We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba to your Saves list
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Brisbane Road, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save$$ + Midday Check-out
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Overpriced for the quality of rooms; lack of functional cooking equipment, cheap furniture, inadequate rubbish disposal. Staff were arrogant and rude on the rare occasion they were contactable. Upon leaving we followed all cleaning and checkout regulations the room was left in the same condition of entry. Two weeks later $175 was drawn from my account without any prior notification, for a supposed cleaning fee with nothing itemised. Upon calling the management to enquire what was wrong with the room I was met with threats to charge an extra 3-4 nights to my account. Meanwhile the manager couldn't specify exactly what was wrong with the rooms cleanliness. Assuring management that the room was impeccable upon leaving, the argument was avoided at all costs by management.
In all, would not stay there again and certainly would not recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fjohn98, General Manager at Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi Hamish, thank you for view. I guess hamish we should mention that you and your friends and others were enjoying an Austalian day weekend. Your room had the power trip as you had decided to use your oven as an icebox, the oven had to be dried out and it only when you rang I said we could have charged you also for the days it took to dry the oven out. ( 3 to 4 days ) i guess this is the funtional cooking eqipment you mention ( doesn't work after it is used as ice box. ) I only wish perhaps the Police took you all away when they came to visit you after it appeared you had pigs in your room making what noise they do from your balcony at the Police below ) I didn't avoid speaking to you but then you got your Mum to ring to give me a serve , obviosly you dont do these things at home as I dont think she believed me.!! Hamish you will not stay here again as you are on our avoidance list at all costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    94
    33
    15
    12
See reviews for
119
34
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was overall quite disappointed with the Caribbean Resort.

Rooms were very dated and tired looking. Lighting in the bathroom was terrible.

Good tv in lounge and cost for a 2 bed was ok but still a little overpriced.

Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just a few days of relaxation and time with my girls before Christmas . Clean and well presented and the staff were friendly . Girls loved the pool !!!! Great distance to just walk to the beach , the esplande and Underwater World .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

1. Incredibly rude staff threatening us with eviction and calling the police at 7pm on a Saturday night for apparently moving furniture and being loud. We were not moving furniture; we were listening to the hot 100 and playing cards.
2. Lack of information from managers when alarm was sounded for an evacuation at 8pm on a Sunday night.
3. Ants in main bedroom
4. Extremely loud pipes in the bathroom
5. No air conditioning in bedrooms
6. Ancient toaster that looked like it might spark
7. Old horrible pan

Room Tip: Avoid Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was the second occasion we had stayed at the Resort, and we were rather disappointed on this occasion.

The room was rather average with regards to cleanliness, and the overall decor of the room was very bland. The particular room we stayed in had a dinning room chair which was broken, the lounge chair were terrible - if you sat on the lounge you would be sitting on the metal frame of the bed frame of the pullout bed. Over the 4 nights we stayed, we had 4 cockroaches running around the room.

On our departure I tried to give feedback about the room, including the cockroaches, and the staff was quick to ask questions and insinuated the cockroaches must have flown into the room and conveniently the Resort was being sprayed 2 days after we were leaving.We have large family gatherings annually on the Sunshine Coast and we had previously been staying at the Resort, our next large family gathering we will be staying at another resort.

In summary, the Resort could do with an update of decor within the rooms, and the staff could be a little more interested in their guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up within the building. We were woken at 3am by people using the spa and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

excellent budget apartments just 80m from the sea, perfect location for the family, great view from the balcony of both the ocean and the hinterland. All though these apartments are of an older style they were clean and well presented with spa bath in the main bathroom, laundry and full kitchen facilities. TV's in both the lounge and master bedroom make it perfect for the family. The ability to park 2 cars per apartment makes these and excellent stop for those larger families holidaying together.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I was after somewhere quiet so I could finish writing a book. Wanted to be close to restraunts but have the choice to cook if I want to. As I was going to sit on my butt and write for a few days I wanted someting peiceful to look at out the window or from the balcony. It had t obe affordable too.

What I got was a nice room that had a water view from the balcony and a spa as a bonus. There is a nice feature pool with spa as well if you go with the family. Not sure if all rooms have a spa. The resort has a number of very nice restraunts only meters away. The beach and all the lovely cafes and shops of Mooloolaba are less than 100 meters away. The surf lifesaving club, which is also good for a meal and relaxing view of hte ocean, is about 200 meters away. Even Coles is close enough to wallk to unless you get your weekely shopping in one hit.

If I was being picky I would say that the rooms show that they weren't built recently. Nothing some maintanence wouldn't fix. In saying that, it doesn't really need it either. Especially for the price.

In summary, couldn't ask for a better place to stay and the price was excellent for what you get. I'll be back. Actually already have. This was my 2nd stay since September.

Room Tip: Let them know what you would like. They are pretty accomitable (if that's a word) if they have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#1 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#10 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cilento
Cilento
#11 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landmark Resort
Landmark Resort
#5 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba

Address: 17 Brisbane Road, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba is a 6 storey high rise complex which offers 62 fully-self contained 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Our spacious accommodation is the ideal base to immerse yourself in all the colour and excitement of this cosmopolitan beachside town. Nestled in the heart of Mooloolaba, 100m from the iconic beachfront, Caribbean Resort offers fantastic facilities, and is the perfect location for your beach getaway. With dozens of first class restaurants, alfresco cafes and boutique shops on your doorstep, you are only moments from the patrolled beach for that quick surf or a stroll to the children's playground on the foreshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba Hotel Mooloolaba
Breakfree Caribbean Hotel Mooloolaba
Breakfree Caribbean Mooloolaba
Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Resort Mooloolaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.