We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn
2 Phar Lap Court, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Friendly Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Passing through we decided to break our trip and stay the night. We managed to score the last room for the night. The refurbished rooms are lovely and the dining room serves great meals.
The pool looked very inviting, would be a great stay foro families with children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thanks Julie for taking the time to post a review of the Motel, we value any feedback in order to satisfy guests needs, praise staff where applicable and remedy any areas that may fall short. Hope to see you in the warmer months, the pool is great.
reagrds and thanks Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
27
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montville, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We'd stayed here about 2 years ago in one of the rooms on the inside (away from the road) and found that it was quieter than rooms 7 and 8 which we had on this trip. I'm not complaining, the motel is overall one of the quietest in town, but if you are a light sleeper I would ask for one further away from the street. (Sorry I don't remember the number of the room back in 2011)

Previously we'd enjoyed a great steak and a bottle of red with good service in their restaurant, one of the reasons for staying here, and we were looking forward to a repeat performance
Sadly this did not transpire. Even though there was just 4 of us we'd booked a table, however we need not have bothered as when we arrived at the restaurant there was just 1 other person dining. 3 of us tried to order the rib fillet (1 of only 2 steak options on the menu), only to be told that they didn't have any... hard to believe as it was only 7pm and the other diner was eating fish! A new chef was the excuse given by the waitress, the same excuse given when we waited over 1 hour for our meals. From when we ordered not once did our waitress come anywhere near us to apologise for the delay or to ask us if we wanted anything else (not even to offer some water!) - she just avoided us. The meals did eventually arrive (lamb shanks), however they weren't worth waiting for, at least the bottle of red was pleasant even if we had to serve ourselves.

To ensure a quick getaway in the morning we'd consulted the menu in the room and neatly written out our order and handed it to the breakfast waitress as we entered the restaurant - 4 omelettes albeit all with slightly different fillings. She looked at our order, shook her head and just said that they had made a mistake on the menu and that the chef just does all the omelettes the same - great, why did we bother!

I know that farming in the area has changed over the years away from beef and into cotton and wheat, but this was ridiculous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property,as it allows us to both make necessary adjustments to the business and maintain those parts that are constantly being met with customer satisfaction. Obviously on the occasion of your visit some of those expected standards of quality and service fell short of what we constantly strive to achieve and maintain. Far from wanting to appear that some circumstances during your visit were acceptable there were a myriad of reasons for this. It is true that we had a new Chef in attendance that night and since his appointment, we have been complimented on his level of food quality and presentation unfotunately his first shift hasn't reflected this and agian I apologise and would like to think that you can experience this for yourself should you choose to stay here in the future. It was our choice to exclude the Rib Fillet from the Steak selection as we felt it was not of a required standard suitable for our restaurant. Our new menu reflects this change. I have been able to talk to those staff members responsible for your service and thank you for bringing these deficencies to our attention and subsequent correction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Friendly people, nice modern rooms and close to all. Nice restaurant with friendly service.
Our request of two rooms next to each other was taken care of. There is a pool for the warmer days and a laundry that you can use as a quest.
Would stay there again for sure if we ever went back to Goondiwindi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

very friendly hosts, large modern rooms, room service was good and well priced, quiet as well considering the highway is close by, under cover parking, bed ok had a plastic cover over the mattress, not great to sleep on,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My mother stayed here and was taken ill, necessitating a sudden trip to the nearby hospital. The staff at this hotel were fantastic,updating us over the phone, ringing to see how she was, liaising with the hospital about her luggage, etc. My mother also reported that she had a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Best western is a 30 second drive from the heart of the town, the room we stayed in was very clean, the beds are so comfy we didn't want to leave... Food at the restaurant was top quality and reasonably priced. Highly recommend this place, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff were lovely and the rooms were surprisingly bigger than expected. Clean and modern. Only small issue was that there was no way to secure the door from the inside. An issue when you have little ones who can reach door handles. Breakfast in the restaurant was great, the waitress was lovely and more than accommodating to our three year old. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if we were ever to return to Goondiwindi.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn

Address: 2 Phar Lap Court, Goondiwindi, Queensland 4390, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Goondiwindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Goondiwindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn is Goondiwindi's newest motel accommodation and licensed restaurant. A total refurbishment completed in December, 2012 provides an ultra-modern appearance and facilities, enhanced by experienced on-site managers and staff who provide genuine hospitality, with their goal being to exceed the guests' expectation by providing exceptional quality and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.