We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner is just plain mean and unprofessional!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mary River Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mary River Motor Inn to your Saves list
Mary River Motor Inn
Cnr Oak St & Bruce Highway, Gympie, Queensland 4570, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Owner is just plain mean and unprofessional!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We arranged to have a after hours check in. The person on the phone told us a room number and the the key would be under the mat. When we arrived at 11:30 there was a mat at the reception door (none of the other rooms seemed to have mats). Lifted up the mat and there was a room key with no name just a room number (not the number we were told) we thought they must have decided to give us a different room for some reason. Well, the key didn't work for that room, so we tried the room number that they gave us on the phone... Didn't work. So we went and pushed the night bell. The owner came down, we told him what happened. He confirmed we were in the room we were told on the phone. He then became very rude and agitated. He said and I quote "was the key leaning up against the F#*KING door then". We had a key so we didn't look there. He walked us up to the room and continued to throw the F-word around many times and in front of our little girl. He opened the door (there was a key we didn't see under a mat) And said here's your F*#KING room.

I know it was a inconvenience and it was 11:30 at night but there was no need for that kind of behavior. THEN, when we checked out in the morning the lady at the desk (who I assume was his wife) said "oh your room 212" I told her how rude our welcome was and that I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanhenry, General Manager at Mary River Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Susan

I am shocked by your comments and I do sincerely apologise for what you experienced.

We are under new Management now so we will be making a few good changes in the months to come for our guests.

If I could please ask you to give us another chance if you are coming this way and please contact me prior so I can compensate your next visit for you.

I am very sorry you experienced all this.

Regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
19
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hi

Modern motel on highway with nice patio area and pool where we enjoyed a sundowner. Comfortable room but I prefer individual soaps, shampoo instead of the dispensers. Somewhat gloomy unless lights switched on

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at this motor inn on our way back from Brisbane. It was very comfortable and John and Mary the managers were lovely people. The motel is relatively new and modern. We had breakfast in the motel dining room which was delicious.

Room Tip: all the rooms were good the windows have double glazing, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is not a cheap motel, but it is very clean & comfortable. We requested a quiet room, and this is what we got. The bed and pillows are fine, and the bath towels are a decent size. The shower rose is a little low, but the shower cubicle is very spacious. There are no fiddly tubes of toiletries or little blocks of soap to juggle. All toiletries are in dispensers mounted on the wall, allowing for more bench space. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on the day. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanhenry, General Manager at Mary River Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi

Many thanks for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, we are under new Management now so we will be making a few good changes in the months to come for our guests.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 nights a this establishment and I was very pleased by the friendliness of the hosts, especially John's engaging personality. The food was consistently better than most fancy over-priced establishments you'd find around Australia. The rooms were clean and although I had a room closest to the very busy highway, there were no noises creeping into my room. Bed and mattress was soft and kept clean daily. Great value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms spacious, bed very comfortable. Service extremely good with unusual attention to detail, such as fresh milk in fridge, along with a free bottle of cold water. Pleasant mugs for tea and coffee (rather than piddly cups) and high quality iron and ironing board to make life a little easier. Dining room very inviting and breakfast menu provide a wide choice with interesting options. The use of fresh rather than frozen spinach in the 'vegetable patch' option its indicative pig their attention to detail.
Overall, remarkably quiet given its proximity to the Bruce Highway.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

we recently stayed here & as far as the cleanliness was concerned we couldn't fault it. It is nice & new but sadly, we had a room towards the front & the traffic was constant, but it is right on the Bruce Highway so can't really expect different. The only suggestion i could make is it seems to be run by a family which is commendable but a little more proffessionalism is needed. Firstly, you simply don't shout across the room to patrons to confirm what they want for breakfast & dressing a little more proffessional would be a good idea. I am not meaning to pick but working in a proffessional industry, this is something that makes quite an impression. Otherwise generally a nice hotel.

Room Tip: request a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mary River Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary River Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Oak St & Bruce Highway, Gympie, Queensland 4570, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Gympie Region > Gympie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Gympie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the best Gympie has to offer. Stylish accommodation, Conference and Function Facilities, Little Mary's Bar and Restaurant. Delicious food and fine wine mixed with modern, comfortable surrounds and friendly staff make for a memorable stay. See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mary River Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary River Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.