We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic position just outweighed by very tired room and really noisy air conditioner on the roof” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Zanzibar to your Saves list
Mantra Zanzibar
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   47-51 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic position just outweighed by very tired room and really noisy air conditioner on the roof”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is excellent. Superb water views and right in the middle of quality cafes. The noise from the motors on the roof was extremely loud which detracted from the pent house apartment. The maintenance on the unit was lacking with many appliances in poor condition. Beautiful views from pleasant balcony. Well equipped with crockery etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Busyannie,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was great to read that you enjoyed the location and views from the penthouse apartment. I'd be interested in hearing from you as to which apartment you stayed in, as all apartments managed by Mantra have had recent refurbishments and I'd appreciate more details on what aspects you felt were "tired".

Please also accept our apolgies for the noise from one of the extraction fans on the rooftop. One of these had a mechanical issue recently which has now been resolved.

I look forward to hearing from you, and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    51
    18
    19
    11
See reviews for
76
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Couldn't fault our two bedroom unit at the Zanzibar, great location and view. Especially liked that layout of the unit and the large balcony. Would visit again. We were there on a very busy weekend however didn't find this a problem at all. We walked everywhere and booked spa treatments at the beautician in the building.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Jane D,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us, and it's wonderful to read you had a great time and made the most of the location and views.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar the next time you are on the Sunshine Coast, and if I can assist further in any way please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked a 2 bedroom oceanview apartment, was upgraded to a 3 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor, Reception very helpful and friendly. Noisy on the friday night from either surrounding apartments or from the street would suggest a higher level if possible otherwise a nice cllean apartment, a bit dated.

Room Tip: Suggest getting a higher level apartment a bit noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear NDSydney56,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was great to read you enjoyed the location and apartment and found the staff friendly and helpful.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hi we recently stayed at the Mantra Zanzibar in Mooloolaba and had a fabulous time. I must admit that I had read the reviews and was a little apprehensive regarding the cleanliness of the apartment but my fears were unfounded the place was lovely and clean, it was a great location, the apartment was very spacious and quite. The views were wonderful and the location meant that a glass of wine could be enjoyed by all at dinner as there were plenty of restaurants located on the esplanade situated just below the Zanzibar Apartments. I would definitely recommend staying here to my family and friends and I would stay here again no problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear SLAX005,

Thanks for your review of your stay here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was excellent to read that you had a fantastic weekend away.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mantra Zanzibar when your travel plans have you returning to the Sunshine Coast.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My adult children recently booked and paid for a two night stay at Zanzibar as a birthday treat for me. We walked into the allocated two bedroom apartment shortly after 6pm, tired and hungry after a long drive, to find hair and grit on the beds, food stains on the breakfast bar seating (and on the ceiling over the kitchen counter), dirty carpets/floors and a stale smelling en suite bathroom. We picked up the phone to call the night management and discovered the phone was as grubby as the rest of the unit. While waiting for clean bedding to arrive as promised we looked around the reminder of the unit and discovered what appeared to be a spider egg sac in the hinge of the oven door, cobwebs hanging off the roof of the master bedroom and a significant layer of dust on all Venetian blinds and window ledges. After showing the issues to the night staff we were provided with a key to a 3 bedroom unit we were assured had been checked for cleanliness prior to giving us the keys. Unfortunately the second unit replicated the first in terms of cleanliness with the unwelcome addition of cockroaches beside the fridge and a selection of dubious stains on the throw on the master bed. We ultimately booked elsewhere and relocated rather than continue changing apartments at Zanzibar in the hopes of getting one we were willing to stay in. The delays and change resulted in us finally getting to local restaurant for dinner after 8.30 that night and because we ended up having to book elsewhere at such short notice, and in such unfavorable circumstances, my children ended up paying higher rates for a lesser rated and located resort.
It is appreciated that the manager at Zanzibar called my son the next morning to discuss and apologize for the experience and I am relieved that they were provided with a full refund. However it is immensely disappointing so much of my birthday evening was spent on securing accommodation, when this was expected to have been pre arranged. For this to then be followed by a hurried meal in a restaurant where the kitchen was closing due to the late arrival was far from being the treat my children had wanted me to have. Definitely not the Mantra standard I expected of this brand!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear lidsterd,

Thank you for your review of your recent experience with Mantra Zanzibar, and please accept our apologies once again that the apartments did not meet your expectations upon your arrival.

