We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba to your Saves list
Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Parkyn Parade & River Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Mooloolaba
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A big thank you to the staff of Sandcastles on the Beach! Our stay was perfect, great service, awesome views and the added bonus of security. The room was a great place to come back to and had everything we needed while away from home. It was great only being 1 minute from the patrolled beach and only minutes walk from some of the best places for a meal. I know that we will be back for another stay.

Room Tip: We found the roof top rooms a better view and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    32
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
70
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our meeting on arrival was very warm and friendly,but was disappointed with the cleaning of the room, but this was quickly cleaned throughley by Kylie who made a great job of it. The shower was poor and very small but on the whole the apartment had everything we needed and was cleaned daily. The location is great and so handy for everything in the area,with good restaurants,bars and friendly shops, the beach is beautiful and a stones throw away from the apartments, our balcony was on the side of the surf club but we never smelt any food or had a noise problems in the mornings or night. The owners were very helpful and gave us lots of recomendations on where to visit and eat, we had a lovely holiday and would revisit the Sandcastles again.Barbara & Dennis Cambridge, New Zealand

Room Tip: We were in 207 on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshbydelaZouch
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent location for the beach, though our apartment did overlook the surf club and was unfortunately noisy very early in the morning due to contractors working on the roof. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the apartment well resourced (inc washing machine and dryer )and clean but the decor was rather dated with evidence of water penetration around the ill fitting bedroom window.
Went to the Surf Club for a meal on our first evening but couldn't recommend - the carvery meat was plentiful but the vegetables particularly disappointing as was the customer service.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and have fond memories of Mooloolaba.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed for 8 days in October in unit 308 (I think). As other reviewers have said, this does have a nice view but also overlooks the surf club car park, rubbish skips etc. If you can ignore that then the views out to the water are lovely.
When I booked several months before hand, I particularly asked for a refurbished apartment with an ocean view and was quoted for this. While not unhappy with the apartment, I really feel we could have got better value from booking on Wotif a couple of months before we went - much better prices. The apartment was certainly not 'flash" but OK although no space for suitcases to be put away so they had to stay in the corner of the bedroom. Shower was not bad but a little on the small side. Staff were friendly and the location is perfect and I'm glad we've seen what the place is like but will probably look elsewhere next time. We've been to Mooloolaba a dozen or so times and like to try different places. Many other places nicer and better value in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

As you know, my reviews are always very open and honest and I always try to end on a positive. So here goes:

Negatives:
Stayed in Room 305 on level three facing the ocean and backing on to the Surf Club (avoid this when booking) ... crikey does this room seriously need a facelift, it's currently in an "80's Time-warp"!! From the furniture, fixtures and fittings, kitchen cabinetry, taps, tiles, the carpets were stained and looked filthy. We too experienced significant noise from drunken people yelling and arguing at all hours of the night/morning, not to mention street/car noise plus the garbage trucks collecting huge bins in the wee hours of the morning. And the final negative - constant deep fried cooking smells coming from the Surf Club's extractor fans whilst trying to get fresh air on your balcony. EXTREMELY disappointing after a long drive.

Positives:
Location was fantastic 200 metres from the beach, surf club, BBQ's, picnic facilities, cafes and shops. Locked secure parking. This room had a washing machine, clothes dryer and washing basin. Fresh Seafood Market and restaurants within walking distance plus an ATM within the complex.

Bottom line ... would we stay here again ... NO. Would we recommend this property to friends, family or significant others NO. So do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Here's a tip ... stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilambil, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend trip to Mooloolaba. Stayed in Room 308 - this is relevant info as all the units are individually owned. We paid extra for an ocean view - which we had but this was viewed over the back car park of the SLSC, thus plenty of noise, cars & garbage collections at an ungodly hour. The unit we were in was VERY dated - to be frank not good value for the money we paid. I can only think the owner of this unit is apathetic, as if you were a real estate agent selling it, you would call it a renovator! Our friends had the unit next to us & this was definitely more recently renovated. The plus side - central location and friendly staff. Just avoid booking 308!!!

Room Tip: Avoid 308 & any that are overlooking the SLSC car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooloolabaJuls, Manager at Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Your honest response is appreciated. We will certainly pass on your feedback to both the owners of the unit and the Surf Life Saving Club.
As for the issues you have raised about the unit and its position the positives of our guests have far outweighed the negatives. Mooloolaba Beach and the position of Sandcastles and the wonderful amentities of The Surf Club are many of the reasons people choose to stay. The apartment that you have mentioned has a wonderful repeat business, and there has been refurb work and new furniture carried out in my time as Manager. We would respond to you personally, however because of the number of bookings in the apartment we are unable to identify you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Outstanding service from the moment we arrived. Julie and Eric were absolutely amazing, very friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was a problem and they went out of their way to ensure we had the most amazing holiday.

The unit was immaculately clean, modern and fully self contained with everything one could want. We had superb uninterupted ocean views with our very own and completely private rooftop which left us speechless.

Sandcastles is located right on the Esplanade within walking distance to everything, beach, cafes, underwater world, yatch club, surf club and restaurants.

We are definitely coming back soon and have not stopped talking about the place since returning from our holiday.

Highly recommended for a relaxing holiday getaway and we would not consider staying anywhere else in Mooloolaba.

Room Tip: The rooftop units on level 4 are amazing, very affortable and a must stay experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba

Address: Cnr. Parkyn Parade & River Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mooloolaba
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From Sandcastles you can walk to every imaginable facility needed for an idyllic stay. Laze on the wide silky sands of Queensland’s Sunshine Coast award winning Mooloolaba Beach right at your front door or simply idle around the pool.Indulge in resort living in our fully self-contained one bedroom Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments, which include master bed room, bathroom, laundry, and kitchen with hotplates, rangehood and microwave/convection oven. Your Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments are serviced daily. Relax and enjoy your holiday on Mooloolaba Beach.Our top level luxury Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments have private roof tops and barbeques, ideal for entertaining or just soaking up the sun and taking in the spectacular views over Mooloolaba Beach to Point Cartwright or off to the North over Mooloolaba Beach, Alexandra Headland, Maroochydore to Noosa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mooloolaba
Mooloolaba Comfort Suites
Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.