We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No one on staff seems to care” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   81 Mooloolaba Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No one on staff seems to care”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Location is great. The rooms are small. Inadequate air conditioning. Refrigerator did not function for the first two days. The cloth dryer had to be pushed closed every 10min till it finished its cycle. There were cigarette butts everywere upstairs. Generally dirty. We left 2 days early. Could not tolerate any more time there.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    27
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
31
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed at Malibu Mooloolaba in mid October in unit 14, its a ripper, the 180deg' views are to die for, the best on the Sunshine Coast. The apartment was fantastic, great furniture, I think its been updated a few years ago. Malibu would have to be in the best position along the esplanade, cafe's and restaurants all around us, and The Suf Club meals are gr8 value also. This is the second time we have stayed there, and the manager is a real good bloke, always having a laugh & joke and has good knowledge of all the touristy spots to go see. I would recommend Malibu to anyone, even with kids, and it is really good value, the weekly price is very affordable compared to other resorts along the strip, and the other good thing is, you can actually request an individual apartment, and you do get it for the following year. So dont stay anywhere else.....!!

Room Tip: The balcony's in rooms on the South side get heaps of Morning sun, and the ones on the North sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

We've been holidaying at Mooloolaba for many years now, and it was last year that my husband found Malibu online and we stayed there with our two young children. We loved it so much we came back this year and have recommended it to many of our friends - this will be our holiday spot for the years to come!

The location is unbeatable, right above the coffee shops and straight across the road from the beach. We only ever took our car out if we were going to Sunshine Plaza.

We have stayed in unit 5 (ground floor) both times. The ground floor units are perfect for us, as the fence is higher than the normal balcony being a pool fence. This meant that we could let the kiddies play out in the courtyard without having to stress about them pushing furniture from the raised decking up to the fence and having an accident, there was also no chance either of them had the strength to open the gate.Ground floor also meant we had easy access to the pool which was lovely. Compared to other units on the coast (and we saw one as friends of ours stayed a night in a different complex) the unit we stayed in was very well laid out and comfortable with the bedrooms being far away form the living areas. There was also a second courtyard with access from both bedrooms. Another little hideaway with a sunbed, perfect for relaxing and reading a book. Rooms were all very spacious, clean and the kitchen had everything we needed.

Brian couldn't have been more helpful throughout our stay. He is so lovely, always chatters away to the kids and was very pro-active in ensuring we enjoyed our time. If we ever needed anything it was never any trouble. We also found the lady who did our mid-stay room service to be incredibly lovely and welcoming.

In short, we can't recommend Malibu enough. It is great value for money, centrally located, staff are wonderful and the unit we've stayed in both times has been perfect for us! Can't wait until Nov/Dec 2012 for our next family holiday!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The Malibu does have excellent views from every apartment, and is in a prime location on the beachfront strip. However, there was nothing else to recommend it.

The first thing we saw at the Malibu was a sign in the lift with prices for 'extras', including $1.10 per roll of toilet paper! We were provided with 4 rolls of toilet paper for our 6 night stay - adequate, but certainly not luxurious.

The apartment layout was dark and pokey. Neither of the bedrooms had enough floor space to put our two small suitcases. The closets were also too small to put a small suitcase in for the stay, meaning that we had to leave them in the lounge. The smaller bedroom had two single beds, arranged in such a way that you couldn't open and close the bedroom door - terrible for privacy and fire safety. You also couldn't get to the closet in the smaller bedroom without climbing over one of the beds. The larger bedroom only has a queen bed (which is only noted in one place on the website), and all the linens and pillows were cheap, lowest grade poly-cotton.

The apartment was a bit grubby around the edges where the floor met the walls, and there was sand under the couch and on the balcony when we arrived.

The two staff members we met at the front desk were decent, but not particularly friendly or helpful.

The Malibu would have been decent but un-memorably except for the signs everywhere about the extra things they would charge you for. The whole place seemed designed to squeeze every cent out of you, and did not seem friendly and welcoming. We ended up leaving after 5 nights, and forfeiting our payment for the last night, just to go somewhere that felt really luxurious, and where we could be pampered and truly enjoy our holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors get better views, and less noise from the neighbors and the strip below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This place was great, the apartment was clean, the facilities well kept, great view, good security. Their is building going on right next door and it is noisy from about 6.45am to the afternoon and I mean noisy, no holiday sleep in here!! So if you are going to book ask for the side away from the construction or wait till the construction is over! I hate to say this but when you holiday you want to be able to sleep in and enjoy. The noise was so loud you had to get up and leave and they wouldn't swap for another room, even though we knew there were free ones. That was disappointing.

Room Tip: Away from the construction noise, and level 4 and above gets great views !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville N.Z.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Malibu for 5 nights. It has great views, with being right across the road from the beach. It is close to all restaurants and the surf club and the staff were very helpful. We found it a little pricey but will possibly go back again.

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor. Really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My wife and I have enjoyed previous stays at the Malibu and have always rated it high. And even on this trip we were impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the furnishings etc. The location is great as it is situated right above the shops and cafes and is directly over the road from the beach. The surf ckub which is a great place to eat is only about 200 metres away.
Unfortunately this time we were allocated apartment no 5 which is on the second floor and has very poor views and no privacy. The pool and BBQ is in the same area as our deck and is only separated but a gate. The unit management are obviously aware of the lack of views because they have built a stage approx 400mm high where the outside table and chairs are located. If you stand on this stage you can get a poor view of the sea.
I think the moral of this story is to book direct with the property and ask questions about apartment location etc. In other words make sure that you are getting what you expect..
The location of unit no 5 certainly spoilt our holiday and for that reason we would be reluctant to chose this complex again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#1 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sandcastles On The Beach Mooloolaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seaview Resort
Seaview Resort
#2 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landmark Resort
Landmark Resort
#5 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Osprey Apartments
Osprey Apartments
#1 of 28 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments

Address: 81 Mooloolaba Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Mooloolaba - walk out the front door to all the shops and cafes of Mooloolaba Esplanade. Park you car and walk to everything. Malibui offers an Unbeatable Location at an affordable price. We stride to offer the best value for money on the Sunshine Coast. Surf, Swim, Beach and Sun what more could you want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments Hotel Mooloolaba
Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malibu Mooloolaba Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.