As you have mentioned we have provided a full refund through the agent you booked with, and I certainly hope this experience does not deter you from staying with the Mantra Group in the future. If I can be of any further assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked a 2night weekend getaway at Zanzibar to celebrate a special birthday and loved everything about the experience. We stayed in a 2 bedroom courtyard unit on the 2nd floor. The views at this level are not as expansive as higher floors but the private spa overlooking the beach is stunning. The apartments are classy and well-appointed with everything you need for a wonderful holiday in any weather. Zanzibar is set right in the middle of the dining and shopping precinct of Moolololaba Esplanade. The staff are friendly and helpful and parking access is easy and secure. Although we live nearby in Buderim we had great fun staying in our local area and enjoyed waking up to the glorious sunrise at the beach and gazing at the ocean views all day long. Fantastic weekend thanks Zanzibar!

Room Tip: Garden courtyard rooms on 2nd floor have a spacious terrace with private outdoor spa and barbecue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear wencal_11,

Thank you for review of your stay here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it was great to read that as locals you enjoyed a fantastic long weekend with us and enjoyed the additional features the courtyard apartment have to offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave a review, and I hope we get the chance to welcome you back next time you need a mini-holiday.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you are looking for an apartment in a great location Mantra Zanzibar at Mooloolaba has everything you need. Close to clubs, cafes, restaurants and a large variety of shops. Easy access to the beach across the road. The boardwalk is fantastic for couples with small children. Plenty of playgrounds and heaps of sand on the beach for building sandcastles. The kitchen is very well appointed with appliances to cook meals etc.

Room Tip: The second bedroom in the 2 bedroom apartment is small and only suitable for children or short peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MantraGM, General Manager at Mantra Zanzibar, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Fifi03_12,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Mantra Zanzibar, and it's great to hear from another satisfied guest!

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Mooloolaba and Mantra Zanzibar for another fantastic family holiday.

Kind Regards,

Jackson Emblin
General Manager
Mantra Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#1 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#10 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
#13 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Sirocco
Mantra Sirocco
#7 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Zanzibar

Address: 47-51 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mooloolaba
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mooloolaba
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Zanzibar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Mooloolaba Bay, Mantra Zanzibar offers beachside accommodation with a strong East African influence in the heart of cosmopolitan Mooloolaba. Offering style on the beach, the property is close to everything your heart desires including shopping, restaurants and sidewalk cafes. Indulge in the latest fashions and giftware from around the world in the surrounding boutiques. Accommodation choices include 2 and 3 bedroom apartments all with quality furnishings and African inspired decor, air-conditioning, private balcony with panoramic ocean views and an indulgent spa bath. Other standard features include a fully equipped kitchen, laundry, cable TV, DVD player, internet access and hairdryer. If you're after more space, upgrade to our courtyard apartments which feature all of the above plus a private courtyard area with barbeque and outdoor spa or for the ultimate in luxury book our two or three bedroom penthouse. You will enjoy all the resort facilities and services you need with an outdoor heated pool and spa, fully equipped gym, complimentary undercover parking, in-room internet access, tour desk, child minding and laundry service. Mooloolaba is home to many of Queensland's best attractions including UnderWater World, the Eumundi Markets and just 20 minutes drive away is the famous Australia Zoo. Located on The Esplanade we are just minutes walk from trendy sidewalk cafes, bars, restaurants and boutique stores making for a truly memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Hotel Mooloolaba
Zanzibar Apartments
Zanzibar Hotel Apartments
Mantra Zanzibar Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.