We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments

Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   125 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights and our 2 bedroom apartment was great for our family. Our apartment was on the second floor and accommodated our family of 5 perfectly and was well equipped with everything we needed. Our apartment was very clean on our arrival and the complimentary bottle of wine was very nice. The kids enjoyed the free use of the tennis courts and it was very handy having the boogie boards and buckets and spades available free to take to the beach. The location was fantastic being only a short walk to the beach, Coles and restaurants. The managers were very friendly and attentive to all of our needs. We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Gold Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spacious unit. Well equipped with furniture. Beds comfortable. The signs in the unit about leaving dishes clean on departure were offensive. We found dirty mugs in the cupboard on arrival and the kitchen sink needed a good scrub.
The position of the units is good for watching the passing activity and is close to the beach and all the local eateries.
Good location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have just stayed at Northwinds. This is the place for you if: you're happy to stay up all night and enjoy the local wildlife of people using their inebriated voices loudly until 6am. The rusted open windows ensure you're night-time hours are full of interesting sounds. If you also like used sanitary napkins under your bed on your arrival and you're interested in the previous tenants meal, which lies ready for discovery under the couch, you'll be in seventh heaven. The carpet stains put Pro-Hart to shame and the 4-lane traffic highway outside your door lets your peruse all the beefed up cars and motorbikes which will put down the throttle so you don't miss the spectacle. For those who do drink (unfortunately not I) the free bottle of wine on entry may dull some of the scenery. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwindmooloolaba, Manager at Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is an unfortunate fact that accommodation management is not responsible for the behaviour of locals or visitors to a holiday destination. Nor are they responsible for the traffic in the area. Here in Mooloolaba, particularly on weekend when there is a special event, traffic is heavy, and there will always be a few who draw attention to themselves and their vehicles.
The issue of windows not closing here in the building is one we constsntly work to address and we do our best in what can only be described as a harsh marine environment.
Re the cleaning issues: It would have been best for you to come to management the moment it was noticed so we could take steps to rectify the problems. It is necessary for us to know where the problems are so we can identify the cleaner responsible and then work with them to ensure it does not recur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our stay at Northwind was fantastic, friendly hosts were knowledgeable about the area and attractions. Clean apartment with everything you need to be comfortable. Close to everything and secure parking. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwindmooloolaba, Manager at Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your stay at Northwind.
Northwind is in a great location, which makes it easy to access the shopping, cafes and beach in Mooloolaba.
We do our best to help guests with finding their way around the area, and happily book tours and airport transfers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I have previously stayed at several other apartments in Mooloolaba and thought that Northwind was good value for its star rating. The unit was clean, tidy and quite spacious. Nearly all of the units have excellent ocean views, and get full sun for most of the day.The managers Andrew and Jennifer were most helpful and organised some of our transport. The locality was ideal as it was close to cafes restaurants shops and the beach. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. Our unit was partially refurbished but more than acceptable.
Dont be put off by some of the other negative reviews. If you have any doubts give Jennifer a ring to make sure the apartments are up to your expectations. She is very friendly and and a pleasure to deal with. - Carol and Lane from NZ

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashmore, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My husband and I just stayed at Northwind NEVER AGAIN jenniffer showed us an apartment which looked alright we took it for 2 nights the first night when I checked it I was disgusted the toilet brush and holder were so filthy I was nearly sick the stove hadn't been cleaned the griller still had bread crumbs on it, the vaccum cleaner was full of dirt 2 containers in the cupboard had biscuits crumbs in them the roasting dishes should have been thrown out years ago as you would never get them clean the hairdryer was broken it was in bits.When I went down the next morning all the manager could say was oh the cleaner is a philapino (WHY BLAME THE POOR GIRL) THE APARTMENTS SHOULD BE CHECKED the hairdryer was fixed and the toilet brush replaced but that was all very disappointed mainly because the manager just didn't want to know about it. we will never go back there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwindmooloolaba, Manager at Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you for your feed back . As managers of holiday apartments we work to prepare apartments for guests. When we have sufficuent notice of arrival we have more time for checks, however, when guests walk in off the street we do not always ave time to do so. When we are aware of problems we work to fix them as soon as possible. Thank you for acknowedging we did that for you once notified us.We DID want to know so we can continue to improve how we train new cleaners and communicate the standards we like to set.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at Northwind in January this year for a few nights break and we were disgusted with the quality of the apartment we stayed in, it looked like it hadn't had any maintenance since the 80s. The staff were very rude, whenever my kids ran past the reception they got yelled at which I find very abusive. The shower cubicles were made for midgets only. Every time you had a shower you ended up with some sort of injury and being splashed in the face unexpectedly by a broken shower head. As for the furniture, it was drab, disgusting and outdated and not to mention the glass table and chair legs which extraordinarily protruded out causing many a stubbed and bruised toes during our stay. Lets not forget all the lovely decor, one of our favourites was the dusty print hanging above the toilet hiding pipes. The rooms were just so bare with only 2 paper lamps in the dining room. Our room was very noisy and the kids found it hard to fall asleep. We found the pool quite small and pokey. We did find the view great from our first floor apartment and location was convenient.

Room Tip: We suggest you choose a room on a higher level as these rooms seem to be more updated and also they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwindmooloolaba, Manager at Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thanks you for your comments and we are pleased you feel you had a great view from the first floor and that the building has a good location.
We feel very strongly about safety issues in the building and when your children ran through reception we did call for them to walk (on more than one occassion) as we have seen guests collide at the door leading to the pool; it is a basic safety consideration to walk inside a building.
Shower cubicle size is standard 900mm X 900mm. When we are aware of a problem with a showerhead we replace them. The cover over the access panel in the bathroom was been replaced with a melamine panel.
The owner purchased expensive designer furniture which has been appreciated by many guests, it is unfortunate it was not to your taste. That particulay apartment, like most on the lower floors has new laminate doors 8.5mm thick, which are almost as effective as double glazing in reducing road noise. We are on a busy road. Most of our lower floor apartments are double glazed or equivalent and we are usually complemented on how quiet the apartments are.Please be aware that all our owners work at updating apartments.Suggesting that apartments on higher floor are more updated is erronious and misguided.
Pool size is determined at design stages of the building. The whole area had undergone extensive renovation during the latter part of 2011 and many professionals have complimented us on the way the space has been developed given the constraints imposed by the site. All measurements of our pools are displayed on our website. The children's pool is a particular asset to our building as are the other amenities on site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooloolaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Mooloolaba Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Oceans Mooloolaba
Oceans Mooloolaba
#1 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
Nautilus Mooloolaba
#11 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Landmark Resort
Landmark Resort
#5 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Osprey Apartments
Osprey Apartments
#1 of 28 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview Resort
Seaview Resort
#2 of 15 in Mooloolaba
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments

Address: 125 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwind Beachfront Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.