We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our expectations fully!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windward Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windward Apartments to your Saves list
Windward Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   137 Mooloolaba Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Met our expectations fully!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed here for three nights to visit with my son who was based here while travelling with friends. It was clean. The kitchen well equipped. Hotel staff polite and helpful. Really we'll situated. I was very pleased with the accommodation for the rate.

Room Tip: With my telephoto lens I had a great view of all the hard bodied men working out across the street i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    73
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
93
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The apartments are in a great location with shops, beach and restaurants close by. Sadly the room was not very tidy as there was sticky stuff all over the floor, coffee table and remote control. There was also a bunch of hair stuck to the ground. I would have informed the owner/workers however I didn't see them at the front desk when we left. Overall our stay was pleasant due to the location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had an awesome time staying here and the owners were super friendly and helpful, we felt welcomed and looked after from the get go. I was with a group and we really liked the outdoor sitting where we could bbq drink and be merry, other then that we were so very close to the beach! Free Wifi was a major plus as not many places were offering this, overall was great value for money. Will definitely stay again next time we visit Mooloolaba. Thanks Mary and Larry!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

After an extremely hard year with my husband diagnosed with a brain tumour & undergoing extensive treatment, we were very excited about our holiday in Mooloolaba, only to arrive at the Windward Apartments to find we have been allocated a very run down & dirty apartment (Rm 12). After expressing my disappointment of the apartment allocation with Managers, Larry offered to show me a room on Lvl 4 which was for approx $200 more which I was prepared to pay for, only to be told that it wasn't available, but he just wanted to show me what other apartments were like so I would get a better impression of the complex??What the, talk about rubbing it in, this has only made me even more annoyed! Definitely won't be staying here again or recommending Windward Apartments

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthog, Manager at Windward Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We were sorry to hear of your stressful year.

We have online for all of our guests to peruse, all our individually owned apartments which are located on different levels with different tariffs, so it has been disappointing to read of your lack of satisfaction with the apartment that you booked.

It was certainly not our intention to rub salt into any wounds by showing you another apartment and before we showed you, we did make it very clear to you, that we could not move you as we had a full house which our “No Vacancy” sign indicated. We thought however, by showing you apartment 16, it would then help you to understand that we also have some very lovely apartments in Windward, and after the upcoming renovation in apartment 12, it too will be looking very classy.

It is a shame that you never told us about the lack of cleanliness until we read about it in your review. We definitely would have liked to have observed this issue, as we need to be following this up with our cleaning company. This is something we try to keep at a high standard.

After discussing your concerns with the owner, she has agreed to reimburse you, so hopefully you can rest up and enjoy the remainder of your holiday here in Mooloolaba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Thank you Larry and Mary for letting us checkin early on christmas eve so we could do our christmas shopping, excellent location walking distance to beach, cafes and supermarkets, Rooms are clean and well equipped and children loved the games room and pool area where we made good use of the bbq we loved our stay here will definitely recommend to anyone singles and familys and fellow kiwis looking for a great place to spend some down time and enjoy. Hosts were more than happy to help with places to visit and went out of their way to assure we had a Great time, has definitely won us over! hope to be back soon

Room Tip: familys stay on the ground floor to be close to pool and bbq area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Slightly disappointed for the price. Cleanliness left a bit to be desired as an empty bottle etc was under the bed in main bedroom also a few cockroaches running around.
Also toilet cistern in main bathroom fell off the wall and flooded bathroom area.
Asked manager to check other on in ensuite as the mounting was the same bodgey job but did not check it out or fix as asked!
Compared to other places we have previously stayed in the area we were disappointed but was only one available for the dates required.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthog, Manager at Windward Apartments, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Shirley, thanks for your input, however we did check the other toilet in the ensuite and found it not to be a problem. The fixing is the standard practice for all items fixed to these walls and this was also confirmed with our plumber the next day. The building had been treated for pests just 2 weeks prior to your arrival so it will bring bugs out, however it does kill them too.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Windward, but do hope that you will consider us when you next stay in Mooloolaba. The season has been a very busy one for us, so in future you might need to book more in advance. Kind regards to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The apartments are across the beach with lovely views. They are a short stroll to the shops and restaurants. Walking or cycling path just across the road. Managers were very friendly and willing to assist.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windward Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Apartments

Address: 137 Mooloolaba Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windward Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely spacious three, two or one bedroom apartments, with fully self contained kitchens, two bathrooms, balcony with ocean views, secure parking, heated swimming pool, two BBQ areas, wireless internet and friendly onsite Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Windward Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward Apartments Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.