previous complaints about any of our split air conditioning units not heating I can only assume that the mode had been left on 'cool' and not 'heat' by the previous guest. However, if you were to phone me and advise the particular apartment that you stayed in I will have it checked immediately.

Having enjoyed our great locality and well appointed apartment we trust that you will return when you visit Mooloolaba next.

regards
Bob
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Located right near the Esplanade so only a short walk to the numerous cafes & restaurants. Across the road from the supermarket too. Decor of the apartment was was fresh & relatively modern. Had everything we needed for a weekend away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Hi Zofar
Many thanks for your comments. I'm pleased that our excellent locality and the presentation of the apartment met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.
Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina,QLD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Friendly reception.excellent location...restaurants,cafes & beach all within a short walk. Heated pool and spa a hit with the kids. Coles right across the road and full kitchen to cook your own meals. Safe & secure.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor,with an ocean view....was Ok. Floors above would have a great view.Lift fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Hi Curlytops
Many thanks for taking the time to write a report on your experience at Raffles Mooloolaba.

Raffles has just been recognised as being, as you say, - perfect for families - by winning a Trip Advisor Travellers' Choice Award for Families for 2012.

Yes, our heated pool, running at around 28 degrees, is a magnet for guests in the winter months.

Just to clarify, your 4th floor apartment was a "deluxe apartment" with partial ocean views, not an ocean view apartment.

Thanks again for all of your feedback.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The location of Raffles is perfect, within walking distance to all the cafes, shops and restaurants on the Esplanade, as well as the beach. It was also an easy walk to Underwater World. And if we didn't want to eat out there was the supermarket across the road and a full kitchen.

It helps that Mooloolaba is a beautiful spot! Not as busy as the Gold Coast and not quite as fancy as Noosa.

If you have a car it is also close to Australia Zoo and other Sunshine Coast attractions and an easy drive to Brisbane on the highway.

The apartment was clean and tidy and we had heaps of space to stretch out and relax. It had a very spacious lounge/dining area and a massive bathroom with spa bath. It was the perfect spot to get away and we would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Hi Woody

Thanks so much for taking time to submit a report on your short stay in idyllic Mooloolaba and Raffles Resort.

I'm pleased to learn that you experienced what many past guests have also commented on - the beauty and relaxed feeling of Mooloolaba, the ideal locality of Raffles, being so close to all that Mooloolaba has to offer and our clean and functional apartments.

I'm also pleased that we, Raffles Mooloolaba, met your expectations and hope that you get another opportunity to return and enjoy a longer stay with us.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Friendly reception, location near esplanade is ideal for surfing, walks, meals and shopping.

Suggest auto garage opening system for exiting vehicles rather than key.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witnessed, Manager at Raffles Mooloolaba, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Hi Randall

Thank you for your positive comments.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards
Bob James
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raffles Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffles Mooloolaba

Address: 65-69 First Avenue, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
#3 Family Hotel in Mooloolaba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Raffles Mooloolaba 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAFFLES MOOLOOLABA,a 4 ½ star intimate Mooloolaba resort, is just a short stroll to all that idyllic Mooloolaba has to offer.Raffles Mooloolaba comprises 30 modern and inviting fully self contained spacious and comfortable one or two bedroom Sunshine Coast holiday accommodation apartments. Every holiday apartment offers a double corner spa bath ensuite to the master bedroom for that extra bit of relaxation and rejuvenation after a day of absorbing the attractions of Mooloolaba..Choose from a ground floor apartment with its own private and secure courtyard, a deluxe apartment with either garden or partial ocean views, ocean view apartment or an ocean view Penthouse apartment with its own private rooftop with BBQ and outdoor furniture setting.(list features)Relax in private on your own east to north facing balcony or enjoy our resort facilities - heated pool, spa, BBQ entertainment area, lift, free parking and tour desk.Walk across the street to the supermarket, 80m to the closest restaurant, 200m to the local bus stop, 150m to the nearest beach, 500m to the Surf Club and Underwater World, or take a 5 minute drive to the coast’s largest shopping and movie complex or a 30 minute drive to Australia Zoo.RAFFLES MOOLOOLABA is the ideal base for your Mooloolaba accommodation and Sunshine Coast adventure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Raffles Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Mooloolaba Hotel Mooloolaba
Raffles Hotel Mooloolaba
Raffles Mooloolaba Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffles Mooloolaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.