We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windward Apartments

Save Saved
You added Windward Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windward Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   137 Mooloolaba Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Windward Apartments for a week and absolutely loved it, we found Larry and Mary the managers to be very helpful, the apartment was very clean and tidy and the apartments are in walking distance to the shops and of course the beach.Great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthog, General Manager at Windward Apartments, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hi Gail B, thanks for your kind words.We try very hard to make Windward the place of choice for people on holiday, so were pleased that we were able to be a part of a memorable stay. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    70
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
83
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have been to Windward several times as I have found location, accomodation and service excellent. This time I went with 2 pre-schoolers and found the swimming pool and access to beach and its play grounds excellent. The weather wasn't that great but we still found things to do eg Underwater World, Austrailia Zoo etc. Our accomodation was great as we were able to get out on the grass with the kids. I found Mary and larry very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks again, will be back.

Room Tip: Ground floor excellent with littilies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthog, Front Office Manager at Windward Apartments, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Phil C.Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on Windward Apartments.We do appreciate the effort.It was rather a shame that we didn't put on better weather for you, however it didn't seem to hold you back.It was great seeing the children enjoy our heated pool and being able to run around our BBQ area where most of it is under cover.We were so pleased to read that we were able to play a part in making your holiday an enjoyable one.We look forward to having you back again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked and stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment, we had two couples & at the last minute another couple wanted to join us, the adjoining room was accessed & our friends were able to stay on as well!! The facilities where great, everything we needed, plenty of extra blankets and pillows if needed, we used the pool and the bbq area & had a game of pool while there, nice and cheap at $1 per game.... Loved the location very easy quick walk to the beach, the pub, coles, restaruants & O'malleys irish pub... The booking and service was seamless from the get go, early check in was allowed as no one had been in our apartment the night before, arrangement for this was done without issue, all service was quick, efficient and friendly, very accommodating... Myself and hubby will be back, as will the other 2 couples who stayed..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthog, Front Office Manager at Windward Apartments, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi Donna P, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a report on Windward Apartments.Its good to read that your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed the facilities. It is a great location here on the Esplanade and being able to walk to most restaurants and bars is certainly a plus.We look forward to welcoming you back at Windward soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for 5 days in February and had a great time! We (Nana, Mum, 2 pre-schoolers) were very impressed with the help offered by the managers Larry and Mary when wanting to visit local attractions such as the Australia Zoo and Underwater World. Larry went out of his way to find out information for us and access the best deals. Both Mary and Larry were very friendly and hospitable. The only thing I'd say was that my bed was a little firm but Mary was able to provide me with a cushioning layer for it which solved any issues. Lovely, clean, welcoming apartment and the kids had a ball with the onsite pool and resident cat, Mojo. Fabulously close to a wide range of restaurants, cafes, playgrounds and of course, the beautiful Mooloolaba coastline. LOVED it! Was a little warm for me but the aircon was very effective and the ceiling fans worth every cent. :) Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Request the higher floors if you're after the exceptional view they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthog, Front Office Manager at Windward Apartments, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi KatyLouEvans, We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay.I'm glad to hear that our staff were helpful to you.I'm so pleased to see you gave us high marks for cleanliness.Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the rooms in top condition and I've passed on your feedback to them.We definitely have one of the best locations in town and look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I can see alot of familys had a great stay at this Apartment. Myself and a small group of friends went for a fun weekend away that turned into a weekend battling with Larry the manager. We are a respectful young group we didnt have our music very loud but it was too loud for larry at 1pm who came barging into our room we asked him why he didnt knock on the door he said he did which is not true since somone was in the kitchen and the music was not at all loud. Even if we didnt hear him he has no right to come into the room we rented he could have called the room phone. This wasn't the only time he came into our room one morning at 8am he knocked on the door demanding to see how many people were in our room since he saw an extra person on camera, he checked each room we had one extra person who we planned to pay the extra $30 for in the morning since he lived on the coast and wasnt able to drive home which we thought they would understand we didnt get a chance too as Larry came to the room so early. I could go on and on about our terrible stay. All I can say to this hotel is If you dont like Young groups of people staying in youre hotel please make that clear when booking peoples stays. we wasted our money because Larry and Mary are prejudice of young people.
If you are planning to have a fun weekend with friends dont stay here. If your a family the hotel is near the beach and you might enjoy you're stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthog, General Manager at Windward Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Sorry that some of our younger guests have to post such lies about their stay.

In short they were so bad, that we had to call the police to have them removed from the complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I don't like to write bad reviews so read between the lines. Not the place for young people to stay at. Male manager "appears" at odd times. Insisted on doing a head count at approx 3 am. Attempted to enter while guests were not present not realising 2 people were resting. Will never return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthog, General Manager at Windward Apartments, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Sorry that some of our younger guests have to post such lies about their stay.

In short they were so bad, that we had to call the police to have them removed from the complex.

These guests were the same who have posted on 14 Feb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway but were very dissatisfied with the lack of customer service. We found the hotel manager to be very ignorant and unhelpful. Although it was a good location I would not be going back there in a hurry. The apartment was clean and tidy however a bit outdated. I have stayed in many hotels in my time but never had service quite as bad as here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthog, Manager at Windward Apartments, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi Kayleigh,Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
We are however, very concerned that you did not have an enjoyable stay and would like to apologize for that.As you have noted the apartments location is idyllic with most of the coasts best cafes and a wonderful beach at hand,makes staying at Windward an advantage.
We look forward to offering you a more satisfactory experience should you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windward Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Apartments

Address: 137 Mooloolaba Esplanade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Mooloolaba
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty lodging in Mooloolaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windward Apartments 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely spacious three, two or one bedroom apartments, with fully self contained kitchens, two bathrooms, balcony with ocean views, secure parking, heated swimming pool, two BBQ areas, wireless internet and friendly onsite Managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Windward Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward Apartments Mooloolaba, Sunshine Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.