We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont believe what you read, try it for you self” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osprey Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Osprey Apartments to your Saves list
Osprey Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Corner The Esplanade & Buderim Ave, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Queensland
1 review
“Dont believe what you read, try it for you self”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

My family and I have stayed at Osprey 4 times in the last 2 years and 3 of these times we have requested unit 7 because we love it. On the last occasion we requested it but it was booked out so we looked at other options at Mooloolaba. After making a couple of enquiries at other places we opted to come back to Osprey because of its location to the beach and everything else we wanted to do, the layout - plenty of room for the whole family, cleanliness, service and friendliness of the managers Sue and Dave. We love unit 7 as it is a huge unit with an added family room which many other units do not have. The whole unit is very modern and is ideal for a family stay for a number of days. The 3 TV's are a great idea as there is always someone who wants to watch something else and the main one would be the biggest TV I have ever seen. The garden level suits us well as the grassed area at the front of the unit is something else that no other units have. Overall I have recommended Osprey to a number of friends and they too have thoroughly enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    64
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
121
55
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bowenville qld
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

We thought room 7 was great, groundfloor, easy access to the pool and bbq area. The unit was spacious, clean and had everything to offer for our family. Some of our family is disabled and they are able to use this unit, as they come up the lift from the underground carpark and virtually straight into the unit.

We are able to walk to the beach, enjoy the grass area in front of the unit. It has spacious rooms, three tvs (including a big big screen in main living area), room for the washing, a washing line. We are able to spread out as a family. It has ample airconditioning, fans for the summer and heating for the winter.

Over all we will continue to stay here and in particular unit 7.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We got very enthusiastic while reading the reviews of Osprey and booked a rather long stay (almost two weeks). We booked very well in advance and asked if we should go for an apartment high up in the building or at garden level. We were recommended a garden level apartment. We were very, very disappointed with the apartment (number 7 by the way). It is way way overdue for refurbishment and had almost no daylight that could be used (the only option was to open op to where everyone could see inside). Quite frankly - the apartment was a disaster and the so called "private" garden areas were neither gardens (on the backside there was no vegetation or furniture at all) - and the front was just along were everybody entered the building.
So, we immediately walked over to the reception to express our concerns and were quite frankly met with major question marks since “there are photos available online” (they are not taken in apartment number 7!). After putting quite some energy into it we were able to move to apartment 18 which was ok (and much better than number 7). What really annoyed me though was that both myself and my wife were given loads of reasons why we should not move (larger TV, slightly smaller..) when the new apartment was obviously much nicer. Maybe they wanted it available for potential new guests?
By the way. The “Gym” is what looks like an old garbage room in the garage (not very nice at all), the “Spa” is a Jacuzzi and there is a charge for the internet connection. Since we had already paid (and we had to pay extra to move!!) we did not try one of the places in more central Mooloolaba – otherwise we would have gotten out on the spot.
A big disappointment during an otherwise great trip to Australia.
(By the way, The restaurant “The Boat Shed” in nearby Cotton tree was great!)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey321, Manager at Osprey Apartments, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay with us. In your initial inquiry by email we said that guests with small children often preferred our ground floor apartments which is generally the case. The only reason that we pointed out the differences in the apartment you moved to was because you could not view it beforehand as it was booked and we did not want you to be disappointed when it was smaller and did not have a 50cm flat screen Tv.
Unit 7 is one of our most popular apartments and is often specifically requested by our numerous repeat guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed at Osprey for 5 nights with 2 children aged 13 and 9. We had the best equipped and one of the biggest apartments I've ever stayed in and it was spotlessly clean. Our apartment was no. 17, I mention this as each apartment is actually owned and equipped by different people, although they all have to adhere to certain standards. You can even buy little sachets of washing powder from Reception which is handy if you are travelling around and don't want to lug great boxes of it in your luggage. We had a sea view and we were on the first floor which meant the pool was only a few steps away, which never seemed to get too busy and the jacuzzi was great and open until about 9 in the evening so fun to look up at the stars. The whole place is very secure with basement parking. Good BBQ faciliites. Supermarket about 5-7 mins walk as are banks and LOADS of shops and restaurants, which close earlier than some holiday destinations - be warned you may not have time to go back and spend ages getting ready to go out in the evening, we found the eating places closed at about 8 pm!! Fab beach, big waves and patrolled during the day. Great for teenagers but not tacky.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Stayed for a week in a 3 bed unit. Had everything you need, with air con in all the bedrooms. The pool was great and wasn't too crowded considering it was the christmas week. The pool has a large shallow end which was perfect for our 2 year old. Pool towels are $5 so bring your own. There is visitor parking available, which makes it easier to park than some of the accommodation closer to the esplanade. You can access the closest beach by walking down some stairs about a 5 minute walk, though it is about a 10 minute walk to the patrolled beach. As with all Australian accommodation the internet access is overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Awesome spacious apartments that overlook the ocean... what more could you ask for!!!
Fantastic pool with a bbq area and only 5mins walk from the beaches and restaurants. Perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

My wife and I holiday in the Gold Coast twice a year and this time we went to the Sunshine Coast as well.After reading the reviews we stayed at the Osprey for 5 nights in November. Although the Apartments looks a little dated on the outside once we stepped into our room it was very modern with everything,one of the Best appointed Apartments that we have stayed in. The Apartment was really large,huge decks front and rear. Just a 5 minute walk to all the shops etc. Large pool and great outdoor area with BBQ. These are Great Apartments at very good rates.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Osprey Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osprey Apartments

Address: Corner The Esplanade & Buderim Ave, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Osprey Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a short walk from the heart of Mooloolaba is Osprey Apartments, an outstanding holiday resort. Set around landscaped gardens are select facilities for your enjoyment. Spend your downtime relaxing with a good book on a sun-lounge around the resort pool. Other facilities include a heated spa, fitness room and a BBQ entertainment area. The fully equipped one, two and three bedroom apartments present a fresh and contemporary feel with all the creature comforts of a home away from home. The open plan living, dining and kitchen area opens onto the private balcony boasting alluring views. Every apartment offers the little extras such as cable television and DVD players. Wake up to the sound of the rolling surf on the famous Mooloolaba Beach, then step outside onto your patio or balcony and watch the sun rise over the glistening waters of the Pacific Ocean. Only a 5 min drive from the Coast's largest shopping and movie centre and a quick walk to Mooloolaba Beach, Underwater World and the Wharf. Montville and the Glass House Mountains are only half an hour away. No car, no problem, Osprey is only 100m from the local bus stop. Whether you want relaxation, adventure or excitement Osprey Apartments is the ideal base for your Sunshine Coast holiday. Our friendly staff are happy to assist you with all your holiday needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Osprey Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osprey Oceanview Apartments Mooloolaba
Osprey Oceanview Apartments Hotel Mooloolaba
Osprey Apartments Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osprey Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.